We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, top quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, top quality hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have family reunion trip to Hawaii. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to beach, shopping and dining. The only drawback is the very small pool at the top of the building. It is crowded and impossible to swim. Not sure kids will have fun in there, either. We didn't even bring kids to the pool while we stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Yi-Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your stay and great review of the Hokulani Waikiki. We are happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Mahalo nui loa,

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    196
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
315
230
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was immaculate. I loved it. Centrally located, all the bells and whistles you could possibly want in a room. My kids loved it as well. The pool wasn't very big but was big enough for my 9 and 10 year old to really enjoy themselves. I wish we had more time. The staff there was first class and seemed to really enjoy what they do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank 902dariusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is in east of waikiki. So we can walk to waikiki beach a few minutes. And we can go shopping center easily.There are Royal shopping center and DFS in front of this hotel. And this area is safe location, so we can go restaurant or bar until mid-night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank Tomonori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very Clean and up to date rooms. My teenagers loved it! Family friendly. Close to restaurants and shopping. If you don't mind a little walk to the beach, this is for you.If you want beach side hotel try the other Hilton Waikiki Village Awesome hotel too! I love HGVC!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RaqRNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and most kind review of the Hokulani Waikiki. We were very happy to see your remarks and Trip Advisor and do hope that you will stay with us again.

Mahalo nui loa,

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In downtown Waikiki so shopping was easy within walking distance. -Close to good food and entertainment. -Small pool on top floor (called a plunge pool) that is only 3 ft deep. -$35 a day for valet parking. Valet services were great though as it is unlimited in/out and the guys had our car ready within 3 minutes every time. -Rooms do not have full kitchens an not much room for storage of foods that you bring in. -100% aimed at Asian customers but done with class. -Property was great but is intended for more adults than kids. -Overall, as usual, an excellent property with A+ services from all staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for staying with at the Hokulani Waikiki. We truly appreciate your kind review of our property and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Mahalo nui loa,

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This property is clean, fresh and safe. Everyone is friendly and helpful no matter what your needs are. You are right in the middle of shopping and restaurants, and a quick walk to the beach. The suites are so nice you may never want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your very kind review of the Hokulani Waikiki. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hokulani Waikiki.

Mahalo nui loa,

William Bethel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the last leg of our honeymoon. Having stayed in Hilton Waikiki beach for the first four days, the diference between the two hotels is pretty obvious the Hokulani is based on the timeshare system where emphasis is not based in my opinion on personal service to customers as i suppose you are left to your own devices. We weren't even acknowledged as honeymoon couple, even though i had given a hint on our reservation. All in all a good hotel, though won't be staying here in the future as the resort facility is a bit inadequate.
Pros:
*Near shopping
*Beach approximately 3minutes walk : If you know your bearing
*Fully kitted kitchen, free movie rental, self service washing and drying facilities
*Bathroom and toilet facility very modern

Cons:
*Service not personal enough when compared to Doubletree or conventional hilton hotels
*Can be quite noisy due to location of hotel
*Check in / Check out time
*Swimming pool laughable size
*Hotel though right in the middle of Ala moana - is very difficult to locate as the signage is almost non existent.

Room Tip: Request higher floors to eliminate noise from pedestrian and vehicular taffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank franciso738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 2181 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2318
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ease into an unforgettable Hawaii vacation at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations. This all-suite hotel boasts a fabulous location, just steps from the famous Waikiki Beach, in the heart of Waikiki's shopping and entertainment area. Enjoy the freedom to live at your own pace in one of the 143 spacious one-bedroom suites at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen and relax in your living and dining space, or look out on the city from your Juliet-style lanais. Lounge in the Hawaii sunshine, cool off with a refreshing dip in the rooftop plunge pool, or re-energize with a workout at the modern fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing