We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel awesome staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Hawaiian Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Hawaiian Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed there for almost a week and didn't want to leave. It is well located, a 5 min walk to Waikiki beach and lots of stuff around. Very clean as well. Met some great people there and we would stay in the hammock in the common area having beers all the time. But what is great about this hostel was its staff. The guys are just great, they will help you with anything (anything!) you might need and hang out with you all the time. Common area is up to 11.00 pm, but there seems to be some flexibility about it if you are quiet. Loved the place, would recommend to anyone!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Da L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    71
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
8
24
92
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

i loved staying in seaside hostel. it is a cool place to meet new people and the rooms are very clean. there is every morning breakfast and the kitchen is very clean, wich is a really rare thing in hostels. it is in the heart of waikiki, and even if waikiki sometimes can get a bit stressful, seaside hostel is the perfect place to relax(there are hammocks!!!).
but seaside hostel wouldn't be the same without the super friendly, cool and helping staff!! and, of course, the hostel dog chipsy.
my holiday wouldn't have been the same without seaside hostel ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of February. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer! Everyone was so helpful and kind to me even though I constantly barraged them with questions every 10 minutes. The place was clean and very comfortable and so close to everything you need in Honolulu. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to family and friends. I will be back ASAP!

Room Tip: Join in on the group nights, from BBQing to pubbing and pizza night! Also they hand out free snorkel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at Seaside for 2 days, it was my first hostel experience.
And the location, staff, price, and set up is all great. The community and backyard area is cozy and cute, with hammock and bar table for chit chats. The only thing is that it can get a little noisy around morning when the truck comes to pick up trash, but you would probably get that at a lot of places in Waikiki.

* Kasia who works there is great, she is super open and friendly, and told me about places to check out around the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay in a hostel! It was very clean and the office staff was very nice and helpful! They had a very cute hostel mascot Yorkie dog named Gyspy!
Great location right in the middle of everything a less than ten minute walk to the beach and even less time to a variety of food establishments. Pretty much across the street to the international market and vendors! The beds were very used and did not have very much padding in them but I did not have any pains from the deflated mattress but others could have issues!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illuswon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The place is very kind and wonderful staff! However there are ANTS all over the walls and sinks and also beds very uncomfortably! I woke up to find a slew of ants crawling all over me and I did not eat in the room as they advise!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

this is the ONLY hostel to stay at in my opinion. However, bring earplugs..there is street noise on the weekend at night. Close to the beach, kept clean, good staff, and excellent security. This is my new home when I'm in Hawaii. Thanks, you guys!!
David Ames
Vancouver BC
PS...lots of fridge, kitchen space too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Hawaiian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Hawaiian Hostel

Property: Seaside Hawaiian Hostel
Address: 419 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2626
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Seaside Hawaiian Hotel Honolulu
Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing