We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home”
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Half-day Bike Tour and Hike to Diamond Head
Ranked #12 of 328 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Be prepared to stand still for extended lengths of time. tour meets in the courtyard which has seating for only 4 people, then progresses to a video with no seating (the limited seating was already occupied by museum visitors), then stand around another 10 minutes while late arrivals are accomodated and sent to the video. Arrive onsite and stand around outside in the sun for 20 minutes - could be less depending on which tour group you are assigned to. I can walk and climb stairs but standing still in one place is very tedious! The guide was very knowledgeable and as others have mentioned it is very hot inside the house. The location is spectacular and the islamic art is very interesting. However, there is no time to just be in a room and really view all that is on display.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hula54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    115
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What an absolute treat!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Step into the pages of Architectural Digest! The tour of Doris Duke's home and museum of Islamic art run in conjunction with the Honolulu Museum of Art was absolutely amazing.

Our docent Stacy was incredibly knowledgeable, yet very approachable with questions, and made Doris Duke and her passion for the objects incorporated into her home come alive.

I would say that this was one of the best guided tours that I've ever been part of. I know that it's the only tour to have held my attention from start to finish. Very much recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This place is very interesting. Although the tour focuses on Ms. Duke's fascination for all things Arabic I was more interested in the Architecture of the building and the remarkable location. There is ongoing restoration work underway and several places are not open for the tour. We were told that they may open some of these parts in the future and I would take the tour again if they are.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blackduck59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“something different and special”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is one of the most special attractions in Honolulu and the fact it is little known is one of its advantages. The custodians of Shangri La keep the numbers very limited so it is only one small mini bus full of tourists at a time which makes for a specialised tour.
Apart from the wonderful quite modern history of the estate and the Doris Duke legend, the biggest surprise is the incredible trove of Islamic art.
It is such a pleasant surprise to learn so much about another culture instead of the expected Hollywood style mansion.
My only complaint was our guide, an art academic, who seemed a bit bored by us all and hurried us along.
Otherwise everything was superb but be warned not all rooms are open yet. They take their time bringing them back to the level they feel needed to open to the public. However most are on view and there is more than enough to fill the limited time one has.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J9_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Doris Duke's gift”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I encourage you to make reservations well in advance for this guided tour of Shangri La. The house itself is a spectacular museum of Islamic and East Indian art and architecture, but the location is also stunning -- the ocean is as beautiful as the art!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing