We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice food, great service”

Tanaka of Tokyo Central
Ranked #95 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good value, nice food, great service”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had the shogun set here, and it was great. Not the absolute best teppanyaki I've ever had, but it was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening here. The space is quite nice inside, dimly lit, with a lot of space between each big table. We would definitley go back, and would definitely recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissMotivated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    189
    73
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great show cooking and delicious food!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great experience and a must when staying in Waikiki. The chef cooks your dinner right in front of you. Each entrée comes with different appetizers and also a dessert (ice-cream). Good value for the money. The supersize Tanaka Sirloin is excellent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very fun and yummy”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My kids adore teppanyaki, and this was an excellent choice. Delicious food and the service was perfect. The place itself is gorgeus, really beautiful. almost no waiting time (and books and crayons for the kids!) We had a great time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sorayein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great food. Excellent staff. Great for families, our 17 month old loved it. If you are going to drop $125 on dinner at a buffet anyway, go here instead. Way better experience. Everything in Hawaii is expensive but not necessarily worth it, this place is. You won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best meal!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Four diners total and each of us had a wonderful meal/dining experience. The staff was very welcoming and our cook ( Kris) did a super job preparing our meal with greater than expected flair! The portions were generous and plentiful enough to provide us with breakfast the following morning. Do not miss if you are looking for Japanese style / hibachi prepared dining.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanaka of Tokyo Central also viewed

 

Been to Tanaka of Tokyo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing