We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, near beach and eateries but older decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, near beach and eateries but older decor”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We rented this hotel just for the night , we had a standard room with double beds. Room furnishings were older, But it was a comfortable room more on the smaller side. Room had most amenities, except microwave. We had city view on 18th floor, so our view was just view of other
Hotels, no oceanview, or scenery from our room which was 1810. Booked our hotel through Expedia.com, so had option to pay on arrival, without any fee being billed up front, so that was a cool option. This hotel is directly across Pacific Beach hotel which offers great seafood and other types of buffet at their world famous Oceanariums Restaurant.They also had a sushi bar and lounge in the lobby which we didn't get a chance to try. Located just about a block from Waikiki Beach, and nearby to many other restaurants. The Waikiki Zoo is a few blocks away as well. Great location. They offer self parking for $22 a day, with drive in and out options throughout the
Day. A the time we stayed payed Kamaaina rate and just room and tax for our one night stay was $181 not including parking, which was charged upon checkout. Room was quiet and near elevator.

Room Tip: Oceanview recommended, if offered as city view is just looking at other buildings. Higher floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    645
    245
    78
    26
See reviews for
505
564
103
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel is located a block from Waikiki beach. It was clean and well maintained. We chose it mainly because of the value and nearness to one of the tour bus pickup spots. We were very satisfied on both those counts. Staff was extremely courteous and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was a great hotel in a great location. Very close to the beach, shopping , and great restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy walk to international market place. Realy enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdajlms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a family. We had two rooms on the 18th floor. The hotel is a little old but the location more than makes up for it!! Our balcony had gorgeous rooms of the beach and the sunset each afternoon was incredible.

The hotel is only half a block from the beach. It is in front of the main beach, halfway between diamond head and the international markets.

The staff were very friendly and the rooms were always very clean, plus the beds are very comfy. There is free wifi in the lobby and available in room at a cost.

The included morning buffett had a selection of hot and cold options plus salad and fruit. The only negative was it did not change for the 7 days.

There is no hotel bar but a convenience store in the lobby.

Would highly recommend to everyone and very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel for our 3 night visit to Oahu - rooms where small but it's honolulu everything is tight. We had parking during our stay for an additional $22/ night. This worked out well for us as we believed we needed a car to travel around the island, this allowed us to come and go as we please and never worried about parking in this very populated area with almost no place to park. Stayed on the 16th floor - had a nice view of city, diamond head and some ocean view, the room was close to the elevator and thought it would be a problem but it wasn't nor did we hear and street level noise some have mentioned. Beds where comfortable, bathroom clean, one block from the beach - very easy walking to many of the area sites. Felt safe at all times, this was never an issue for us - there was a safe in the room for some valuables. Front desk was helpful, pool was clean, refreshing and fun at night, with pool and beach towels easily available. We spent most of our time our and about exploring so this was a perfect pick for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygilmore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The location is great and the rooms are comfortable and modern. Would definitely here again.

The breakfast downstairs was average but did the trick when rushing out in the mornings.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I Stayed at this hotel with a friend in a City View Room. Our room was pretty much opposite the lifts. I cringed at the time remembering other reviews about the lift noise. However it did not disturb us. Yes you will hear street noise but I don't think it matters what floor you stay on. We stayed on floor 14 and could still hear it. But this shouldn't be an issue as you don't come to Waikiki to sleep all day :).

Okay the Room. Its basic and average. It does have an old feel to it and despite the hotel apparently having undergone a renovation the only new thing in the room was the TV. An annoying thing was that there was only one mirror in the bathroom, difficult when your trying to get ready at the same time. However the room was clean and suited us as we weren't looking for anything fancy.

The pool was small so I didn't even bother to use it.

The location was great. Its a few minutes walk to Kuhio beach. Its situated not far from Kalakaua Ave & Kuhio Ave where the stores/dinning options and nightlife are.

The is free WiFi in the lobby which is actually an open air Lobby which I actually loved. It felt welcoming.

I would definitely stay here again for the location and price

Room Tip: Free WiFi in Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Izza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,323 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,232 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,733 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing