We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, great staff”
Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, great staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in early August. The previous reviews fairly reflect this well located hotel. Staff were fantastic. Not having a bar or restaurant was not an issue as the many other beachfront hotels have excellent dining options. Bus services are easy to navigate with the standard $2.50 fare brilliant. Don't miss Pearl harbour! Get the shuttle from hotel. No need to book tour. If shopping at Ala Moana take pink line ($2.00) from Duke Statue, but come back on the number 8 bus from Nordstrom/Barnes and Noble end of shopping centre. You will avoid long queues. Stops adjacent to Vive. Chilis restaurant surprisingly good. La Caucaracha, surprisingly bad! Ala Moana food hall, noisy busy, brilliant. Breakfast ok, (I missed eggs!) but great coffee! Thanks team. ABC shops very useful. How many are there?? Moana Surfrider beachfront bar - nice. Pinot Grigio, Kona Rock Fire ale and margarita pizza!

Room Tip: Facing the mountains for the quietest room. Don't forget the storage under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmedsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    748
    193
    28
    14
See reviews for
314
1,508
200
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just got back from staying at the Vive Hotel in Waikiki. I would highly recommend this hotel. The free continental breakfast had beautiful pastries, fresh fruit, and bread as well as a toaster available to make your own toast. The fruit was delicious especially the oranges and pineapple. The staff are extremely helpful and in your room they have booklets with maps with the bus routes as well as maps with the restaurants in the area. The location of the hotel is fantastic, only two blocks from the beach and highly recommended to any Hawaii Five-0 fans, as they were filming directly in front of the hotel as well as on the beach nearby! The hotel is also beside the bus stops which take you the Ala Moana shopping centre, the Iolani Palace and Diamond Head. The only negative was that it is loud at night time and we were able to hear sirens from police regularly but it is worth it for its location. We would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It is in a great location just two blocks from Waikiki beach. On arrival we were given glasses of pineapple juice and facecloths to refresh ourselves. We had two rooms, both were modern. They weren't huge but they were fine, each having a double bed, lockers, widescreen tv, wardrobe and desk as well as ensuite bathrooms. The staff on reception were superb, with advice and help on where to go. In the evening, on returning, they would always ask how we got on. If you want to go to the beach, they will give you towels to bring at reception and then you just return them. Breakfast is included, it's nice, croissants, pastries, bread for toasting or just eating, fresh pineapple, melon and other fruit, juice, tea and coffee etc. The hotel is a boutique hotel, the reception is modern as are the rooms. There was a concierge who booked trips if you wanted to take an organised trip. The bus stop is just a few yards away on both sides of the road. The hotel have a map with the numbers of buses and where they go to. We hired a car and parking in the hotel is valet only, at 25 dollars per day. However, we found this quite convenient. There may be on street parking but we didn't bother looking for it. We found this hotel great value for money, excellent customer service, very friendly and in a great location. All the restaurants, shops and beach of Waikiki are literally a few minutes walk which is great. We loved this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Waikiki. My husband booked it online but I think the rate compared very well to other hotels in the area. By the way buses charge a flat fee of 2.50 dollars for adults which is very good. Have exact coins or notes with you if using the bus. Oh, rooms also had fridges and we had free wifi also. There is nothing about this hotel that I can fault. It is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. On our last day, our flight out of Honolulu was late evening. We were able to leave our luggage and our car at the hotel until we had to go to the airport. They told us if we wanted to return during the day and have a shower there would be no problem.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter but my children stayed in a room at the front and they had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LesleyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on Expedia and booked it because of the great deal! For 12 nights/13 days, non-stop round trip flights from JFK, and hotel/airport transfer, we paid less than $4,000!!! We couldn't pass up that deal!

The hotel was perfect for us. It doesn't have a pool or restaurant, but does offer free breakfast daily which consists of fruit and pastries. The cinnamon rolls were quite good. They also have coffee and water available 24/7, as well as a microwave and toaster. I had some leftovers one night and they gave me a plate and utensils to heat it up. The staff was very accommodating.

A lot of people questioned us about the lack of a pool and restaurant when we told them about the hotel. With a short (2 min tops) walk to Waikiki Beach and so many restaurants nearby, you're not missing anything.

The only thing I wasn't completely thrilled with was the lack of space to unpack. I like to put all my stuff in drawers and take everything out of my suitcase, and I had to move some stuff around to do that. They have a closet, 2 night stands that have shelves, and some shelving in the closet. My boyfriend and I were both able to completely unpack with no problem, but just know that your clothes will be out in the open.

This hotel is the perfect location. You're 2 min from the beach, all the restaurants, and central Waikiki, and there's a bus stop right outside, as well as an Enterprise place down the block, if you want to explore other parts of the island.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location because I wasn't driving so ideal being close to everything. Does come with some noticable evening noise but then if I wanted to pay more I could get peace in an expensive seafront hotel. I had a budget, this hotel was brilliant.
The staff like the people of Hawaii were really friendly and accommodating. Like the Aloha, "Welcome what's yours is mine, please share"

I personally loved the breakfast lots of lovely juicy melons just what you need when combating dehydration from long flights and lots of sun. Lots of nice pasties on offer, but I loved the blueberry bread, yum.

Brigette the lady who sorts your trips was excellent, so, so helpful. Thank you

PS I got to the hotel so easily by shuttle bus located at Honolulu airport and they sorted the return journey too. Easy does it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here between July 16-19, 2014. From the time we checked in to when we checked out, the customer service was excellent. We arrived in the later part of the evening and were greeted graciously with scented towels and a welcome drink. Our room was small but lovely, had all the necessities we required. Wifi in the hotel was great. The continental breakfast was plenty and gave us a great start to the day. The location of the location is perfect. It is only a two block walk to the beach and the main strip where all the shops are located. There are many restaurants around the hotel, (Korean, pizza, japanese) and there is a bus stop beside the hotel that can take you many places around the city.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this affordable, centrally located, cool boutique hotel, enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HDJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Front Office Manager at Vive Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha HDJM1,
On behalf of staff and management, we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It is wonderful news that you found our hotel to be equipped with the necessities you needed and were able to enjoy our very premier location making shops, restaurants and the beach just steps away.
We hope your future travels to Oahu brings you back to our boutique property. Thank you again and mahalo.

Kind regards,
D. Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

nice hotel for our 2 night stay before heading to Kaua'i. Very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast with fruits, danish, toast, juice,... Room very small but cozy - side view of the ocean - had all we needed. Great location, just Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: higher floors may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperdusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,020 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,398 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,275 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vive Hotel Waikiki offers exceptional value with no hidden amenity or resort fees! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants, and the world famous Waikiki Beach, Vive is strategically located in a prime location. Various complimentary amenities include: continental breakfast, WIFI, beach gear items, newspaper, local calling and more! Book your stay with us today for the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing