We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Well Maintained, Old Room Layouts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, Well Maintained, Old Room Layouts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family enjoyed a terrific Waikiki vacation here in early August. The staff is wonderful, the location is fabulous, the rooms are in very good shape, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a junior suite on the 13th floor (one floor below the rooftop pool). The room was on the north (city view) side and was very quiet. As others have noted, the view of the tired, old residential tower on the north side of the building is not ideal. Be aware that some of the junior view suites do not have balconies. We originally were in a junior suite on the 12th floor that had a six-inch ledges outside the two sliding glass doors. The oft-complained about Waikiki traffic noise heard at other hotels was non-existent in our room.

The room worked for our family of four (2 kids on the sleeper sofa), but the updated rooms are locked into an old hotel room layout. The bathroom is quite small. The room itself has a walk-in closet (great for putting baggage out of the way and hanging clothes), but there is no drawer space for clothing--if you're the kind of family that likes to unpack.

The pool on the 14th floor is small, but perfectly serviceable for an evening or sunset dip.

As for location, you're not on Waikiki beach, but it is an easy 5-minute walk. Early morning and late evening strolls along Waikiki are terrific. If you're the type that likes to shop, you're in the heart of the upscale shopping district, plus a block from Duke's Lane and its myriad vendors selling jewelry, crafts, and clothing in outdoor stalls.

Enjoy the complimentary coffee, iced cucumber water, tea, and pink lemonade in the lobby.

Room Tip: High rooms are quieter. Be sure to ask for a balcony you can sit on (some only have ledges).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Aloha Michael L.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are pleased to know that you and yours had a terrific time here at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. Since the vast majority of buildings in Waikiki were constructed in the late 50’s and early 60’s many hotels have been renovated but still have a nostalgic ambiance about them which some guests absolutely love. Many tend to forget that O’ahu being a vacation destination makes it nearly impossible for a building to go through a complete tear down and build up like many other mainland hotels are capable of. However we are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotels complimentary amenities, fabulous location, and wonderful staff despite the uncontrollable factors mentioned in your review. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you in the future.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    538
    147
    46
    14
See reviews for
180
752
152
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here last week during the threat of Hurricane Istelle.The staff were excellent,several were staying in house as there was potential for them not to be able to travel to work in the storm.Location great,wifi excellent,drinks in reception always welcome! Special mention to Alex and Ally who were around the last day as we hoped to get our connection out to Maui ...they helped with checking flights etc and Alex checked the weather updates several times for me.Love the personal touches in this hotel...I would highly recommend.We hired a paddleboard from Blue Planet Surf in Ward street...they dropped off and delivered and the staff at the hotel were very accomodating about this ..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Aloha Natalee S,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We are delighted that although our island was under hurricane warning you were still able to have a pleasant stay. All of our employees are thoroughly trained when such occurrences happen and we are glad that they were able to make you feel safe and secure. It is with great pleasure when our employees are mentioned by name on Tripadvisor Alex and Aly will absolutely be commended for their hard work. Please share your great experiences you had with us from our personal touches in the lobby, central location, and great staff. Thank you for your 5 star review, and we hope to see you again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good hotel in a good location. Great wifi. Pleasant staff. We had a room that adjoined the lifts and although the noise during the night was not bad, it did get somewhat annoying from around 6-7am. Pool area needs shade and more furniture is needed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha Jane B,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki and for sharing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotels centralized location, “Great wifi”, and “Pleasant staff.” The layout of the building like many does have rooms next to the elevator. While these rooms may be undesirable to some, other guests love the fact that our 28 units, albeit next to the elevator are actually more spacious and accommodating in terms of square footage and in and out access of our building. Your comments regarding our pool area are appreciated and they will be shared with our team as we continuously think of other ways to enhance our guests’ experience. If you visit the Waikiki area in the future please consider staying with us again perhaps in one of our partial ocean view rooms that may better suit your needs.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Awesome location if you are looking to be nearby everything in Waikiki. Staffs were courteous, warm and helpful. Located just off the main Shopping strip , short 10 mins walk to the beach and nice boutique feel to the hotel. Coffee and free lemonade in lobby is a nice touch. I found myself looking forward to the pink lemonade whenever I re-entered or exited the hotel. Free wifi with good connectivity was def a big plus. All kinds of restaurants and convenience nearby. Marukame Udon is a must try.

Rooms were clean and contemporary although a bit small. A microwave and fridge is provided in each room. I didn't get a good view with my room but I'm sure that was just my luck with the hotel being almost at full capacity and its impossible to provide every guest with a view from the room. Bathrooms were clean and updated. The restaurant attached to the hotel is still under construction but with all that's around you, I'm not sure if that even matters at all.The hotel does all the little things that matter the right way and it adds up in the end. All in all, a very comfortable stay and I would consider staying here again in future returns. Mahalo!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha Eugene L,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our front desk hosts. Each host knows that they are capable of making a guest experience memorable by simply showing their own unique “Aloha Spirit.” Our housekeeping department also strives to enhance the guest experience by making sure rooms are neat upon check in and during ones stay. Please tell your friends and family of the great experience you had at the Shoreline and we will make sure to provide them with a memorable experience as well.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Small, intimate hotel, very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is idea, just a few blocks from the beach and the restaurants, and right across the street from the hundreds of vendors in "Duke's Lane".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniloD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha DaniloD73,
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are absolutely delighted that our hotel staff was able to provide you with a memorable experience. You like many have taken advantage of the Shoreline's centralized location all the while not having to spend an arm and a leg while staying in Waikiki. If your travels bring you to the Waikiki area once again please do not hesitate booking with us.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was our first time in Hawaii. We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. It is very close to Waikiki beach, shops and restaurants. Room was clean with free Wifi. staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha Sara J,
Thank you for you review. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you and yours with a memorable first time experience in Hawaii. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and our staff will be reminded to keep up the great work. Please recommend our hotel to your friends and family and do not hesitate to book with us the next time when on O’ahu.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wife and I in mid 20s visiting Oahu for 4 nights had a great stay at Shoreline. Free wi-fi from rooms, free hiring of beach towels that we took to the beach, free cool drinks from lobby, free to online check-in to plane and print off boarding pass from the lobby, good AC, easy walk to waikiki, saw a family happily using the rooftop pool on level 14. Chose a "city-view" room which had a tiny balcony (didn't use) and overlooked a run down apartment complex, from our room could hear people in hallway but not people in other rooms or people on the street (we were 8 levels up). We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: City view rooms were cheaper but overlooked a run-down apartment. We were happy with this and weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Aloha Ed R,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Honeymoon. We are happy that the hotels staff, location, and complimentary amenities exceeded your expectations. The next time you two visit Waikiki make sure to book a partial ocean view room for an accommodation with more pleasing sights from your lanai. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Hotelopia so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing