We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I recently spent 6 nights at this hotel. It is tucked a mere half block off of Kalakaua & with easy beach access down at the Kuhio Beach end of Waikiki. It's location just off the main drag means you don't hear the incessant noise from the cars, people etc. on Kalakaua.

I booked a room with two double beds via the hotel's web site for a very good rate ($84 plus taxes). My room was on the 7th floor with a partial ocean view & also a partial view of Diamond Head from my balcony. There was a large flat screen (never bothered to turn it on), a mini fridge, bureau, desk & two chairs. The hotel itself was very well sound-proofed on the interior & very quiet.

Read some comments about the small size of the rooms, but I found mine quite large for one and plenty spacious for a couple, as there was ample room between & around the beds, desk, etc. Compared to most European hotel rooms it felt palatial. Personally, I can't comprehend paying twice the price for a room with more empty floor space, especially in a location like Waikiki when you're out and about the majority of the time, but to each his own.

Housekeeping did a good job & there is free wifi in the lobby--which had plenty of comfortable seating. Free beach towels are provided. All staff that I interacted with were pleasant & helpful. I didn't eat at either restaurant, so I can't comment on them. The hotel does allow you to check-in & print boarding passes for flights free via a small computer room.

The location is perfect & I walked all over Waikiki. The hotel is half a block from a bus stop & I took The Bus from the airport to the hotel--very easy, and also used The Bus to visit Ala Moana, Chinatown, etc.

A few points that might matter to some: the shower & toilet were in a small room off of the closet/vanity/sink area which was spacious enough, but the WC/shower room was small and there was no fan. Also there is some morning noise from the trolleys & tour buses that motor down Koa. However, Honolulu is a large city, & a hotel smack in the middle of Waikiki is going to have some street noise. This hotel had much less than would be typical on a busier road as there was no late night pedestrian traffic & almost no automotive traffic.

Overall a very pleasant experience & I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aisling11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our room was ready by 2pm for checkin. Room was nice and was cleaned every day without fail and always fresh towels available .. Would have preferred a King or Queen to 2 double beds in room which we did ask for when booking but never got. The good thing about this hotel is that it is close to everything. Beach is only 100 metres away and all the main stretch is close as well. Pool was ok for a quick dip, nothing fancy. Didnt try any of the restaurants in the hotel. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRealisticSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Check in was a breeze. Very friendly staff, always smiling and asking if we needed anything. Location is perfect, close to beach, zoo, and aquarium, all in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

If you want a hotel, where you feel like you are at home, and treated accordingly, then go to the Waikiki Resort Hotel, when you are on the Island of Oahu.!! Everyone there, from the bell captain, front desk, waitress's, even the cleaning girls,most of all, the General Manager, treat you like you are there best friends, and not in a phony way, in a loving way! We hated to come back home, and want to stay longer then three days next trip! The location is ideal too, less then half a block to the ocean, and great shops and things to tour and see, like the Zoo, so many things, close by. Also, the two restaurants are so great. Start off your day, with a great buffet in the coffee shop, and then have lunch or dinner in the top of the class, Korean Resturant too. Both places have great prices too.
If you are able to go to this great find, then do ask to meet the General Manager, Glenn Vergara, and you will be so surprised at his total friendly ways, and knowledge of the Island.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvonneHilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Just back from a 9 days stay at Waikiki Resort Hotel. The location was great , just a short block from the main strip and beach. It's away from the crowd but close enough for an evening stroll on Kalakaua Ave ( The main strip ). Room was just the right size. Plenty of fast food or restaurants within walking distance. Pick ups for most of the tours is just across at the Pacific Beach Hotel. Should have free Wifi in room, not just at the lobby. Overall, very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenchee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel for eight nights from late July to early August. It's very clean, in a great location and the staff are friendly. The Korean restaurant on the second floor was great as well. In room internet access is not included, so that's extra, and it's via a cable connection, no WiFi. Free WiFi, however, is available at the lobby.

The only complaint I have is that the doors would slam loudly when they close. Maybe it was the combination of air pressure and people just being inconsiderate, but I think they need to install some sort of mechanism such that the doors would close gently and quietly. I kept waking up at 7/8 in the morning when people would start leaving their rooms. If you can live with that, then stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is about one-two blocks from the beach. Rate was affordable for a very nice hotel, not to be "beachfront"! You do need to be on the far right side of the building (facing the ocean) to have an ocean view. We asked for it and that's what we got!. Crisp, clean, fresh -- beautiful hotel. Great check-in/check-out staff; friendly and helpful. Awesome breakfast buffet was included in our rate. Didn't use the pool b/c we were visiting the island beaches so can't comment on that. You do have to pay for parking. If I were to return to Honolulu, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hokie84hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,616 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort Hotel

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3243 (Formerly Waikiki Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £133 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and a concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waikiki Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing