We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My stay at the Hokulani HGVC was outstanding. The accommodations were amazing and I was very pleased at the resort. The bathroom was a amazing. It had a beautiful large glass shower. The bathroom mirror had a TV in it. The picture was stunning. The living room and bedroom were small. But the place was cozy, quiet and pleasant to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

As usual, this Hilton property is lovely and has all the bells and whistles you would expect including a tv in the bathroom mirror. Location is right at one end of the Waikiki Beach Walk so many restaurants, shops are convenient. The one bedroom with king bed was very comfortable for 2, but privacy could be an issue if you intend to use the sofa bed in the living area for other guests. There are only sliding doors between living room and bed room.
There is no parking other than valet which runs $35 per day. We bought a pass for the parking lot at Fort Derussy 2 blocks away and spent less.The kitchenette is more than adequate for easy meals however, I would like to know how they expect you to make coffee when you run out of the few prepackaged cartridges for the fancy coffee maker. When I asked (after 4 days) for a few more of the coffee cartridges I was informed by housekeeping that they are only provided only upon check in, which leaves you no way to make coffee once you run out of the cartridges. There is Starbucks right across the street. From what we could tell, there are really no great views from the rooms in this hotel. We were on the 15th floor but still saw only the building right next door. There may be some peeks of mountain or city but no ocean views. The properties at Hilton Hawaiian village would be more desirable view wise.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be desirable as this is right on the corner of Kalakaua which has tons of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LookingForSeaGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Regarding the coffee cartridges, we do have them available for purchase in our Na Moku Café located in the lobby and regret that you were not properly informed by our staff. In regards to the views, although we do not categorize Ocean View or Partial Ocean View rooms, we do have some rooms in the Deluxe category from which the ocean is visible. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions at wbethel@hgvc.com

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Location - great (once you find it.)

Valet only - guys were all great.

Rooms - small but clean, new, nice design & fully stocked kitchen.
Room suggestion: They say room is good for 4 people (1 bedroom with 2 full size beds & pull out sofa.) Room is very small. We were miserable. 2 of my kids chose to stay in the college dorm instead of hotel at night.

Smaller hotel, boutique feel. 16 floors, not overwhelming like the village (but the village has it's upside.)

No restaurant but the location is in the middle of multiple restaurants. There is an attached burger spot that serves breakfast, lunch & dinner.

No room service.

Not on the beach.

Tiny rooftop pool & hot tub. Lots of nice lounge chairs and bar. But entire rooftop closes at sunset. Pool & time was a huge disappointment for my family.

Overall, I recommend this location for a business trip or quick weekend trip. I recommend the Hilton Village for families.


Stayed: February 2014
5  Thank JenJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not comfortable and that your children needed to stay at another location. Regarding the hours of operation for the Na Lani Sky Lounge, we appreciate your input and are considering how to best accommodate the needs of our hotel guests. Again, your comments are truly appreciated and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We loved the Hokulani. Great location and terrific suites. The rooftop is wonderful and Kevin is a TERRIFIC bartender. He made our trip very special. Make sure you look him up when you go!!!

The location was very good for going to the beach, catching tour busses, dining, and shopping. We did not need to rent a car because everything was so close.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mherlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hokulani Waikiki is an incredible new hotel from Hilton Grand Vacations. It's located in the Waikiki Beach Walk, at the corner of Kalakaua & Lewers. This is right in the heart of Waikiki, convenient to many great shops, restaurants, and only a short walk to the beach. Some don't like Waikiki but for me, it is the perfect mix of big city amenities along with a nice beach and being an easy drive away from some idyllic beaches.

The rooms at Hokulani are all beautiful suites with vast living space with a small galley kitchen, a private bedroom area, and a large bathroom with rainfall shower and a gorgeous bathtub that fills from the ceiling. There is a TV integrated into the mirror, so you can watch while getting ready at the sink or while soaking in the tub.

All of the furnishings are of high quality. There is a luxurious feel to the entire property without the intrusive service you find at Halekulani for instance. I found the employees to be very friendly and helpful. They were there for me when I needed them but were discreet when not. Housekeeping was great-- my suite was kept very clean.

Parking is valet only. Wait times aren't terrible and the valets are mostly quite good. The fee is a bit steep at $35 but you are in the heart of busy Waikiki. The valet area is a bit hard to find initially-- look for the umbrella on the Lewers side of the hotel.

The lobby is on the second floor and is gorgeous. Great water and fire features along with nice seating. The business center is a nice, complimentary self-serve area just off the lobby. The rooftop pooldeck is gorgeous, with beautiful views of Waikiki, the ocean, Diamondhead, mountains, etc. There is a pool bar and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the pool itself is just a little soaking pool. There is also a small jacuzzi available.

Hokulani is my new favorite Waikiki hotel. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is very luxurious and has very nice amenities but it is somewhat small in size. Besides that the hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. The only REAL complaint I have is their valet services. Not only do you HAVE TO valet, they charge $35.00 per day to park your car there only to have their attendants take our cars for joy rides. I haven't caught anyone joy riding my car but I overheard the managers at Hokulani speak of a Elite Staff member taking our cars out for joy rides!!! It looks as though it isn't Hilton's employees hired to manage our cars but a vendor company named ELITE PARKING SERVICES which I didn't find very comforting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We are sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay at the Hokulani Waikiki. Thank you for your feedback. I’d like to discuss the incident you’ve described in more detail, please contact me at wbethel@hgvc.com

Will Bethel
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From the minute the shuttle dropped us off, this hotel blew every expectation I had out of the water. The entrance to the lobby is on the second floor of the Waikiki Beach Walk shopping area. When you walk through the doors you automatically feel like you've entered a world of exclusivity. There is a seating area to the right of the lobby that is wonderful, especially at night when the fire bowls are lit and the water sparkles. During the day, this is a fantastic place to sit with your morning Starbucks (right across the street) and enjoy the morning sun. I was told that the lobby bar serves alcohol during the day, but they close at 6 or 7. According to the pool bartender this is because they don't have enough bar staff to sustain additional hours, but it was something that probably wouldn't last much longer. Hopefully he is correct, because they are wasting a great opportunity to make money by serving drinks in this area after dark.

All of the rooms at this resort feature one bedroom and are meticulously decorated with a mix of modern contemporary, Asian and Hawaiian. Floors are a beautiful dark hardwood, as are the cabinets, some of the furniture and the bed. The kitchen is amazing. Whomever designed the layout deserves some kind of recognition because they managed to provide every convenience in such a small space. The stove has two burners, the refrigerator is big enough to keep drinks and a few small items cold. Place settings for four are tucked away in a cabinet that is tucked into the wall. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and in-room ice machine. There are also four beach towels tucked away in the closet. If I had to pick something to gripe about it would be that there is only one luggage stand. I would expect in a unit that technically sleeps four, that there would be two. I'm sure if you called and asked for an extra they would bring it without a problem. Also, the safe is located in the bottom right drawer of the bedroom dresser.

The bathroom is probably my favorite feature of this place. For starters there is a television integrated into the mirror. So cool. The only other place I have experienced this was at the Venetian in Las Vegas. Be sure to check out the bathtub. The water COMES OUT OF THE CEILING. I didn't take a bath but had a blast watching the tub fill up.

Each unit also comes with a Romeo & Juliet lanai. This means there is little room to sit, let alone stand. You are also located about a block from the beach so unless you are on one of the highest floors and facing the ocean, you won't have an ocean view. Odds are your view will be of the city and/or the mountains.

The pool is also not to be missed, especially if you are a couple traveling without kids, and like us, aren't particularly fond of them. Lounge chairs are super soft and comfortable. Each come with a set of throw pillows. The pool attendant will give you as many towels as you want, let you pick your spot, and set up an umbrella for you. It is a nice service they provide so tips are appreciated. I didn't realize there would be a pool attendant so I didn't bring cash. Had to go back down to the room to grab a few bucks. The pool is small. Like really small. It's basically a plunge pool, hence my comment about being great for couples who don't like kids screaming and splashing in the water. It isn't kid friendly at all so anyone traveling with kids will likely hit the beach instead. That isn't to say there won't be kids there. We had a few, but they were too small to be obnoxious.

The bar serves great drinks and features happy hour starting at 2. Prices aren't cheap, even at happy hour, but you can room charge, which is very convenient. They are lacking food service though. Again, not sure if this is because they are still new and understaffed. I didn't ask. I did ask about hours, and the pool bar, like the lobby bar, closes at 6. Also a shame because the view from up there is fantastic at night with the lights of Waikiki. There are cabanas for rent, each equipped with a television. Was curious about the going rate and was told it was $200 per day. That's a bit expensive. I think others felt the same way because no one rented a cabana during our entire stay.

Like all Waikiki hotels (HHV included) you are going to have to pay for parking. The rate at the Hokulani is $35 per day, valet only. The elevators are also a bit tricky and will take some getting used to. In the lobby you flash your room key in front of the sensor then enter the floor number you want. The display will then tell you which elevator to get into. If you are waiting with a group of people make sure you don't just hop on the next elevator that comes by because it won't stop on your floor unless you put the request into the display. You don't need to flash your key to move between floors (i.e. to get to the pool or lobby from your room) but you will need to enter your floor request into the keypad. It might seem like a pain at first, but it is kind of cool, and once you get the hang of it, you'll think nothing of it.

Overall this is a perfect choice for Waikiki. I will most certainly be back. We are HGVC owners so I am optimistic that it will be easy for us to return. If you are also an owner and are debating between here and the HHV, you need to keep in mind a couple of things. First, this resort is not on the beach and you won't likely have an ocean view. That said, you are in the heart of Waikiki. Restaurants, shopping, people watching are literally at your doorstep. The beach is a short one block walk away. The HHV is on the beach, however you are far removed from the center of Waikiki. It is a good 10-15 minute walk, which isn't terrible, but if you are looking to be near the center of all the action (and Waikiki is about action), then I would give the Hokulani serious consideration.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better your view. If you are not an owner, chances are you will probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coug1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,122 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 2181 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2318
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: £233 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ease into an unforgettable Hawaii vacation at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations. This all-suite hotel boasts a fabulous location, just steps from the famous Waikiki Beach, in the heart of Waikiki's shopping and entertainment area. Enjoy the freedom to live at your own pace in one of the 143 spacious one-bedroom suites at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen and relax in your living and dining space, or look out on the city from your Juliet-style lanais. Lounge in the Hawaii sunshine, cool off with a refreshing dip in the rooftop plunge pool, or re-energize with a workout at the modern fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing