We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT GO!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Myself, my mother and my wheelchair bound grandmother have just returned from the waikiki resort and I have to say we were very disappointed with our stay. There was no entertainment on an evening and the only decent meal was breakfast but the rest was sushi and if you don't like sushi DO NOT GO TO HAWAII spent most of the time in mcdonalds! Which I did not fly 10,000 miles to eat! My grandmother is unable to walk and wheelchair abound yet they put her on the 5th floor where if there was a fire we had to use the stairs as safety says we can't use the lifts we stayed in a room with 3 beds in and there was no room to manover her wheelchair around. The shower chair we asked for was very dangerous and moved down the slope into the move in shower. The hotel did not do room service which was a pain for the day we got there and we had to go to mcdonalds after over 20 hours traveling. We booked trips out and each time said that we had a disabled bus for her to get on and of with ease. This was not true. We had to have a random person and the driver lift her onto and off the bus. The staff seemed friendly of what we saw of them. On Friday me and my mother were told to leave the pool area and go to the beach as they had a party and the area was closed. No body came to help with our bags on the day we checked out. Had to take 3 large suit cases and my elderly wheelchair bound grandmother ourselves. We were not unkind to anyone. Gave tips despite the lousy greeting and the way we were treated I know it was a Korean ran hotel but they just seemed to get the best treatment. We met a couple that said the same about Koreans just barging people out of the way just generally being rude. Which I know was not the hotels fault but this is just what to expect if anyone goes there! I would never ever go there again!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank dolallyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I can appreciate the difficulty in traveling in a wheelchair, and would like to express our apologies for the challenges you and your family encountered on your recent visit to Waikiki. Please rest assured that we value all guest feedback and do take each seriously, particular those which convey dissatisfaction, with the goal of insuring our standards and guest expectations are in alignment. We'd love to have you return in hopes that we may be able to prove that your recent hotel experience represented the exception rather than the norm. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in November and could not fault it. One block from the beach and the shops and restaurants and all the transport services.
We had a partial sea view room which was clean and comfortable the staff were also very helpful with anything we asked them. The hotel do not charge the resort fee which can be up to 30 dollars per night per room which most of the other hotels charge in Waikiki.

We visited some of the other hotels which are located on the beach and these will cost you nearly double what the Waikiki resort will cost you.

We had breakfast a couple of times at the hotel this was a good buffet breakfast and they give you a 20% discount when staying at the hotel.

Would stay here again when in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up above floor 14 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel met or exceeded our expectations. Room was on 15th floor with view of waikiki. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. A nice bang for our buck and a very short walk (one block) to the beach...can't beat it for the price. Stay if possible 15th floor or higher...can get noisy on the strip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonomo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very nice room and friendly, helpful employees. The view wasn't very much, but the breakfast buffet that came with the package was great. It is very well situated close to the beach, restaurants and transport.

Room Tip: Although not on the beach, it was very handy to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed on the 18th floor in a 1 bedroom apartment and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice our room was.
The cleaners did a wonderful job everyday and the reception staff were very nice and approachable.
Before we left I read not so good reviews about this hotel but we felt it was good value for money and in a great location as well.

Room Tip: The 18th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights right after a short stay in Vegas. So was quite nice going from a humongous hotel to a little one!

As mentioned in previous reviews, the location of hotel is superb. Literally seconds away from the beach and close to many shops, restaurants and a bus stop is right around the corner.

We arrived just after 2pm so had to wait till 3pm to check in. The lady who checked us in was very nice, I think her name was Nancy?? Lobby was very nice and open - very welcoming. Wi-Fi worked great. There was a handy little shop with groceries and souvenirs, but we got shouted at by shop assistant for walking in with drinks - so didnt go back in after that!

Room and balcony was a decent size. Two double beds and a good sized television with lots of stations. Bathroom was quite small with a low bath. Could not work out how to use shower. Had to go down to reception where the staff member whipped out a dummy tap and showed us how to use.
Saw that dummy tap on quite a few occasions when other guests were asking how to use it, so I don't know why they haven't included instructions in the rooms.

Rooms also featured a good sized safe (would fit a laptop easily, both our ipads got in there) and a fridge.

On one day housekeeping did not make our room up. After two visits to reception it was finally done that evening.
They tried to blame the "do not disturb" sign but we had removed this from our door after 10:00am
But again reception staff were very helpful and apologetic and got it all resolved for us.

Hope to return to Honolulu at some point and would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have enjoyed our pre cruise stopover at this hotel. We arrived about 10.30am to find our room ready and we appreciated getting in early. It is very well situated close to the beach, restaurants and transport. The staff is courteous and our room 1217 clean and large with partial views. From our balcony we enjoyed watching the surfers day and night. It has an iron and ironing board. Coffee and toiletries were supplied but no milk or creamer. The laundry rates were cheap. The pool could do with a bit more greenery but was clean and never crowded. Of course we would have liked the free wifi in our room but it worked well in the foyer. Like many hotels there were no overhead lights and for two queen size beds only one table lamp. For couples who both like to read in bed this is not satisfactory and probably the only negative comment I can make.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolynTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,626 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £132 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing