We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Safe Family Fun”

Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$177.99*
and up
Sunset on the Beach Segway Tour
Ranked #95 of 306 Outdoor Activities in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Safe Family Fun”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This public beach lagoon in front of Hilton Hawaiian is a great spot for letting kids of all ages enjoy the ocean. The lagoon is only 5ft deep and new water is constantly pumped in keeping it clean and clear. No waves = great for little ones to play in the water. Great for all ages to try things like stand up paddle boards. Many restaurants avail in hh, dairy queen, starbucks and its so pretty to walk around. We rented an umbrella for shade. No more $ than anywhere else and staff were very helpful and friendly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gentle place to experience the sea!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were taking photos of each other and I love the peacefulness of the lagoon -- how still and silent it was in the early morning and late in the day when no one was ever there. It was magical -- especially when I saw a sea turtle munching on a favorite seaweed, I guess! They are normally so shy but this one ignored me early early in the morning. It is a wonderful place to take small children as an alternative to a swimming pool and you can snorkel there as there are fish and you can also learn to paddleboard there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
208 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, and the lagoon is located next to the resort. Beautiful view, clean sand, and clear water!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank oaktoncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you are in the area it is beautiful to walk around this area and take some "typical Waikiki" gorgeous photos. The Lagoon area is so pretty. Also, the view back towards the Diamond Head is awesome..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coreena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place for kids and to rent a chair to soak up the sun”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Duke's Lagoon at HHV is a great place for kids to swim safely or to rent a chair and soak up the sun! I gave 4 stars only because the beach area is hard so you will want a chair to relax...rent one for $20 a day...well worth it! Beautiful spot!

Helpful?
1 Thank HolaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon also viewed

 

Been to Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing