We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, upbeat atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiki's Grill & Bar

Tiki's Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tiki's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Paokalani Ave.
Description: A hip, open-air restaurant with a retro South Pacific design and experience, Tiki's Grill & Bar features a menu highlighting the flavors of the islands prepared in an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant appeals to residents and visitors alike and draws the late-night crowd with live contemporary Hawaiian entertainment every evening. Tiki's Grill & Bar provides a casual American and Pacific-Rim menu with flavors of the islands, using fresh local produce. Tiki’s offers lanai seating with beautiful sunsets on Kuhio Beach.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food, upbeat atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ended up going here twice on our trip. The first time was the night we arrived. We wanted something quick before heading to bed (we were still on west coast time). Unfortunately the maître de misspoke and said there would be a twenty minute wait. It was really closer to an hour. I think it was an honest mistake because everyone was so friendly and apologetic, especially the really nice greeter lady.

The cordiality would have sufficiently made up for the wait, even though we were really tired. The food, however, more than made up for the wait. It was surprisingly wonderful. On the first night we ordered only off of the pupu "appetizer" menu. Each was distinctive. The best, I thought, were the island ahi tartare stack, the beef gyoza, and the Thai chicken salad.

Our second visit was with friends ... They're semi local--the have a vacation condo on Waikiki-- and they chose the restaurant, which is a strong endorsement. This time we had a proper reservation. Again the food was very good. I had the Mac nut ahi. While it was good, the pupus were a more interesting choice from the previous evening.

All in all, this a a really nice Waikiki choice. You'll get a good Hawaiian experience and good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike95128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,359
    1,190
    367
    86
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great choice for casual dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This restaurant was in walking distance of my hotel and had a great beachy atmosphere. Great service and good food at reasonable prices. I ate there twice during my visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We love it when our customers come in more than once, Cathy. That means we are doing something right. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
662 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Good stop. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

It is poolside, so there are wet kids running around, if you like you can sit away from that in the dining room and still have a nice view. Good food and service.

Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Mahalo for the feedback. We noticed that you rated Tiki's Grill & Bar a 4/5. What could we have done to earn a rating of "5" from you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eh... Nice Location, Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We dropped by Tiki for lunch on a weekday, the location is fantastic, but the overall experience average.

Service was good, the greeter and the waiter were both friendly and courteous, no problems here. However, their kitchen seems to have some problems... the food took over 25 - 30 minutes to arrive. When it did come, it was nicely prepared... but unfortunately portions of it were cold! I ordered a cheeseburger, but the fries were "inedible" and were cold and stale. The fish and chips looked good, but again, the fries were cold.

It's unfortunate the food was not better ... the location and view are great, I really wanted to like this place. However, considering the number of choices in Waikiki... and that you can get better fries at McDonalds, I may not try Tiki agin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coolspot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Mahalo for your recent visit to Tiki's Grill & Bar. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us and will be sure to share your feedback with our staff. If you are ever unhappy with any menu item you order, please ask to speak with a manager so we may quickly address your concern and remedy the situation during your visit. We want you to love our menu just as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun place, great drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here 2 nights in a row on our recent trip to Honolulu. The entire staff is so friendly. We had great seats overlooking Waikiki beach. The first night I enjoyed the perfectly cooked rare tuna, but even better was my mai tai! My husband liked his swordfish, but thought it was a bit overcooked. We split a delicious desert. We usually won't go to a restaurant 2 nights in a row when traveling, but I confess we both wanted more mai tais! This time I had the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi. Yum. My husband had the ribs, which were ok, but who orders ribs when you can order delicious fresh fish? We had reservations both nights, but they weren't really necessary. The meals were expensive, but no more than comparable restaurants in Waikiki. There was also live music both nights. Fun place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tiki's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing