We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay at this hotel again !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Portsmouth Hampshire
16
Reviewed 15 March 2006

Non Smokers beware !!!

18 out of 19 floors are smoking rooms. If you really want to stay here without the smell of stale smoke then demand a room on floor 9. I say demand as we were told that even though we booked months in advance our request for a non smoking room was not guarenteed. If we knew that before we would of chose another hotel. As we had our 9 year old with us we were not prepared to put up with the smelly room so after argueing our case we eventually got a room on the 9th floor. I was shocked that they even considered putting a family with young children in a smoking room.
The location of the hotel itself is great for the beach and shops/places to eat but everything else was a bit of a let down. No kettle, hairdryer in the room or things that in most hotels come as standard. Small bath and I mean small. The cost of this hotel for 7 nights was more than we have ever paid in LA for 14 nights. We never stay in the big expensive hotels but we do expect some kind of standard where we do stay. Unfortunatley this hotel definatley was not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2006

Hi..
Just returned back from Hawaii, stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel....
Hotel itself is clean, staff friendly. Close to beach.
The room was small, clean BUT being I was on a Single Occupancy rate..................my room was located behind the elevators and if your a light sleeper you wont like these rooms. Was told that is all I get cuz of the discount rate and single occupancy. So just beware.

3  Thank suzyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2006

This hotel is one block from the beach, and in the center of Waikiki, the shopping/restaurant/hotel mecca of Oahu. At the time I booked, it was about $50 less a night then anything else I could find in Waikiki.
Based on it's price and reviews here, I didn't expect much but I'm happy with our experience.
Rooms were clean and just fine as a place to sleep and clean up for our next activity. It was great being able to walk to almost everything, including an evening hula show put on by the city every night on the beach right down from the hotel. The bus stop is a block away.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank just_around_the_bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2006

Just arived back from Hawaii after an 8 night honeymoon, we stayed at Waikiki Resort Hotel and was very dissapointed. Things that we could consider 'basic' ie. kettle, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer were not included! We were previously told that we would get an upgraded room as it was our honeymoon, only to be confronted by an extremly rude staff memember at the checked in desk (which is not want you want to remember as your first impresession of Hawaii after a 10 hour flight)who stated that is not their policy. We also had a run in with the security staff who threatened to tow our hire car away, (we accidently parked it in the wrong location) then were accussed that we were trying to steel the car and weren't staying in the hotel! We both LOVED Hawaii, and will be back.. but will NEVER stay here again, as all the other reviews mention, it is a great location, that's the only good thing I can say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2005

I stayed at this hotel because it close to the
beach. But that's all. The room average. The
bathroom is terrible. They don't even have the
bathtub. Since they have so many variety of hotel
near the waikiki beach, i don't think i would stay
at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank briantjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
214
Reviewed 23 October 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank marvin1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,755 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,751 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
776 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £121 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing