We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I thoroughly researched and planned for months when picking this hotel. We chose it over a condo because of the reviews which raved about the comfy beds, great showers, courteous staff and cleanliness of the hotel. They're all wrong. My request for a room not facing Seaside Ave. wasn't honored but it was quiet enough, even being on the fifth floor. Most of the renovations were being done in the daytime which didn't disturb our sleep. Unfortunately, it was all downhill after check in.

The bathroom wasn't very clean when we arrived to our room. There was a light ring in the tub and a few hairs on the bathroom door. The toilet had some black stuff under the rim Housekeeping came up with a dry towel. He wiped the toilet, then the tub (with the same towel) and said it was 'just stains.' The next day, we got to the room at 3pm and our room still hadn't been cleaned. We were told they had until 5 so we sat on the balcony while they cleaned.

Cleaning consists of a light spray of the bathroom, making the bed, changing the towels and emptying the trash. They don't vacuum the sand from the carpet or thoroughly sweep the bathroom. They also don't change the sheets (we marked the inside of the sheet with a pen just as a joke). The cleaning staff also smokes on the balcony. We found an empty pack of cigarettes and butts on there our second day.

The customer service was almost as abysmal as the cleaning. When they didn't clean our tub at all one day, the manager Jerome asked 'What do you want me to do about it?' I asked him to send someone to clean it. He didn't until I made a second phone call hours later. He said it was 'mis-communication.' Another day they took our towels and didn't leave any washcloths. The front desk clerk Kristy sent someone up quickly but was very dismissive like I was bothering her.

The best thing about this hotel is the location but if you have Gucci and Prada money, you wouldn't stay here. The balcony is large but you may be greeted by a whiff of smoke from the guest next door. As you know, there are no dressers or tables and chairs. There are a few drawers though and our King city view room was larger than I thought. The bed is right next to the bathroom and there's no vent in there. The valet guys were nice as was Aly at the front desk. The lemon water was a welcome touch but I'd rather be greeted with a smile instead of being treated like a burden. We honestly dreaded coming to the room everyday. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Our fifth floor room facing Ross was fairly quiet if the balcony door was shut. But my real tip woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ladylovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Aloha ladylovesrome,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay. The comments about our housekeeping department have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper this enables our hotel as a whole to pinpoint the areas in which we are lacking and allows us to improve the guest experience. To clarify your comments regarding room requests, a ”request” is not a “guarantee” when a booking is made for a city view room with a “request” for a room not facing the city or Seaside Ave one is asking for a room type that does not exist. Please keep that in mind when traveling into an urbanized area such as Waikiki or consider booking a partial ocean view room. Also after conversing with my front office team it is apparent that numerous solutions were offered by our Assistant Front Office Manager and Front Office Supervisor to rectify the issues with the cleaning of your room, however they were declined by the guest which explains the reason my team did not have the issue at hand solved. While it is disturbing that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional service we are known for, your comments are absolutely used as a way to improve our services. If your travels bring you to Waikiki again please consider giving the Shoerline another chance thank you for your review.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    561
    152
    46
    15
See reviews for
190
785
159
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I could not have been more delighted with my stay at Shoreline. The reception staff were very welcoming, the room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. The balcony was small but enough to sit on and take in the sounds and sights of Waikiki (although Waikiki is so easy to walk around). The hotel is ideally situated, just a short stroll to the beach (passing lots of shops along the way). It is also close to restaurants and convenience stories. Better still, the Ross store opposite the hotel was open to 1:00am. The staff were very knowledgeable and their suggestion of Duke's restaurant on Waikiki beach turned out to be a highlight. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to solo travellers or couples.

Room Tip: had a corner room on the 5th floor for my first visit which was very spacious and one on the 11th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha travel635,
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! Our front desk hosts are the lifeblood of the hotel and each and every one of them loves to welcome our guests all the while displaying the “Aloha Spirit.” We are glad that the hotels location fit your needs accordingly and that you enjoyed our dinner recommendations. If your travels bring you back to the beautiful island of O’ahu please do not hesitate to stay with us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff, clean, and close to everything you want to see. The receptionist remembered me mentioning that it was our one year wedding anniversary and the very next day she had it on the announcement board to congratulate us. The kind of stuff that people remember. If we visit Waikiki again we will definitely book here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade to have a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha McCauley83,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience of Tripadvisor. We are absolutely pleased our front desk hosts were able to provide a memorable experience for you and yours during your stay. Please feel free to share your great experience with your friends and family and visit us again sooner rather than later.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
372 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

It's times like this that I'd like there to be another rating option on Trip Advisor - something in between average and very good. This was good. The rooms are large enough and quite comfortable, although the attention to detail when they're cleaned leaves a bit to be desired. A quick walk from the beach and in the heart of the main shopping strip, it's a great location and even on a Saturday night it's quiet enough to sleep outside. The hotel offers free beach towels for you to take to and from the surf which is a nice touch. There's plenty of water pressure in the shower and the wi-fi works well. The only downside is the pool area which looks, frankly, very sad. It wouldn't take much to make it look much more pleasant and inviting. Good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Aloha thefoodieworld,
Thank you for sharing your review and staying with us during your recent vacation. We appreciate your kind comments and are glad that we were able to accommodate you well. If your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area please visit us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a great stay here. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Although this hotel is not on the beach (and therefore lacks a view) it is centrally located with the beach and MANY restaurants in walking distance (the hotel even offered us an umbrella when it was raining out). Great value and great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha Elaina W,
Thank you for your kind comments and your 5 star review. Our front desk hosts make it an emphasis to accommodate our guests to the best of their ability, all the while displaying the “Aloha Spirit.” We see that you were able to enjoy the Shoreline’s centralized location and while yes we are not on the beach we are only a short walking distance. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations please see us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

HONEST & UNBELIEVABLE customer service! Great value & great location! Forget the FourSeasons or Hilton! The staffs were so amazing and super friendly. Here is my story, I left money in the safe and completely forgot about it until i boarded my cruise, i called the hotel and told them that i forgot my money in the safe. I thought the money would've be gone but whomever cleaned my room was honest enough to return it to front desk. The staffs at the front desk told me they would mail the money back home. I had my doubts but i actually got my money back!!! So i thank Shoreline for being so honest and professional! I would 110% stay at Shoreline again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donald520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha donald520,

Thank you for choosing us as your place of comfort and for sharing your review. We are truly honored by your comments about our amazing and super friendly staff. Our staff, competitive prices, and centralized location are one of the many reasons people choose us as their home away from home. It is also pleasing to know that our staff was able to coordinate the return of your money that was forgotten we are glad we are able to exceed your expectations even after you have checked out. Again thank you for your 5 star review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Decided to stay our last night of a second trip in a different hotel. Was greatly disappointed. The Shoreline has a boutique feeling and staff makes you feel welcome and appreciated. Def did not find this at the Aston Waikiki. While the location is better (and on the water), The Shoreline is only a step away from a nicer part of Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: Request rooms on higher floors. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Aloha BKB217,
A huge Mahalo for you return visit and we are glad that we were able to accommodate you well once again. The Shoreline Hotel Waikiki’s centralized location and competitive prices make it an easy choice for many travelers. It is a pleasure knowing that our staff was able to make you feel welcome and appreciated during your time with us, I’ll definitely tell them to keep up the good work. Thank you once again for sharing your 5 star review with us we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing