We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice Boutique Hotel”
Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hibiscus Coast, Auckland,
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A pleasant stay recently. The staff are all friendly and attentive. It's nicely cared for rooms, we had a corner one looking toward Waikiki Beach. Very close to town, I would stay again if I went to Waikiki. They ran out of English Breakfast Tea while I was there, if you're a tea drinker you may make comment on this. Hawaii seems to be full of coffee drinkers. This small incident was no reflection on the pleasant stay we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Corner suites are away from the Elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidimanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,366
    732
    188
    28
    14
See reviews for
306
1,475
196
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We found by chance this brand new hotel perfectly located few steps from the best part of Waikiki beach. We stayed in a standard room city view. Right size for 2. Furniture very stylish in its simplicity. Complimentary breakfast simple but really enjoyable. Staff at reception and garage very kind and professional. Room rate very competitive considering location, service and the advantage of a brand new property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is my third time in Waikiki and I try new hotels each time. Let's start with the location. It's the perfect walk to the strip of Waikiki. Great location with great views. The hotel was very modern from the furniture to the design it was perfect. The front desk was extremely helpful and courteous from the check in to check out. The checking in process was fast and easy. Rooms was a bit small but a decent size, rooms was very cleaned. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cityexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I were greeted by an excellent reception at the front desk upon check in. Chocolates and a handwritten note recognizing our honeymoon were placed on our bed in advance.
Having booked the room online we were surprised how small our original room was. That was quickly corrected by one of Vive's greatest assets, Jacquelin Co, Chief Concierge. She was extremely helpful in setting up reservations and activities during our 2 night stay. Housekeeping and front desk staff were also top notch. Even had a chance to meet Dan,Vive GM prior to departure. Definitely a must consider.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainlandmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very clean and new furnishings. The rooms are small by US standards but not by European. Having a hospitality room you can reserve is a great plus. It was nice to have a place, after checkout, to relax and freshen up before heading home. Keep in mind you do have to reserve a time to reserve the hospitality room. Also the lobby offers coffee and hot or cold water all day.

I can't say enough about the staff. Eveyrone was fantastic! Even if the hotel was so so, which it wasn't, I would stay here again because of how terrific the staff is. I spoke with most of the staff on multiple occasions, front desk reception, concierge, valet, breakfast room, and housekeeping. All the staff was very pleasant, helpful, friendly and always smiling. I've stayed at 5 star hotels and not found as good a staff as we experienced at VIVE hotel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Overall, I had very good impression from the hotel.

Pros:
* relatively low price for Waikiki;
* everything is clean, everything looks new -- in the room as well as in the lobby;
* free WiFi;
* complimentary breakfast: might be too minimalistic for some (fruits, pastry & coffee), but all fresh and tasty.

Cons:
* the room is small (Cosmopolitan Ocean View Queen), pretty much most of the space is taken by the bed;
* the A/C is loud, may be disturbing at night.

Room Tip: There's really not much of the ocean seen from the rooms (I stayed on 15th floor in a Cosmopolit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I am a local here living in east Honolulu but decided to take a few days of stay-cation in Waikiki over the weekend. Chose the Vive since it is so new.....and my instinct was absolutely spot-on. This is a great place to stay with reasonable price points for what you are getting. I have zero concerns or complaints. Clean, neat, customer-oriented from the second you walk through the doors. While not overplush....it is very well decorated and all furnishings are chic and fabulous. I travel all around the world and stay at some very nice resorts/hotels....and I can say that this Vive ranks well with anyone. It is what it is.....simply eclectic and remarkable. The lobby area is a great place to relax and chill....great taste in the style. All employees were very engaging with their conversation but not pushy or patronizing. They genuinely care for you and your needs. Kuhio Avenue can be a dog and pony show with all kinds of activities trying to get your attention....but this is truly an oasis in the middle of all the entertainment. The street noise was no big deal in my estimation....especially with the AC turned on. Very comfortable room indeed. Bed was awesome....and good for everything you need or desire! ;-) If you want to avoid the parking costs and don't mind walking....just park up on Monsorrat Avenue across from the Shell at Kapiolani Park. Free on-street parking on the left hand side of the road....safe in my opinion. Only about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel....and will save you $$ if you have to pay either at the Vive or any other local structure. As well, up the street at the Waikiki Banyan parking is $15.00 per 24 hours....only a couple blocks east up on Kuhio Avenue. Parking at the Vive will run you $25.00 per day....which is about what you will pay most places if not more. Save the $$ and just walk a few minutes to Monsorrat Avenue. If you are looking for a fantastic experience.....you cannot go wrong with these folks. Continental breakfast was good....but some people may want something more substantial. Plenty of options from which to choose all around the property....but that always comes with a price, right? So enjoy all the comforts of the Vive.....just do it!

Room Tip: My room on the 12th floor facing west and overlooking Kuhio Avenue was fine. If all the rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williambtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,360 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,572 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vive Hotel Waikiki offers exceptional value with no hidden amenity or resort fees! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants, and the world famous Waikiki Beach, Vive is strategically located in a prime location. Various complimentary amenities include: continental breakfast, WIFI, beach gear items, newspaper, local calling and more! Book your stay with us today for the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing