We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pallet enjoyment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Mavro

Chef Mavro
Reserve with OpenTable
Chef Mavro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #147 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$105 - US$152
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McCully
Transit: From Waikiki get on TheBus #2 (School St./Middle St.) at Kuhio & Seaside. Get off at S. King St. and walk 10 minutes to Chef Mavro 1969 S. King St. Taxi is recommended. If driving, parking lot entrance is from S. King.
Description: Taste the flavors of Hawaii and Provence paired with exciting wine pairings that earn the highest food rating in Hawaii (18/20 Gayot). Flexible course menus include lobster, wagyu beef, onaga, pork, lamb & local produce. Romantic occasions & business entertaining. Executive Chef Jeremy Shigekane and Pastry Chef Jose Calpito add exciting contemporary style to the award-winning menus. Don't miss the sustainable caviar & the Grand Tasting Menu. Mavro's brigade of young chefs share his philosophy: always buy the best and freshest, buy local, treat all products with great respect, and start afresh every season with new ideas and creative recipes.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Pallet enjoyment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent plates that switch with the seasons. Terrific wine pairing adds a savory touch to each course.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jers3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    44
    25
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fun
2 reviews
“What an amazing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed food at Mavro's on multiple occasions. The food is always good and the wine parings amazing. From the comfortable atmosphere at the restaurant to the amazing presentations, we have never been disappointed. Plus, the other clientele reads like a who's who of the political and celebrity world. If you want great dining, you have to go to Mavros.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chunkyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is truly the best restaurant in Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The accolades that Chef Mavro has received are well deserved. The food and service at his restaurant outshine any other in Hawaii. The staff is very professional and friendly. I felt pampered, not intimidated.

The food is amazing as one would expect from a chef of this caliber. The sommelier is skilled; the wine pairings are perfect.

If you are visiting Honolulu or live here, I strongly recommend you try this restaurant. It is one of the best dining experiences that I have had. Order the grand degustation with wine pairing. It allows you to taste all of Chef Mavro's current culinary offerings with the sommelier's rare wine selections. It is worth every penny!

If you're a foodie, like me, you will not be disappointed. I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cant get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am not a foodie and dont want to even sound like one. But the reality of it is simple. I like to try and enjoy good food. The food here isnt one of those places where I cannot pronounce the name. Its basic good food and very well thought out. I had the chance to go there with friends and we went with the pre fixe with pairing. its a little bit higher than I thought (about $450) a head but compared to other places that I have gone to in the past, its well worth it. Well, im not too sure if $450 is ever worth it but if you have a chance to go for it, slim it down and take the pairing portion out of it too. and then we can go from there. its awesome. desserts, appetizers and all that. great portions and just awesome all the way around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yasuo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bring wallet, leave hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The restaurant offers impeccable service, nice atmosphere, delicious food, ridiculously small portions and is grossly overpriced, without the wine pairings and even more overpriced with wine pairings. Wine by the glass is $18.50 for a 5 ounce pour. The four and six course sampler menus, priced at $85 and $128 respectively, per person, each have two protein courses which have a mere two ounce serving of the protein. The eleven course sampler at $175 offers only ONE OUNCE servings of the protein courses. The plates look pretty but the protein is most conspicuous by its minute size on a large plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Mavro also viewed

 

Been to Chef Mavro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing