We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Entertaining”
Review of Chai's Island Bistro - CLOSED

Chai's Island Bistro
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Entertaining”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The food and ambiance were good. Entertainment is top notch. Portions are exceedingly small for the price. $20 cab ride (each way) from Waikiki. Be prepared to drop some cash for a visit to Chai's. I would reserve going there only for special occasions.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food plus Danny Couch entertaining combined to make a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I visit Chai's Island Bistro every time we visit Honolulu and are always pleased with the excellent service providing superb food at reasonable prices in a relaxing atmosphere. As if that weren't enough, we are always delighted to enjoy the entertainment of Danny Couch singing while we dine. He has an amazing ability to make you believe he is singing only to you, or he can involve the entire restaurant in a song. On our last visit we took three 22-24 year old kids, who thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening --- food and entertainment! That should be a pretty good recommendation that this restaurant, together with Danny Couch, can make it an enjoyable evening for anyone of any age! I would place this one on anyone's "highly recommend" list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Observatory Point Bed & Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We came to hear the music, Cazmiro Brothers, but”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Although we were seated in the middle of the dining room, we could barely hear them. I had so looked forward to this evening. After dinner, we choose to sit at the bar where the sound was a little better. Located at the Aloha Tower Marketplace, downtown Honolulu, it wasn't worth the effort to get there. The Marketplace has many vacant spaces. The restaurant, while attractive, is nothing special. The food, good, but again for the price, could be duplicated in many places in Waikiki. I too, am a Hawaiian music lover. I was so very disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misslily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Wait to Chai's Bistro. The price of the oster was very over price it was so small, the shrimp cocktail was very tough and chewy. We order the five meal course the appertizer was very coold the fish was chewy. Then the main course came out it was coooold, meat was tough and chewy it was over cook send it back and it seal was over cook.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food . . great music”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We are Hawaiian Music lovers and Chai's didn't disappoint. We spent 2 different evenings there for both dinner and the evening's local music. The table was ours for the entire evening - 3 sets of music and the food was great.

They also serve half portions of several entree's so we mixed and matched and enjoyed a wide variety of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chai's Island Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing