We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantalus Lookout Puu Ualakaa State Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
Hawaii Five-0 TV Locations Tour
Ranked #26 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“do it!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It took us about an hour to drive the entire loop and it is well worth it . We drove in the middle of the day and we barely passed any cars. The road has many twists and turns with beautiful lush plants , huge trees and bamboo mini forests. The view is amazing, I almost regretted that I climbed the Diamond Head two hours ago , when I could see better panorama view of the city from the road. The a scene from "Blue Hawaii" with Elvis was filmed at the park so don't miss that spot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank monis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    218
    48
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
2 reviews
“Amazing but traffic can be tricky”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I went to visit this not knowing really what to expect but was pleasantly surprised, I would def recommend this to all visiting tourists who would like to feast their eyes on the amamzng views

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best panoramic view of Honolulu”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Drive up but be mindful of the neighboring homes along the cliffs.

Park near the top where most cars are parked (you won't miss it) and enjoy the panoramic views of the city. I prefer the evening, but the day time is also beautiful because you can see the ocean. A beautiful backdrop to a beautiful place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank enk_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romantic spot”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great place to park at night and look out at the sparkling lights of the city. Very beautiful and romantic!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tantalus Dr is Another Must See”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The drive up and then back down the mountain gives the best view of Honolulu. The State Park has a great overlook of the whole south end of the island including Diamond Head. It is a great place to get pictures.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tantalus Lookout Puu Ualakaa State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tantalus Lookout Puu Ualakaa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing