We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very cool hotel, and just a little noisey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very cool hotel, and just a little noisey.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For all the groovy and cool features of the Vive Hotel one thing let it down for us. The rather antiquated aircondtioners. This is an older building that obviously has a/c retrofitted. Each room has its own unit that clatters away continuously. Ear plugs might help here. We did like the location though, two minutes to the beach and shops. And we couldn't fault the friendly staff especially George, the concierge who knows how to put tours and activities together.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with low A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    686
    170
    28
    12
See reviews for
282
1,375
186
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are small, bathtub trim was peeling and would catch water, air conditioner would turn on for 14 seconds then off for 5. We were on the 15th floor and could hear everything as if the window were open. Most staff were nice except Christopher, his people skills are severely lacking. Won't return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Hvcrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Vive Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Hvcrim,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Vive Hotel Waikiki. We always strive to give our guests the best possible experience when staying with us and without feedback, we wouldn’t be able to grow as a business.
Please allow me to address some of your issues. We understand that our standard rooms are not exactly very large. For this very reason, we openly mention on our website that the standard rooms are about 210sq. ft. so that it does not come as a surprise to our guests. We also do have junior suites as well to accommodate those wanting larger rooms. As part of being a green property, our air conditioner units are set by default to an energy saving mode to reduce our carbon footprint, this can easily be changed to stay on without shutting off by using your air conditioner remote controller located on your night stand. We pride ourselves on being centrally located in Waikiki, however one of the downsides to that amongst many of the perks would be hearing a bit of street noise. It’s unfortunate that your experience with Christopher was less than desirable, he is one of our newest additions to our team, however, he has proven himself to be exceptional with guest relations based on the feedback from many of our guests that have stayed with us.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at Vive Hotel Waikiki. We greatly appreciated your business and feedback.

Best regards,
M. Otto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel, especially the spacious junior suites. The lobby is incredibly large and always has coffee and tea available. There are lots of little perks included such as continental breakfast with fresh tropical fruit, and beach stuff (air mattresses, mats and boogie boards) that you can borrow from the front desk. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The location is just 2 blocks from the beach and there are plenty of inexpensive places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookingwithamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently had a team meetup in the Vive hotel for the week - partly business and partly pleasure. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - the nicest I've come across in any hotel. The communal area was great, and we spent a lot of time hanging out, drinking, and eating when we weren't working. The only thing that I would have liked to see is some outdoor seating. Hopefully we'll get to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Vive Hotel Waikiki for 3 nights. It was a good experience. The rooms were clean and updated. The furnishings and decor were pleasant and modern. The lobby and "living room" were chic, well-appointed and welcoming. The service and amenities were great. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The hotel provides beach towels and all kinds of beach equipment that we checked out at the front desk. There is also a convenience room that we were able to reserve for clean up after a trip to the beach between check out and the time we needed to head to the airport. The continental breakfast was good, but lacked protein. The valet parking was easy. Our car was always ready by the time we got to the parking floor. The surrounding area is classic Waikiki - high rise hotels, shopping (from upscale to flea market) & restaurants. Coconut Cafe is directly across the street and has excellent shave ice. The front desk clerk recommended several restaurants within walking distance. Our favorite by far was Marukane Udon Tempura Musubi - worth the wait. It was an easy walk, also, to Waikiki Beach. This hotel is a very good value in a great location. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Floor 7 is the lowest floor with guest rooms. I believe the penthouse is on the 22nd floor. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I must admit I was going in almost blind... it's hard to chose a Hotel in a city you know nothing about, and choose a hotel from a "non-chain" big name.

I admit it, I went for Price and boy was I not deceived! Vive hotel is litterally 2 minutes walk from the beach, 2 minutes walk from all the restos and bars... it's central to everything and all the Buses (or almost) stop right in front.

The hotel is pretty modern, has a posh look and the staff is amazing. I read in the comments below that the staff made this hotel what it is, and he's right, they are friendly & helpful x 10000. They made sure we felt welcome; the Concierges were also great (Thanks Akemi for all the help), make sure to deal with them if you need to rent a car, DO NOT GO TO THE STANDS IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL, beleive me! they got me a car, last minute on July 4th in the morning for 55$ for the day... the guys in front wanted 45$ for a moped for 4 hours!

Rooms are ok, quite small for my liking, but who needs a room when you have paradise outside? The continental breakfast was great; fresh fruits, croissants, cinnamon buns, rolls and coffee every morning!

What was also great is that they lend you beach equipment if you need any: towels, buggy boards, chairs (ok the chairs are totally uncomfortable, but hey not everything could be perfect right? )

All in all, I would go back anytime, but would probably opt for a bigger room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for my cousins wedding. This is a decent location 2 blocks away from everything. Continental breakfast of pastries and fruit, coffee, tea etc was very nicely served in the lobby.
Room sizes are very small, we stayed in the standard king room with a view of the street. Thank God the AC worked.
Only real complaint I had is that they are under construction and lots of banging on the walls and slamming of doors. Considering the other properties I've seen in Honolulu away from the beach this is definitely one of the nicer ones for a decent price.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,420 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vive Hotel Waikiki offers exceptional value with no hidden amenity or resort fees! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants, and the world famous Waikiki Beach, Vive is strategically located in a prime location. Various complimentary amenities include: continental breakfast, WIFI, beach gear items, newspaper, local calling and more! Book your stay with us today for the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing