We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and everything was great. Location, staff, rooms & price was exceptional the only problem for us was air conditioning (loud) and fire alarm at 3am.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sport_guy_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    744
    193
    28
    14
See reviews for
311
1,502
198
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our first time at this hotel but will return. Standard rooms are clean,small but adequate - next time we shall upgrade to the Junior suite. The lobby provides an excellent area to relax and as well as the complimentary breakfast provides hot drinks and ice water all day. Cannot say too much regards staff as all we met and had dealings with were pleasant, efficient and extremely helpful. All in all a good experience and recommended.
Only downside we could possibly find was that air conditioner struggles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SA5045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I am what you might call a very discerning traveller. In life, as in travel, I maintain a set of standards. These are by no means too high, but they are higher than most other people. At first glance, stepping into Vive Hotel you get hit with the modern decor, the high end finishes, etc. but once you get to your room, you see the unkempt appearance, the trails of ants in the corners, the bathrooms, the hallways. The glasses that are provided are dirty, and visibly only rinsed from previous usage.

I immediately went down to the front desk, and informed them of such things, and the two front desk associates called up to housekeeping to have everything taken care of immediately. This was reassuring.

I set out to a friends restaurant down the road (location is key here) and a couple hours I come back, and nothing has been done. Note: The glasses have been "cleaned" aka wrapped in new cellophane but the dead fly that was in there previously was still within the cup.

Many other disgusting instances happened in this hotel to which I ended up having to check out, and repaying the trusty Marriott with my presence.

I would not book this hotel again, it may have a shiny new facade, but it has seedy roots.

Room Tip: The beauty of the ocean view room is cancelled out by the despicable housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Guest Relations Manager at Vive Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Hayley R,
Thank you for your time in writing a review. We appreciate your feedback.
If indeed you stayed with us and the housekeeping incident went as mentioned, I sincerely apologize. But at the same time, since the day we opened, we have never wrapped any of our glasses in cellophane which makes me believe that you did not stay at our property.
Being in the field of hospitality and customer service industry, we value and appreciate all guests business and despite the supposed shortcoming, we would love if you could give us a second chance. Please do feel free to reach out to me. Thank you again.

-M. Otto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Michael, Sahara, Beverly, Cody & the concierge guy (forgot name)!!! You guys are AWESOME!! VIVE is a great boutique hotel!! The entire staff was very pleasant genuinely nice! Cute lobby & rooms. Great location & a 5 min walk to the Waikiki Beach. The continental breakfast was a hit and helped a lot to hold us over until lunch time! Close to restaurants & shopping. I would 100% stay here again and recommend this hotel to a friend.

~ Small rooms but that was OK cause your in Hawaii...do you really need a big room...PERFECT to sleep-shower- & you know the rest!
~ Cody let us know about the Airport transfer on our out going fight. That was great because we got long-hauled to the Hotel. Thanks Cody!!
~ AC unit was a bit ODD & a lil' noisy ...but it worked just fine to cool the room.
~ Beds are not that Comfy...we had to flip the mattress on the 2nd night


Stayed 7/18 - 7/22
Really HOT & HUMID.

HAPPY TRAVELING.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEELA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in early August. The previous reviews fairly reflect this well located hotel. Staff were fantastic. Not having a bar or restaurant was not an issue as the many other beachfront hotels have excellent dining options. Bus services are easy to navigate with the standard $2.50 fare brilliant. Don't miss Pearl harbour! Get the shuttle from hotel. No need to book tour. If shopping at Ala Moana take pink line ($2.00) from Duke Statue, but come back on the number 8 bus from Nordstrom/Barnes and Noble end of shopping centre. You will avoid long queues. Stops adjacent to Vive. Chilis restaurant surprisingly good. La Caucaracha, surprisingly bad! Ala Moana food hall, noisy busy, brilliant. Breakfast ok, (I missed eggs!) but great coffee! Thanks team. ABC shops very useful. How many are there?? Moana Surfrider beachfront bar - nice. Pinot Grigio, Kona Rock Fire ale and margarita pizza!

Room Tip: Facing the mountains for the quietest room. Don't forget the storage under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmedsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just got back from staying at the Vive Hotel in Waikiki. I would highly recommend this hotel. The free continental breakfast had beautiful pastries, fresh fruit, and bread as well as a toaster available to make your own toast. The fruit was delicious especially the oranges and pineapple. The staff are extremely helpful and in your room they have booklets with maps with the bus routes as well as maps with the restaurants in the area. The location of the hotel is fantastic, only two blocks from the beach and highly recommended to any Hawaii Five-0 fans, as they were filming directly in front of the hotel as well as on the beach nearby! The hotel is also beside the bus stops which take you the Ala Moana shopping centre, the Iolani Palace and Diamond Head. The only negative was that it is loud at night time and we were able to hear sirens from police regularly but it is worth it for its location. We would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It is in a great location just two blocks from Waikiki beach. On arrival we were given glasses of pineapple juice and facecloths to refresh ourselves. We had two rooms, both were modern. They weren't huge but they were fine, each having a double bed, lockers, widescreen tv, wardrobe and desk as well as ensuite bathrooms. The staff on reception were superb, with advice and help on where to go. In the evening, on returning, they would always ask how we got on. If you want to go to the beach, they will give you towels to bring at reception and then you just return them. Breakfast is included, it's nice, croissants, pastries, bread for toasting or just eating, fresh pineapple, melon and other fruit, juice, tea and coffee etc. The hotel is a boutique hotel, the reception is modern as are the rooms. There was a concierge who booked trips if you wanted to take an organised trip. The bus stop is just a few yards away on both sides of the road. The hotel have a map with the numbers of buses and where they go to. We hired a car and parking in the hotel is valet only, at 25 dollars per day. However, we found this quite convenient. There may be on street parking but we didn't bother looking for it. We found this hotel great value for money, excellent customer service, very friendly and in a great location. All the restaurants, shops and beach of Waikiki are literally a few minutes walk which is great. We loved this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Waikiki. My husband booked it online but I think the rate compared very well to other hotels in the area. By the way buses charge a flat fee of 2.50 dollars for adults which is very good. Have exact coins or notes with you if using the bus. Oh, rooms also had fridges and we had free wifi also. There is nothing about this hotel that I can fault. It is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. On our last day, our flight out of Honolulu was late evening. We were able to leave our luggage and our car at the hotel until we had to go to the airport. They told us if we wanted to return during the day and have a shower there would be no problem.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter but my children stayed in a room at the front and they had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LesleyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,014 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,396 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,610 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vive Hotel Waikiki offers exceptional value with no hidden amenity or resort fees! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants, and the world famous Waikiki Beach, Vive is strategically located in a prime location. Various complimentary amenities include: continental breakfast, WIFI, beach gear items, newspaper, local calling and more! Book your stay with us today for the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing