We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top service great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. They were very patient with our many questions. Location of the hotel is a block from the beach, walking distance to restaurants,shops. Accommodation was clean and cleaning staff were very friendly also. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Guest feedback is the ultimate barometer for evaluating our product and services and we appreciate them, whether good or bad. More gratifying is when they tell others about their favorable visit to Waikiki Resort Hotel. Thank you for the posting and for allowing us to pamper and serve you while visiting beautiful Oahu. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Doubletree hotel. Booked the hotel at a really GREAT price...better than the team group rate. We stayed here mid December 2013, when my daughter's basketball team was invited to play in the Iolani basketball tournament. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was very convenient to 2 beaches, lots of shopping and restaurants. We would stay here again. Although we did not enjoy paying the $22 a day parking fee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Mahalo for the favorable review of Waikiki Resort Hotel. We'll take the assumption that you stayed with us after having stayed at the Doubletree Waikiki. We're gratified that you felt good about your choice of stay which you credited to our convenient location and friendly service. Rest assured your unfavorable mention of the parking rate is one which we will be giving consideration to. Hopefully it doesn't stop you from choosing to stay with us again in the not-so-distant future. Again, mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed at the Waikiki Resort recently, and I had a spectacular time!~

The room was very spacious and comfortable. It had bouncy, comfortable beds and pillows and sturdy tables. Also, in the bathroom there was a 50 inch flat screen TV. There were relaxing massagers and automatic curtains!!! One push of a button, and the drapes go up. Handy bed lights attached to your bed, so you can see things in bed at night.

Kind staff members! The bellboy was very obedient (in a good way). The receptionist was very patient, and she always listened to your requirements. Price was not expensive, not too cheap, but in the middle.

The resort invites you to a traditional luau, and immersed me into Hawaiian tradition. A wonderful, and interesting show of fire eating, and people playing with fire was presented. Waiters served scrumptious roasted pork, and bbq kebabs! (Best Hawaiian meal ever!) Also, for dessert we had lovely cooked pineapple and apples marinated in some sweet sauce.

I loved the fun swimming pool, and had a decorative floor! In addition to that, tanning chairs were placed near the edge of the pool, and towels were in a cabinet next to the chairs, for those who forgot their towels. Very convenient!

The resort had a mouth watering scent to it… The scent of fresh muffins in the oven… Heavenly interior for the rooms. I definitely recommend this resort to others!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for making us your place of stay on your "best vacation ever." We're so pleased you had a "spectacular" time and appreciated your favorable commentary regarding your experience. Please come stay with us again in the not-so-distant future should you and your family come back to beautiful Hawaii. Again mahalo. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After reading several of the reviews I was unsure if I had booked the best accomodation for my niece and myself. We arrived early and got our room allocated straight away at no extra cost.
Location was excellent and hotel staff where very helpful.
I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.
Keep up the great work !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We're certainly delighted that your stay with us represented "great value," and want to thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and for telling others about your positive experience. Should your travel plans include a return trip to Waikiki, we hope we have the pleasure of having you once again. Again, mahalo. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I love this hotel for it's location to the beach and my favorite beach. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Have stayed here several times over the years and would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EyeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for making us your choice of stay on your return trip to Waikiki. We're glad our location has great appeal to you and we look forward to serving you again in the not-so-distant future. Again mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is located at a very convinient place, just one blodk from the Waikiki beach. You can walk to DFS. The trolley stations are just near by. i liked my stay at Waikiki resort. However, the hotel was a little old. The bathroom was too small. The air vent was not clean enough. I found it was full of dirty dust. Other than that, every thing was good. Especilly, people were very kind. I thank the concierge for her kindness.
One thing I want to say is that I found a group of homeless sleeping in the margin of the hotel lobby in the night. Probably, it was hard for the hotel to treat them properly. But it was unpleasant to see the homeless even at the hotel in addition to the streets.
For Koreans, a Korean restaurant named MeBBQ is at 5 min walking distance. Me BBQ offers very good Korean food (to go) at a very good price (just above 10 dollars).
Considering the accommodatin price, I would rate this hotel very good. If I emphasize the quality only, I would rate this hotel average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungHwanKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your recent stay. Like many of our neighboring hotels, this hotel is over 40 years old. After 6 years however since the hotel's last room renovation, and on the heels of its recent lobby upgrade, we are excited about bringing further upgrades to the room and public areas in the coming year. Your mention of your "dirty" air vent and the homeless is much appreciated to which we are currently looking into. Again mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a last minute need for a hotel in Honolulu and used the Hotel Tonight app to pick this place for us. Man, what an awful place. The front desk clerk offered us a room but required that we look at it first because "the elevator made noise". He required that we leave a credit card with him before releasing the key. He looked stoned or high on something. We looked at the room. It wasn't just noisy. It sounded as thought it was directly in the elevator motor room. We traded it for a smaller but quieter room that appears to have been last updated in the 1970s. We should have walked out but after a long flight from Chicago we accepted our fate. Stay away from this place. The bad reviews are accurate.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We apologize for having failed to meet your expectations and those of ours. While your comments depict an experience which is not synonymous to experiences shared by the majority of our patrons, we do appreciate them and want you to know that we do take them seriously. We certainly hope the rest of your stay in beautiful Waikiki was most enjoyable. Again mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,894 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,484 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
611 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £130 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing