We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tear it down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
193 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Tear it down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a last minute need for a hotel in Honolulu and used the Hotel Tonight app to pick this place for us. Man, what an awful place. The front desk clerk offered us a room but required that we look at it first because "the elevator made noise". He required that we leave a credit card with him before releasing the key. He looked stoned or high on something. We looked at the room. It wasn't just noisy. It sounded as thought it was directly in the elevator motor room. We traded it for a smaller but quieter room that appears to have been last updated in the 1970s. We should have walked out but after a long flight from Chicago we accepted our fate. Stay away from this place. The bad reviews are accurate.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We apologize for having failed to meet your expectations and those of ours. While your comments depict an experience which is not synonymous to experiences shared by the majority of our patrons, we do appreciate them and want you to know that we do take them seriously. We certainly hope the rest of your stay in beautiful Waikiki was most enjoyable. Again mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    632
    242
    76
    26
See reviews for
493
555
101
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were booked for 3 days at the Waikiki Resort Hotel but were sadly disappointed to see that the hotel is very tired looking and the room didn't look like the one advertised. Upon arrival after a very long 11 hour flight from Sydney we had to wait for the Korean air hostesses to be served. In other hotels flight staff are served separately so clients can check in. The room was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable and the linen was good, although I really don't understand why showers are in bathtubs these days...not good for tall westerners.... we didn't eat in the hotel so can make no comment on room service or the small restaurant. This was partially to the fact that this hotel caters mainly to Korean tourists and flight attendants. The good point was that it was a good location to the beach and shopping and restaurants. Would we stay there again? Unfortunately, no.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a view with the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We value guest feedback and appreciated having read your review. While we regret having fallen short of your expectations, please rest assured that your reference to "tired old hotel," only further fuels internal discussion on future product upgrades. Because this hotel has an on-site Korean restaurant and serves the lodging needs of Korean Air's crew members, there seems to be the perception that we cater solely to Koreans which is misguided. Rest assured visitors to this hotel come from all parts of this globe that we believe is no different from the mix of visitors which our Waikiki hotel neighbors serve. Again, a humble thank you for your comments and for allowing us to serve you on your recent visit to beautiful Hawaii. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Upon arrival we were "greeted" by the most rude, unwelcoming, older blonde woman at the front desk, and to add to that less than ideal first impression, the hallway leading to our room reaked of chlorine. However, as we came to find that our room smelled like sewer, the chlorine didn't seem all that bad. Adding to this, the room/decor was very, very run-down and dirty. "Completed an $11-milion dollar renovation in 2008 … " - WHAT!? One may suspect that someone took all that money and fled the premises. We found long black hairs all over the bathroom, and lamp shades and bed covers looked severely tobacco stained, which was pretty nasty. We contacted someone at the front desk and asked for a new room, but seeing as they were all booked, we were told that they couldn't help us. They then provided us with free WI-FI and chocolate. Sweet thought, but that just doesn't help one bit.

I am completely puzzled by the positive reviews below, as the only positive thing i can think of is the location, which is pretty great.

Room Tip: If you want a decent, clean hotel, please, book something else. There are so many hotels in Waikiki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soheresthething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We're disturbed to read of your recent experience with us and wanted to express our sincerest regret. Please rest assured that your experience is in no way reflective of the standards to which this hotel aspires to and will use it to better ourselves. While it appears you stayed with us back in August, we want you and our future guests to know that we've since upgraded our bed and terry furnishings and plan to incorporate further room upgrades within this year knowing full well that we're approaching 7 years since the hotel's last room renovation. We thank you for staying with us and hope you give us another opportunity in the not-so-distant future in hopes of redeeming your faith in our product and services. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Waikiki Resort for a week during July 2012. The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to help me. The room was clean and was of excellent standard. The buffet breakfast was also good. Enjoyed my time thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for making us your place of stay every time you visit Honolulu. Should you return once again this year, you'll be pleased to know that we've since made some upgrades in our guest rooms (bed and terry furnishings), lobby (November), and pool deck and plan further enhancements over the coming year. Please visit us again. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Was there November 9th & 10th. One block from the beach, several eating places with in walking distance. Room was clean and in good repair. Elevators were really fast to respond. Really great buffet across the street. Really good breakfast included in the package. Would stay there again. Staff was really good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matkin_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Aloha from Hawaii. We're delighted you've taken the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Honolulu and certainly gratified that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back again when your travels call for a return trip to beautiful Waikiki. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Myself, my mother and my wheelchair bound grandmother have just returned from the waikiki resort and I have to say we were very disappointed with our stay. There was no entertainment on an evening and the only decent meal was breakfast but the rest was sushi and if you don't like sushi DO NOT GO TO HAWAII spent most of the time in mcdonalds! Which I did not fly 10,000 miles to eat! My grandmother is unable to walk and wheelchair abound yet they put her on the 5th floor where if there was a fire we had to use the stairs as safety says we can't use the lifts we stayed in a room with 3 beds in and there was no room to manover her wheelchair around. The shower chair we asked for was very dangerous and moved down the slope into the move in shower. The hotel did not do room service which was a pain for the day we got there and we had to go to mcdonalds after over 20 hours traveling. We booked trips out and each time said that we had a disabled bus for her to get on and of with ease. This was not true. We had to have a random person and the driver lift her onto and off the bus. The staff seemed friendly of what we saw of them. On Friday me and my mother were told to leave the pool area and go to the beach as they had a party and the area was closed. No body came to help with our bags on the day we checked out. Had to take 3 large suit cases and my elderly wheelchair bound grandmother ourselves. We were not unkind to anyone. Gave tips despite the lousy greeting and the way we were treated I know it was a Korean ran hotel but they just seemed to get the best treatment. We met a couple that said the same about Koreans just barging people out of the way just generally being rude. Which I know was not the hotels fault but this is just what to expect if anyone goes there! I would never ever go there again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dolallyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I can appreciate the difficulty in traveling in a wheelchair, and would like to express our apologies for the challenges you and your family encountered on your recent visit to Waikiki. Please rest assured that we value all guest feedback and do take each seriously, particular those which convey dissatisfaction, with the goal of insuring our standards and guest expectations are in alignment. We'd love to have you return in hopes that we may be able to prove that your recent hotel experience represented the exception rather than the norm. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in November and could not fault it. One block from the beach and the shops and restaurants and all the transport services.
We had a partial sea view room which was clean and comfortable the staff were also very helpful with anything we asked them. The hotel do not charge the resort fee which can be up to 30 dollars per night per room which most of the other hotels charge in Waikiki.

We visited some of the other hotels which are located on the beach and these will cost you nearly double what the Waikiki resort will cost you.

We had breakfast a couple of times at the hotel this was a good buffet breakfast and they give you a 20% discount when staying at the hotel.

Would stay here again when in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up above floor 14 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Property: Waikiki Resort Hotel
Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing