We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend some time with the fishes~”

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #6 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spend some time with the fishes~”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent a good half of our 3rd day in Oahu at Hanauma Bay, the entrance fee is $7.5 for non residents and you will have to watch a 20 minute documentary/video on the preserve (if you sign up at the end of the video you will NOT have to watch it again if you return within a year).

After you descend to the beach you will be able to rent snorkeling gear and (a limited amount) of lockers. We found out later that you can actually purchase the snorkeling gear in Honolulu for the same amount of the rental fee, you call...).

Up to then we did some splurging on tours/rides and expensive dinners and only after Hanauma we realized we were doing it "wrong", enjoy Hawaii like the Hawaiians, for the price of admission and gear rental we had the most fun filled 1/2 day in Hawaii.

Consider getting a waterproof digital camera (we got one specifically for this trip), you will run out of film quickly if you get a single use one.

Go there early (before 10 AM, closer to 8:30 AM).

Pack a lot of sunscreen (the Hawaiian sun is pretty hardcore).

You might want to take it easy the next day, you will be sore after swimming all day long.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keep_Wethering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,662
    2,928
    1,148
    314
    152
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Best place to learn to snorkel for first timers. Very quiet waters, lots of fish, but VERY crowded, on every tourist list.
Recommend "Turtle Beach" as alternative

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We saw so many different types of fish of all shapes, sizes and colors. Amazing!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmmchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

LOVED IT! We rented the snorkel gear. Snorkeling is a must at least once in Hawaii. This is a safe place. We saw all kinds of fish...little and BIG. Our favorite was a large sea turtle. Buy the round trip shuttle fare for $2.50 if you are there for the day, It is worth it! The food is a little high but ok. I think you can take your lunch. You can rent a small locker. The is not a mirror in the bathrooms on the beach but there is one at the top restrooms. This was one of our favorite places.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KC-texas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“snorkeling in well known bay was just OK”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had 4 of us that went snorkeling. Tours will do it for you, but drive there yourself and save a bit of coin. Rent equipment off site, if you have time. Grounds at entry have been redone and is very nice. Walk to beach is downhill but not difficult. Up can be more tirinig after a day of snorkeling. They do have a tram running. $.75 downhill and $1 uphill. Parking is $1. Entry fee is $7.50 Rental is $12 for fins, mask and snorkel ($3 more for prescription nearsighted people). $7 for float belt. I recommend for inexperienced. Keeps you floating better and aids in keeping you off the reef (PLEASE STAY OFF), because you should. Beach is OK and large. Again, get there before 9am for better parking chances. Rent off site for better eqiupment. You can bring food and drink (non-alcoholic).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AZCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing