We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, cosy and convenient”
Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“simple, cosy and convenient”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked a twin room because I was in need of two bed configuration, however due to maintenance work in these particular room configurations, the hotel made alternative arrangements of reserving two separate rooms next door to one another to still provide two beds. This was absolutely fantastic service by the hotel.

The two rooms were very basic and clearly renovated within an older feeling building, but modern furnishings with all the basic complimentary toiletry needs. The view from the room we had were facing other apartments, but it did not feel too obtrusive and certainly not close enough to block out natural sunlight shining into the room windows, so that was good.

Light breakfast consisting of a variety of pastries, fresh fruits and juices including tea/coffee was just right for a quick breakfast.

Location is very convenient and walking distance around the area, only two blocks to waikiki beach, one block from the strip of shops and on the same street where major buses run either to Ala Moana shopping mall or towards Diamond Head or beyond.

I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    718
    181
    28
    13
See reviews for
298
1,446
191
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, booked 2 rooms, 1 double and 1 with 2 single beds for our adult children. Could not supply room with 2 single beds so we were upgraded to junior suite for us and 2 standard rooms 1 each for our siblings. We could not be happier with this arrangement. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Beach is 5 min walk away and hotel will supply beach towels, boogie boards and beach chairs if requested. Also will supply umbrellas, although they ran out of them one day. Would recommend to anyone although the standard rooms are quite small in size.

Room Tip: Street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights after I'd read a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel itself looks fairly new and is clean and tidy and has tasteful modern décor. The cost was approximately $500 (NZD) for three nights for a standard room on the 20th floor with ocean glimpses. The hotel is situated about two blocks back from the beach and there are a couple of high rises in front of it.

The Best thing:
- The staff. They were at all times polite, friendly and helpful.

The Worst thing:
- Street noise was clearly audible and made it a little difficult to sleep (my partner and I are both quite light sleepers). Not really the hotels fault as it's so close to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and on a main road but if that's a huge issue for you you might want to pay to stay somewhere a bit quieter.

General points of note:
The rooms are small. We had a king(?)size bed, bedside tables, a long desk with a tv, writing space, minibar, two chairs and a wardrobe with basically just the space you need to move comfortably around. The bathroom was bath/shower, toilet and vanity with standing room only for one person haha. As long as you don't plan on spending your entire holiday in Hawaii in your hotel room and your not trying to fit a family of 5 in there I don't see any problem with the size of the room.
There is a safe in the rooms.
Valet parking is $25 per day. We didn't have a car so this wasn't an issue for us.
Breakfast was just the basics - tea, coffee, cereal, toast, melons/pineapple, mini croissants.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Vive Hotel to anyone who wants to be close to Waikiki beach for something in this price range. I've paid more to stay at far worse places.
I would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I do think this place is quite pricey for what you pay. The good points to note are its location, cleanliness and, most of all, its service. Whilst not being a beach location, it is only a few blocks away from the beach, plenty of ABC stores and food options near it. The place is clean and obviously very new. The lobby and lounge is modern and fresh. Common areas on the floors are a bit sparse, but still clean. Rooms are modern and clean as well, with basic needs catered for in the room. The staff here are super helpful, friendly and efficient. The best feature of this place and really wish I could give a higher rating. Another thing this place does provide is complimentary breakfast, including juices and a continental breakfast buffet with a small selection.

On the down side, I do think the prices at this place are quite steep, given the tiny size of the rooms. They have been smart in the layout to maximise space, but at the end of the day, when your friends come around to visit, then you will feel the cramp cosy size of the room. Given the place is designed to be more of a place to crash and dump and store your luggage, then this should be ok, but the pricing should reflect that too. The facilities are very bare bones here, but at least wifi is free and in all areas of the hotel and in the rooms. The housekeeping was a little slow as well here. I had stepped out for the day and came back to my room at 2:30pm to find everything was still as I had left it that morning. I was able to go down and request the room to be cleaned, as I had wanted to quickly rest before heading out again, and my room was ready to go by 3pm. A little disappointing that it took a request to have my room cleaned by mid afternoon. Finally, the walls are quite thin. I could hear the mumblings of a phone conversation next door and every bit of shuffling with drawers and footsteps. Not good for light sleepers.

All in all, front desk staff are superb, a bit pricey for the room and basic facilities provided, but still enjoyed my time in Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights after a cruise and before departing for home in Vancouver, BC.
As previous reviews indicate this is a recently renovated boutique type hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful and really try hard to look after all guests requests such as arranging a shuttles bus to the airport or Arizona Memorial etc. and providing help with printing boarding passes.

The excellent continental breakfast is set up in the charming and very comfortable frontt lounge and is available from 7 am.

The rooms are a little small, however, this was not a problem in any way, however, the air conditioner unit was very noisy.

One of the reasons we were attracted to the Vive is the availability of a courtesy room on the day of our departure ( 8.30 pm flight). After checking out and storing our luggage we were provided a guest room from 2pm to 3 pm to freshen up before leaving. This is a very convenient amenity and was much appreciated.

My wife and I will definitely stay at the Vive again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Vive Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear albertVancouver,

Aloha from Oahu! Thank you for choosing Vive Hotel Waikiki and for taking the time to post your comments about our boutique hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and utilized the amenities that we have to offer. Please do accept my apologies for some of the areas that we need to perfect.

On behalf of staff and management, thank you again. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
D.Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Visited May 2014. The hotel is in a great location less than five minutes walk from Waikiki Beach. Pros: modern, impeccably decorated, flat screen tv in room, beautiful lobby & lounge areas. Friendly helpful staff, very useful local map with directions to visitors attractions (and how to use local buses to get there!), complimentary wifi.

Cons: no coffee making facilities in the room, small rooms with no closet space, limited choices in the continental breakfast offer. Would definitely stay again for a short trip or if alone. If a couple may be worth getting the suite for more room

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dapsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at this very nice boutique hotel, which has been nicely rennovated and up-graded. The rate is very reasonable and the hotel provides complimentary continental breakfast, beach towels, boogie board, beach chairs. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly with great Aloha spirit. The hotel is conveniently located on a major street, Kuhio which is THE BUS route (USD:2.50 a ride with free transfer.), 3-minute walk to the Waikiki Beach and many shops and reasonable restaurants nearby. The hotel is for all age groups and family or a couple. The room is modern and well equipped with free wifi and nice flat screen TV. The hotel can arrange airport shuttle around USD 15 one-way upon request. I will for sure come back to this hotel when I come back to Honolulu next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takakazulouislot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
365 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,543 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vive Hotel Waikiki offers exceptional value with no hidden amenity or resort fees! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants, and the world famous Waikiki Beach, Vive is strategically located in a prime location. Various complimentary amenities include: continental breakfast, WIFI, beach gear items, newspaper, local calling and more! Book your stay with us today for the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing