We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Alan Wong's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$51
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Punahou Street and McCully Street
Description: Consistently voted as one of Hawaii's best restaurants, James Beard award-winning Chef Alan Wong uses the freshest locally grown produce and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean to create local favorites with a contemporary twist. Inspired by the unique ethnic influences found in Hawaii today, his menu reflects Hawaii's cultural diversity of its people, traditions, and lifestyles. "Taste Hawaii."
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I didn't have high hopes on this restaurant since I had eating at MW early this week which suppose to have trained ex-chefs from Alan Wong's. This restaurant is located in the business district that isn't far from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Upon arrival, the staff was attentive and explained the specials and how everything worked. My wife and I both had the tasting menu. It starts off with the "soup and sandwich" which melts in your mouth. My favorite was the butter poached Kona cold lobster. That green sauce makes you want to lick the bowl. You will definitely be full after eating the tasting menu. It was so good, I went back two days later with three other people.

On my first visit, I did notice Alan Wong was actually there. I wish he could have greeted some people with a walk around. I would have loved to have gotten a picture with him. There aren't too many celebrity chefs nowadays that actually monitors their restaurant's quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dannycheng15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    253
    110
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Service is slipping”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Tasty food and haphazard service at Alan Wong's flagship on King St. We've been there many times and tonight went for a special occasion. Food was very very good; service not at all. Seems like they had the "B Team" on shift. Friendly kids but overwhelmed by a busy night. Slow to get food; pacing irregular. It got to the point of irritation when we could not get the waiter's attention to order dessert. Going back? Not soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juneauite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
189 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“incredible”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There is a reason why this resto is always cited as the best in HNL. The service is superb, the food awesome, innovative, and extremely well-prepared. nothing disappoints. each presentation is gorgeous. the staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. we had a plane to catch and they were so nice and took our time schedule into immediate consideration. they even gave us a b-day treat to go as we did not have time to eat it at the resto. the menu is so inventive, varied, and upscale. i really did not know what to choose but the waiter was so knowledgeable and helpful. the lobster served like escargots was amazing. the opakapaka excellent, and the seafood cakes delicious. i will go back there ASAP and spend more time to leisurely enjoy the food and atmosphere. i can not wait to try other things there. Great dining experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had to try Alan Wong as he is another regional cuisine chef. Glad we did as dinner exceeded our expectations. Do not let the location fool you as there is no disappointment here. We loved our entrée to dessert and will return again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolute Favorite Honolulu Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Food, atmosphere, service~ all over the top!! We have been to Alan Wong's many times and have never been disappointed!! The food is not only fresh and prepared to perfection~ the presentation is picture worthy!! BEST pineapple martini I have ever had!! The bar/wine menu is quiet extensive. All that being said, bring your wallet~But you get what you pay for!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank downtown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Wong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing