We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid option not sketchy!”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Marshfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Solid option not sketchy!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great location to mooch off the Hilton. Full access ( nobody asked for credentials) to their private beach and shops with out the cost of the Hilton! Great 24 dank coffee shop at end of the street. Overall not the best not the worst. Id say it has a good vibe and solid option for the budget traveler. Major downfall is its on a very busy road the diamond head rooms are very loud! It is a city after all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Aloha Spikes17:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Honolulu.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    780
    348
    100
    51
See reviews for
392
793
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quicksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

There are many places to choose from in Honolulu. Thr Aqua Palms is reasonable priced but you won't see the ocean. Any rooms that have a small glimpse of water are privately own so expect parking lot views. The beach is closeby as are many restaurants. You will find that this hotel has a very elderly clinentele and the fitness room is terrible. There are two ancient treadmills and a universal that has seen better days. If there are two people in there at the same time it is overcrowded. It overlooks a very small rooftop pool. If you just want a place to sleep this place is ok. The staff is very nice and the rooms are clean. The beds could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipb445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Aloha philipb445:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your stay with us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Our hotel offers city view, diamond head view and partial ocean view units. We have a mix of clientle that range in ages.

In 2012 there is scheduled to be many upgrades to the property with lobby and room renovations.

Please give us another opportunity to serve you on a return visit to Honolulu.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

What you might expect for a hotel on that street I guess. Small, parking is a difficult and expensive extra, and traffic noise keeps you awake. The rooms and staff are very nice and it's a quick walk to wonderful other places.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatchick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Aloha Boatchick9:

Mahalo for taking to write a review about your stay with us in November.

The parking structure is a bit tight! For those people who don't rent a car, we are in a very convenient location. Many of the trolleys stop right in front of the hotel and the city bus is to the right of our entrance.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Honolulu and in particular at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlie
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed for 5 nights. We had previously stayed at the Pacific Monarch at the start of our trip and preferred the Aqua Palms even though the Pacific Monarch was a better location for the beach. The staff at the Aqua Palms were really friendly and accommodating to our needs (early check-in was much appreciated). The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. As said the hotel is located across from the Hawaiian Villiage and we accessed the beach through a side road. Buses stopped just outside the hotel and we used tour companies that picked-up at the Hilton. The pool was a disappointment for my daughter as it was really cold (the sun is blocked for part of the day by the tall buildings around it) but the beach is so close that this was not an issue. Breakfast was included and the system of vouchers for the I-Hop next door worked well. I am planning another trip to Hawaii and will definitely use the Aqua Palms again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieFairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Aloha Anniefairlie:

It's great to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us!

Please contact me directly for your return visit at pmaher@aquaresorts.com.

Me ke aloha Pumehana
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I booked this hotel off of a discount website and got a good price compared to other hotels in the area so I wasn’t expecting any frills.

Location: The hotel is located across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village and a short walk to the beach and to the main drag. There are trolley stands out front for those who rather not walk.

Service: The service here was excellent. Those that work at the front desk where friendly and helpful. The had someone at the concierge desk during most hours to help with booking tours.

Room: The room was small but fine. You could tell that the hotel is old. They are slowly doing renovations to update it. The room we had, had a new TV, new counter in the Bathroom, new microwave and fridge. The Bathroom was small, the tub was old and warn and the furniture around the room was old. The bed was comfortable though. One thing I really disliked was the water in the room. To get cold water (yes, cold) you would have to let it run for minutes. AC worked well, though I read complaints about its noise, I did not really find it any noisier than any other hotel AC unit

Other: They hotel had a pool which was on the roof of the 2nd floor (I believe) which was clean and had some sun chairs, but it is very small and the sun was blocked by hotels for most of the day.
There is a ‘fitness’ room which was just a small hotel room with a few cardio machines (old) and some free weights.
The parking garage is tight and cost $20 a night.

In a nut shell

Pros:
Location was fine
Clean
Friendly staff
Affordable

Cons:
Water issues
Elevators where slooooooow
Small fitness room and gym
There was regular in room Internet, but Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby (free at least)

All in all it was an ok stay. For the price we paid it was perfectly fine but I probably would pay a little extra to get a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kassi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Aloha Kassi22:

Mahalo for sharing your experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki! We really appreciate everyone's input.

I'm pleased to see that the hotel staff treated you with the true "Aloha Spirit" for which we are known.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Spent 5 nights at this hotel, which I had booked as a cheaper option than some of the others located on Waikiki beach. It is directly opposite the Hilton Hawaiian Village so you can easily visit for shops and facilities and access to the beach. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, room was of a reasonable size with microwave, fridge and coffee machine. Had a very small swimming pool with sunbeds which we did not use as there is a fantastic beach is just across the road. The only negative was the lifts were quite slow and quite often there would be a wait for them. Free wi-fi was available in the lobby area, which was very useful. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tunsttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Aloha tunsttravel:

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would definitely return!

If I can be of any assistance for your future travel plans, please feel free to contact me directly.

Happy New Year!

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a great bargain, we got their snooze and cruise package (car rental & free parking) plus breakfast at the IHOP. Spent 7 glorius days there. The staff was superb and the hotel was worth the money. The rooms were very clean with a balcony to the main street. Pool was nice and clean, also a small workout room. We had a microwave and fridge. Overall we got a fantastic deal quite close to the beach. I had two kids and they loved it. Free wifi in the lobby and hard wired in the room. The Manager Patty was excellent in handling a small problem we had with the rental. We will be back next year. My only complaint, I ran out of time and Obama blocked some of the local streets.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, sunny rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Aloha joem:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms. I'm delighted to hear that your entire family enjoyed their visit.

It was my pleasure to be able to resolve the situation with your rental car.

We look forward to your return visit next year!

Happy New Year to you and your family!

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing