We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$851
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$284
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$631
US$459
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$562
US$482
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$789
US$758
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$413
US$378
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$348
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$274
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,724)
Filter reviews
1,724 results
Traveller rating
578
741
285
88
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
741
285
88
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskorean restaurantgreat locationkorean airlinesbreakfast buffetwould stay here againbell deskfront desk staffshort walk to the beachshops and restaurantsbeach towelsbeds were comfortableocean viewper daymini fridgestreet noisediamond headblock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,082 - 1,087 of 1,724 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Upon arrival we were "greeted" by the most rude, unwelcoming, older blonde woman at the front desk, and to add to that less than ideal first impression, the hallway leading to our room reaked of chlorine. However, as we came to find that our room smelled like sewer, the chlorine didn't seem all that bad. Adding to this, the room/decor was very, very run-down and dirty. "Completed an $11-milion dollar renovation in 2008 … " - WHAT!? One may suspect that someone took all that money and fled the premises. We found long black hairs all over the bathroom, and lamp shades and bed covers looked severely tobacco stained, which was pretty nasty. We contacted someone at the front desk and asked for a new room, but seeing as they were all booked, we were told that they couldn't help us. They then provided us with free WI-FI and chocolate. Sweet thought, but that just doesn't help one bit.

I am completely puzzled by the positive reviews below, as the only positive thing i can think of is the location, which is pretty great.

Room Tip: If you want a decent, clean hotel, please, book something else. There are so many hotels in Waikiki, and I can only imagine that the majority of them are far superior.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soheresthething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We're disturbed to read of your recent experience with us and wanted to express our sincerest regret. Please rest assured that your experience is in no way reflective of the standards to which this hotel aspires to and will use it to better ourselves. While it appears you stayed with us back in August, we want you and our future guests to know that we've since upgraded our bed and terry furnishings and plan to incorporate further room upgrades within this year knowing full well that we're approaching 7 years since the hotel's last room renovation. We thank you for staying with us and hope you give us another opportunity in the not-so-distant future in hopes of redeeming your faith in our product and services. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Waikiki Resort for a week during July 2012. The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to help me. The room was clean and was of excellent standard. The buffet breakfast was also good. Enjoyed my time thoroughly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for making us your place of stay every time you visit Honolulu. Should you return once again this year, you'll be pleased to know that we've since made some upgrades in our guest rooms (bed and terry furnishings), lobby (November), and pool deck and plan further enhancements over the coming year. Please visit us again. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Was there November 9th & 10th. One block from the beach, several eating places with in walking distance. Room was clean and in good repair. Elevators were really fast to respond. Really great buffet across the street. Really good breakfast included in the package. Would stay there again. Staff was really good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matkin_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Aloha from Hawaii. We're delighted you've taken the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Honolulu and certainly gratified that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back again when your travels call for a return trip to beautiful Waikiki. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Myself, my mother and my wheelchair bound grandmother have just returned from the waikiki resort and I have to say we were very disappointed with our stay. There was no entertainment on an evening and the only decent meal was breakfast but the rest was sushi and if you don't like sushi DO NOT GO TO HAWAII spent most of the time in mcdonalds! Which I did not fly 10,000 miles to eat! My grandmother is unable to walk and wheelchair abound yet they put her on the 5th floor where if there was a fire we had to use the stairs as safety says we can't use the lifts we stayed in a room with 3 beds in and there was no room to manover her wheelchair around. The shower chair we asked for was very dangerous and moved down the slope into the move in shower. The hotel did not do room service which was a pain for the day we got there and we had to go to mcdonalds after over 20 hours traveling. We booked trips out and each time said that we had a disabled bus for her to get on and of with ease. This was not true. We had to have a random person and the driver lift her onto and off the bus. The staff seemed friendly of what we saw of them. On Friday me and my mother were told to leave the pool area and go to the beach as they had a party and the area was closed. No body came to help with our bags on the day we checked out. Had to take 3 large suit cases and my elderly wheelchair bound grandmother ourselves. We were not unkind to anyone. Gave tips despite the lousy greeting and the way we were treated I know it was a Korean ran hotel but they just seemed to get the best treatment. We met a couple that said the same about Koreans just barging people out of the way just generally being rude. Which I know was not the hotels fault but this is just what to expect if anyone goes there! I would never ever go there again!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank dolallyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I can appreciate the difficulty in traveling in a wheelchair, and would like to express our apologies for the challenges you and your family encountered on your recent visit to Waikiki. Please rest assured that we value all guest feedback and do take each seriously, particular those which convey dissatisfaction, with the goal of insuring our standards and guest expectations are in alignment. We'd love to have you return in hopes that we may be able to prove that your recent hotel experience represented the exception rather than the norm. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in November and could not fault it. One block from the beach and the shops and restaurants and all the transport services.
We had a partial sea view room which was clean and comfortable the staff were also very helpful with anything we asked them. The hotel do not charge the resort fee which can be up to 30 dollars per night per room which most of the other hotels charge in Waikiki.

We visited some of the other hotels which are located on the beach and these will cost you nearly double what the Waikiki resort will cost you.

We had breakfast a couple of times at the hotel this was a good buffet breakfast and they give you a 20% discount when staying at the hotel.

Would stay here again when in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up above floor 14 if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews