We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find”
Review of Olive Tree Cafe

Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #571 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unexpected find”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We never expected to find a Greek restaurant in Honolulu so we were thrilled to find this small cafe. It's situated off a parking lot on the corner but the tables outdoor we attractive and clean. The food was very good and reasonably priced. One drawback is that this a cash only business. The cafe is a byob and there a wine store next door. They have a small parking lot but there is plenty of space on the street. A welcome change.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirJohn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Busy...With Good Reason”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant 15-20 times, more than any other in Honolulu. If you like Greek food, you will find no better on Oahu. I don't think I've reviewed Olive Tree Cafe before, because they are simply too busy and don't need more business. But they deserve acknowledgement. I always arrive there early, at 5:30, or before and find parking in the adjacent shopping center. You'll still probably need to line up and have someone grab a table, but it will only get busier later. All the food is good - lamb, fish, chicken, baklava. And most dishes come with a salad. Bring a good wine and you will enjoy a fine meal in a hectic, informal, but congenial atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reasonable_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Hawaii”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Visiting from Canada we enjoyed the ambience of the cafe, the friendly welcome at the counter and the helpful advice to choose a tasteful meal. Buy your bottle of wine next door and open onsite without any corkage fee.
Worth seeking out for dinner in East Oahu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“This is an amazing spot!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our friends have said this is a wonderful spot to eat. I have to agree.
We had take out as well as eating there a number of times during our last visit to Hawaii.
The food is excellent. Everything was wonderful and the variety excellent.
They only take cash and you can get beer or wine to drink next door at the liquor store.
You need to get there early because they are so busy. The locals obviously know what they have in this restaurant.
I highly recommend the restaurant and will go back the next time we are in Hawaii.
Amazing :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Local Favorite for Greek Cuisine”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a great sort of sidewalk cafe on Kilauea, on the South side of Kahala Mall. Very popular and often so crowded there's no place to sit! You can dine there and also order for take-out. The hook is fantastic greek food at good prices. We love the lamb souvlaki! There is no alcohol served, but the restaurant is BYOB. Next door to the cafe is a small greek wine shop that also carries authentic foods like olives, greek peppers, cheeses, and the like. Great selection. Nice lunch stop, and generally, the portions are more like lunch-sized day/night. If you go in the evening, be prepared to wait, but it's worth it! We visit regularly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing