We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel in Waikiki for 5 nights in May. The rooms were clean and functional, although the decor was a little dated. We had a room on a high floor at the back of the hotel facing the mountains and because we were high enough up we had good views of this (lower rooms at the back would face another apartment/hotel block). We also had an end room so if we peaked over the small balcony we had an ocean view through the skyscrapers! My husband was pleased with this! The hotel is is in a great location only 1 block from the main shopping street and the beach. No breakfast was included but we ate in the hotel restaurant every morning and it was fine. You could easily go out to breakfast since there were loads of places not far way. We used the hotel for convenience. There was an ABC store on every street corner (they sold everything from food & drink to gifts and clothes). Really handy. There were loads of restaurants and shops around, with a great variety of food available. There was a free Hawaiian show on the beach at 6.30pm which was popular. We booked 2 trips through the desk at the hotel (Expedia). One to the Polynesian Cultural Centre with an island tour beforehand - this was a good trip, worth doing. The other trip was to Pearl Harbour and we only booked the coach to take us there and back (since it was flexible for coming back) and the entrance for the Missouri ship (self guided tour). We got there ok and enjoyed wandering around the ship, however the coach didn't turn up for our return journey - was supposed to be hourly - and we ended up waiting 2 hours on it (some other people also waiting had telephoned them and were told "its on its way" - this went on for 2 hours. So what started as a 1/2 day trip so that we could spend the afternoon on the beach, turned into an all day trip with a wasted afternoon. When you've only got 4 full days on the island, that is a big disappointment. We tried to complain to the Expedia desk upon our return and they couldn't care less. Wouldn't recommend them. We got the local bus to Diamond Head but be aware that they're not too frequent (seem to be hourly) but there's no timetable at the bus stops so find out before you go. The sea temperature was really warm, just wish we had more time to spend in it. There was a lot of traffic in Waikiki and the road to the airport had 4 lanes full of cars so it took some time to get to/fro. All in all it was a good trip there.

Room Tip: High floors provide better views if at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali123456Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is in a good central location, one block from the main road with many shops and restaurants. There was parking underneath the hotel forUS$20 / day.
Our room was clean but dated, it had a US king (UK super king bed) that had a tv. The bathroom was clean and large.
Breakfast was not included.
There was only free wifi in the lobby, for an additional US$10 / day you could purchase wifi in the room.
We would stay here again as the hotel is in a good location to explore the local area and also the rest of the island.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel has a good position, near Waikiki beach. We've been there after being in Aina Nalu (Lahaina, Maui) and, compared to that one, the room seemed to our eyes out-of-date and very small.
The bathroom has no privacy. Keep in mind if you are not travelling with your husband.
parking is 22 usd per day.
The staff, including the guy at the concierge, the housekeeper and the girl at the reception was great: always nice to us and smiling.
Everyone except for a man we met at the front desk on our last night. The WI-FI was not working and i ask to him a suggestion on how to connect for having our fligh check-in done. Not jocking: he was like not paying attention to me as i wasn't there, He gave any answer but "is not working". So rude and i still can't get the point!!
I know his name, but don't want to make it public.
At the end on the day, i think i would search for another place to be the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank russolalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A hotel that does not deserve the high rating from Trip Advisor mainly due to being way overdue for a total makeover. We had an oceanview room for 4 nights on the 17th floor which was pretty dated and not very clean. The carpet and furnishings are not up to scratch just like in the large entry foyer/ reception area. The small shower over a child size bath with curtain feels closed in and worse than the cruise ship we got off from. Free WiFi is only available in the foyer which is inconvenient at night when you want to relax in the privacy and comfort of your room with a drink while on line. In room our phone not working caused us to miss booking an excursion. When we reported it ,were told that local calls should be made from pay phone in foyer. WHAT ??
Double glazing would be good to stop the noise from traffic and building work in the early morning hours when you want to sleep in.
On the positive, it is a short stroll to the beach, lots of eateries and public transport, with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an Ocean View Room above the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speaktruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I made my cruise and precruise reservations with WMPH and this was one of the 3 hotels they offered me. I chose this one because it is the farthest away from the area of upscale hotels closer to Honolulu and shopping at high end stores. We missed our first night because of United airlines so we only got to spend 2 nights.

We had the balcony over looking a small stretch of beach and we could see Diamond Head in the other direction. The room was small but just fine. I wish they had more mirrors. There is only one mirror in the bathroom,and none in the main room.

All the employees are friendly and helpful. The bell captain was extremely helpful on the day we checked out but did not leave for the ship until 2 PM.

This is a Korean owned and run hotel and the breakfast buffet (included in our package) was great. They had both American and Korean type food. I loved having a salad and beef and radish soup (mostly a tasty broth) for breakfast.

Room Tip: I asked for a higher floor ocean view balcony room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omabluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter at this Hotel after visiting the Big Island. We had already stayed here 18 months ago and really loved it. Still the same staff I remembered before, always friendly & helpful. We had a partial ocean view room on the 17th floor with really lovely views. The beach is only one block and takes about 2 minutes to get there. The pool is a good size & clean. It's well priced and close to shops, restaurants & the bus stop. So once again, thank you W.R.H. for a lovely stay & we look forward to seeing you next year at our home away from home.

Room Tip: ask for a partial ocean view room, it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights before our Hawaiian cruise. The hotel was very well located on the major shopping strip of exclusive stores, restaurants, the international centre and other attractions such as the Honolulu aquarium and picturesque parks. Waikiki Beach was just across the street, so we had a most wonderful time walking along the beach. The hotel had a delicious buffet breakfast as well. The room was very quiet, spacious and clean, with two very comfortable beds. All in all, a perfect hotel experience with very courteous, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maganini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
637 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,565 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £122 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing