We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family-Style dining”

Gyotaku Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #513 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Punahou & McCully
Description: Authentic & Contemporary Japanese Cuisine in a Family Friendly Atmosphere. Established in 2001 and voted Hawaii's most popular Japanese Restaurant year after year by the readers of the Honolulu Star Bulletin, Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Magazine. Gyotaku is truly one of the most popular places where 'locals' dine.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family-Style dining”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great Family-Style dining! Reasonably priced.
We had three generations at the table. Everyone was able to find something from the extensive menu to enjoy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMLGFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
199 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It has been some time since I last visited this restaurant (at this location). No disappointment, food/service was great. wasn't going to eat too much (planned a big dinner later), but the shrimp tendon was great, ate everything. also had a bit of my friends dessert.

Good place for Japanese restaurant, in a town with many Japanese places to eat

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itaewon-mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
283 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I love this restaurant. It is evident they recently renovated. It appears more spacious and contemporary. Food is tasty. Meal service is friendly and fast. Our group of 7 had reservations and were seated in a private area - this allowed us to have quiet conversations - it was awesome. Our server was very attentive. Food was served to our table very quickly. We had, salads, sashimi, sushi, miso soup, tempura - all very tasty. The only challenge is their menu is so abundant with choices, you have to return just to try them all. They also offer reasonably priced lunch specials. Our cost for each person averaged less than $20 for lunch/drink. Parking is also plentiful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
171 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my first trip to thiis Japanese restauran, and it definitely won't be my last. The food was great as well as the service. I had the tonkatsu, and it was perfectly cooked. This is a great place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KauaiHITraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
253 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Plenty to eat even for a non-sushi lover”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Gyotaku is a two story middle of the road, family Japanese Restaurant. The menu has a rather lengthy list of sushi plates. But I don't like sushi and I have shell fish allergies. But nevertheless, I found plenty of appetizing items on the menu. I had the ox tail udon. It was yummy. For the frugal, there are early bird and lunch specials. They have interesting salads and even steaks, for the carnivores. Nothing fancy, by any means and the service was spotty (we had a new guy in training).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heybrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gyotaku Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Gyotaku Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing