We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Busy for downtown business lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Bar & Grill

Murphy's Bar & Grill
Ranked #206 of 2,290 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown Honolulu
Honolulu
Level Contributor
199 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Busy for downtown business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

You need to get in the door before noon if you expect to get seated quickly. A wide variety menu, from salads to shepherd pie to corned beef and cabbage. Nothing I had was exceptional, but nothing has been bad either. Service is very good. The hostess is consistently awesome. Murphy does so much for the community and UH sports, how can you not support him? Seems like every business man and woman are there for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very popular with locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday at 1145. It was already packed for lunch. Appeared to be mostly business people. Had a delicious burger ( hadn't had one for months). Ordered fries crispy & was served that. Tap beer selection was very limited with St. Patricks Day less than a week away. Under normal circumstances, they have a great selection. Wait staff are very pleasant

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackocalgary_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything is delicious! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We visit Hawaii every year and Murphy's is a must do and more than once. Don't know which I like best, food or the Murphy's and their employees. Great place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MahaloSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected - In a Good Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have been to several different Irish Pubs in cities across the country. When my wife and I walked into Murphy's, we were greeted with a different sort of atmosphere. It was quiet and a very pleasant restaurant. We stuck our heads into the bar area (and got some ideas of how we want to set up our home bar), but it was a very quiet night.

The food was well priced and very high quality. I got a peppercorn steak with mashed potatoes and it was different than steaks I have become accustomed to, but the peppercorn and sauce was delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ibDWuHLmLfJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We've been here for dinner in the past but tonight we decided to stop into the bar for a drink. The bartender was awesome and the drinks were fabulous! We always enjoy Murphy's and tonight was no exception! It wasn't crowded and just had a very relaxed vibe.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Murphy's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing