We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our First Hula!”

Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Held Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday (weather permitting) at 6pm November through January and 6:30pm February through October, this hour-long tradition includes a conch shell blowing, Hawaiian music and hula performances by Hawaii’s finest hula halau (troupes) at the Kuhio Beach Hula Mound near the Duke Kahanamoku Statue. The show varies each night, so it’s worth checking out every evening that’s convenient.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our First Hula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and the place was packed. This will be one of my best memories of Waikiki. The music was good. A fun evening!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
660 reviews
325 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Very good free entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a taste of hula without paying to see a show. I heard criticisms about the quality. Be aware that the dancers are not professionals but are members of a halau or hula dance studio. As I hula aficionado, I think they did a very good job. There was one dancer who is a professional who is excellent. The three musicians were very good. The setting is beautiful. Anyone who wants an introduction to Hawaiian music without investing a lot of money or time should see this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great show, perfect sunset and to top it off it's free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had been recommended to see this show by friends and I wasn't disappointed. The youngest performers were only 6 years old, the weren't that as polished as the older performers but they were adorable!!! Enjoyable show. And the sunset was absolutely stunning. Definitely worth seeing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jayde43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it immensely! and it's FREE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We ended up parking down near the zoo in the public paid parking and attending this on a saturday evening. It was very enjoyable and the dancers were great. Quite a picturesque setting and feels very hawaiin. The show was exactly an hour long and we arrived about a half hour early and found front row seats on the grass, bring a mat if you have one handy, shorts may get damp otherwise.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had arrived earlier that afternoon from the mainland and was grateful that it was close to the Marriott Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa. This is a free show and with the ocean and the sun setting in the background you couldn't ask for anything more beautiful. Yes, the musicians are older but still great and loved hearing the history and meanings of some of the songs. It lasts about an hour. The dancers are great. It does get crowded so go early, bring a blanket and make yourself comfortable. A great way to relax after a busy day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 131rav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony also viewed

 

Been to Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing