We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for good whisky”

Restaurant Suntory Honolulu
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Suntory Honolulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
New York
Level Contributor
331 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place for good whisky”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stopped here for a break from shopping and enjoyed two whiskies.Nice, quiet, understated room and friendly polite staff made for a perfect setting for my Japanese single malts. Not inexpensive by any means, but if you covet uncommon whisky in a different setting, Suntory will more than fulfill your needs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    132
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

In spite of popularity of Japanese cuisine in the United States, including Hawaii, I've always felt that many Japanese restaurants lack that sense of authenticity. I cannot pinpoint why I feel that way, but one reason is that Japanese restaurants outside of Japan cannot afford to concentrate on a few things. In Japan, many restaurants proudly have been cooking the same food for generations, sometimes a couple of centuries, always seeking improvement. But culturally and business wise, Japanese restaurants outside of Japan have to cater to all sorts of customers, thus the menus tend to include everything from sushi to tempura to tonkatsu, diluting the focus, therefore their level of cuisine remains conventional and not up to expectation.
Among many Japanese restaurants I've explored in Honolulu, Restaurant Suntory is one of the few that is close to authentic. Since I don't eat meat or poultry, I don't know about their Teppanyaki, but their set lunch displays attention to details, good quality dashi (stock made of dry bonito and kelp), balanced materials and ingredients, and the presentation, including good quality china. I particularly like their sesame tofu and rice with mixed grains and red beans as well as lightly broiled Butterfish with miso paste sauce. My friend, who is hard on Japanese restaurants in Honolulu, likes this place and we regularly return. The lunch menu offers different dishes on a regular basis. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Showertreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Bento!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went during lunch, staff were very friendly, the service was fast and the food was great. I recommend to make reservation since there was line forming before they open at 11:30am.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank exotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authenic Seasonal Japanese Lunch Set”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I really enjoyed the seasonal lunch set with a very nice assortment of authentic Japanese mini dishes. Owned by Suntory therefore as expected, an array of their beverages available.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter_vpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great teppanyaki”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and chanced upon this restaurant while looking for somewhere to eat in the Royal Haiwaiian Center. I guess our luck was in that night as it was one of the best teppanyaki meals we have had ! The food was simple, fresh and delicious - just what we wanted. There were lots of Japanese tourists dining here - surely a good sign. The staff and chef went out of their way to ensure we felt welcome and were very friendly and courteous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bondi_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Suntory Honolulu also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Suntory Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing