We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super value !”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Other trip-advisors are correct; this is a great value in Honolulu. Not a 5-star hotel, but for around$165 per nite (plus parking/tax) it was a real bargain. The entrance is "open" (as are most Honolulu hotels), rooms clean and very comfortable, a mediocre breakfast restaurant (which is typical) and a Korean BBQ resturant which I would highly recommend (not gourmet food, but we had lots of fun cooking our own food at our table; but this option is only offered for evening dining). Is in a great location; 1-block from Waikiki Beach,, a 2-3 block walk to Hy's Steakhouse (a must!), and shopping all around. The hotel also has a small pool, spa/massage, and a couple of small shops. Would most definately stay here again on next trip to Honolulu. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    672
    265
    81
    28
See reviews for
540
585
110
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gray, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My family & friends group stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel before and after our Hawaiian cruise. The first night my husband and I were on the 9th floor and I could hear music and people yelling until around midnight, but after that it was fairly quiet. We could see a small strip of beach from our balcony. After the cruise our room was on the 14th floor and it was much quieter. The balcony was on the city side but we could see the mountains in the distance.

We didn't have a car so I'm glad the hotel was within walking distance of food and shopping. The same short walk (about a block or two) gets you to the beach.

The staff was friendly and check-in was swift. We left our bags with the bell captain until we left for the ship and the airport, which was convenient. Many thanks to him and his staff.

Our room was clean, comfortable, and affordable; great for our pre- and post-cruise needs. I would stay at this hotel again for that purpose. Overall it was a positive experience and I'm glad we chose the Waikiki Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors offer better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TNtravelerGray_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and I must say it was a pleasure. Room service was very accommodating, we got upgraded for free to a higher level room upon arrival (reason I do not recall), and our luggage was stored for several hours upon signing out, before our flight. The only drawback was expensive (and lacking) parking space. Overall though, if you factor parking into your costs and get lucky with parking, this hotel is fantastic and well worth the price. You even get to see some of the ocean from your balcony if you're on a high enough floor!

Room Tip: At above 9th floor you should be able to see the ocean if your room is facing it. Below that, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ainxty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I'm a first timer to Oahu/Waikiki and a first timer to Hawaii in general. This place is located in a great location. It's tucked away from the busy traffic on the main street, very close to the beach (one street up) and central to shops and food. The rooms are clean, and semi modern. It's a great value if you're looking for a clean, quiet, and uncrowded stay in Waikiki. I didn't rent a car in Waikiki as the "TheBus" transportation/tours take me everywhere I need to go, so I can't speak on parking here. But from the looks of it, there is no place to park without paying a hefty fee!

My only complaint is the internet. To have it in the room it will cost approx $10 extra/night. I'm too cheap, so I just opt to take my laptop down to the lobby and internet around each night. Other than that, I love this place and I would recommend. If I come to Waikiki again, I'll make my reservation here!

Room Tip: There are no beach views, but the city views are just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maddindividual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a corner room on a high floor (15th) on the beach side of the hotel with a lovely view of the beach to the front. The room itself was quite large and spotlessly clean, in Hawaiian style which I guess could be considered dated. The bed was incredibly comfortable and there was a basic couch. The kitchenette was really handy - mini fridge, plates and cutlery for two, coffee making equipment, but no toaster. The bathroom was nice but we had to get instructions from reception to make the shower work (pull down on the bath tap nozzle even though it looks fixed). The free wi-fi in the foyer only worked intermittently. The street noise from garbage trucks and tourist coaches very early in the mornings (from 5am) got a bit much some days, but then you don't want to miss early morning on Waikiki.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great for having a bit more space and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grhingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great location, only one half block from Kuhio Beach where there are free shows most nights. Rooms could use refreshing but comfortable and clean. Staff Is friendly and helpful except for the concierge (male) who seemed more interested in selling timeshares. Big drawback though is the noise from the constant slamming of the steel room doors.This went on all day and night with no consideration for the fact that people were sleeping. Stayed five days and was unable to sleep for two full nights due to noise. Really unfortunate as all other aspects of hotel are great.
Be sure to book the breakfast package as the buffet is extensive and can easily make lunch unnecessary.
TIP: Go across street to Pacific Beach hotel to see their two story aquarium!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blnavarremary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. Our room had a great beach outlook, even though it is one block back from the beach. The room was clean and spacious. Wifi was fast and free in the foyer, but had to pay in the room. A non smoking property which is definitely a bonus. Breakfast was average, only ate there once. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 1415, great views from the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,434 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#48 of 84 in Honolulu
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing