We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, terrible breakfast and average dinner”

Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: For the past 29 years, Island residents and tourists alike have flocked to the Shore Bird, making it one of Waikiki's most venerated institutions. It's the thrill of the grill that has captured guests imaginations and appetites for more than two decades. Shore Bird is not just a place to eat. Shore Bird is an experience where all guests have a lot of fun! Servers interact with our guests and not just serve them. The over all concept is "Aloha". Guests are responsible for for grilling their own dinner entrees but they don't have to be master barbecurers. An experienced grill hand and a large clock help make the process easy. Here's how it works: Steaks and seafood come to the table fresh on a platter with instructions. Guest are able to season and then prepare their entree exactly to their liking . All entrees include the salad bar, which showcases more than 25 items, such as fresh greens, garnishes, fruits, tako poke, rice, bread and pasta.
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The views here are amazing. That's where it ends. If you want to eat with a view and don't care about the quality of your food then this place will suit you.
The breakfast here is buffet. It's $15.95 for adults and children under 9 are $9.95. I ate breakfast at Dukes yesterday and gave it an average rating so I have to rate this one poor. The buffet is about half the size of Dukes (and dukes is small). There is a selection of fresh and tin fruit (yes tin fruit!). This is probably the best part of breakfast. They have a selection of pastries (most were stale or dry and tasteless). They reminded me of pastries that are purchased in a supermarket rather than a fresh bakery. They have bacon, scrambled egg, sausages, fried rice and a hash brown fry (it was grated potato and onion loosely fried). There was a small cooked leg ham and turkey as well. This was nice but would prefer this for lunch or dinner rather than breakfast.
The food was poor for what you pay. I'd definitely recommend Dukes over this place (and I wasn't impressed with Dukes). I've travelled to many countries and have seen and eaten many buffet breakfasts so maybe my expectation is a little high. For a family of six the buffet here cost just shy of $80 (I think you're paying for the view).
Service is also poor (well really it's non existent). You pay at the entrance and then get told to find your own table. There's one server walking around with a filtered coffee pot for a busy summer time breakfast period. You serve your own juice from juice machines at the back which is great if you have kids (they love it).
I ate dinner here a few nights back and I'd rate it average. We decided to give breakfast a go because of the location and views but were also disappointed. .

Dinner has an all you can eat salad bar and a grill where you cook your own meat for whatever meal you order. To be fair, I ordered the Mahi Mahi which was ok. My friend ordered the rib eye which she enjoyed. Her husband ordered the lobster which he said was ok but nothing special. My husband ordered the hamburger He enjoyed the meat patty but the bun was dry. He loves his burgers and wasn't impressed. The kids hamburgers were the same. They took a few bites and wouldn't eat the rest. The kids chicken was tasteless and also wasn't eaten. The salad bar is poor with selection and doesn't offer much for kids. You'd be better off going to the Yard House if you have kids.

1  Thank Uskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Aloha Uskovic,
Thank you for giving us a try and taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate your feed back about our breakfast buffet, we offer 50% off your second entree for breakfast, lunch or dinner, on our website and also in the Outrigger booklet. It's a great little coupon that gives great savings to traveling families. We will speak to our Chef about the pastries, they are baked fresh daily in our bakery right next to the buffet. Our fresh fruits are seasonal and we always try to provide the very best quality of seasonal fruits and dishes on our buffets. We hope that you will give us another try to show you our improvements.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,079 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went here last year on a trip to Oahu, one of the many restaurants we visited, this year on our return trip, it was the ONLY beach restaurant we revisited. The food is very good, more than you can imagine eating for the price, the staff is wonderful, and it is alot of fun to eat there.
The hook that makes them different? You order your cut of choice (or chicken/fish) and off to the giant grill you go, to bbq on the beach! The meal comes equipped with a giant salad bar, all the fixings for your steaks and fish you could imagine, and if you have any room left (I doubt it) dessert is available too. There is also a fun drink menu. ALL for an affordable price! Something none of the other restaurants on that beach will offer good food/affordable price. example: HUGE ribeye with that incredible salad bar, 29.00. I couldnt finish it. Oh and get this, if you are at all not satisfied, they make good on it, without batting an eye, not to mention here, the view is WONDERFUL. GO!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DJPH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Aloha DJPH1,
We are glad that you came to visit us again! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and sharing your experience with us and recommending us to our readers. The Grill is a lot of fun and we are glad that you had fun with us again. We look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch overlooking the ocean. A buffet was available; however, we opted to order from the menu. The food was excellent as well as the service. Located within an Outrigger hotel, the restaurant was not well identified from the street. If I hadn't noticed it while on the beach, we wouldn't have known to look for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited Shore Birds on a number of occasions on our recent visit to Honolulu. Position literally right on the beach with stunning views that can't be beaten. We had dinner once, which was the cook your own steak and salad bar, good for the price, but would have liked to see something different. Received some discount vouchers so used these for breakfast which was great. However the most popular part of this restaurant was the Happy Hour 12.00-5.00 pm each day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussie_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha Assie_travelling,
Thank you for joining us for breakfast, Happy Hour and at the Grill! We are glad that you had fun with us and we hope to see you again on you next visit!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Four of us read a few reviews and tried it out one evening, it was good, not to everyone's liking as some people don't want to cook there own food (large grills) when they go own to dine. The salad bar is huge with a good choice, they cater for gluten free with different salad dressings which was good. The steak was really tender and nice (thankfully I cooked mine to perfection), there was a chef on hand to suggest spices and cooking times and methods (that was helpful). They would also assist or cook the chicken/ steak for you if you had food allergies. The waitress was brilliant, great service and cute as well. No problem with service at this place. Plenty of staff on hand all the time. Enjoyable evening, not the norm at all, well worth the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, General Manager at Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Aloha Julian W.,
We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and happy to hear that your guests with allergies found us helpful. We want to make sure that guests with food allergies feel safe dining with us and have a good time. Thank you for the compliments and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shore Bird Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing