We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit as pleasant as our first.”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Return visit as pleasant as our first.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We returned to the Aqua Palms for our second visit and appreciated it just as much as we did on our first visit. We were instantly made to feel welcome and our return patronage very much appreciated. The box of chocolates provided to returning guests was a lovely touch as a welcome gift and the upgrade to the same room as we had enjoyed on our previous visit was an unexpected surprise.

Once again, we enjoyed many of the special touches that make this boutique hotel stand out from the others and the location at the quieter end of Waikiki and close to the best beach area works well for us. There are many great restaurants and small grocery store within easy walking distance and the hustle and bustle of central Waikiki is a pleasant stroll away.

We're hoping we have the opportunity to return our Hawaiian home away from home, the Aqua Palms, again this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Aloha VictoriaBlu:

It is always a pleasure to have repeat guests and I'm glad that you feel as if you were at your home away from home.

All of our staff do everything possible to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and especially like to go out of their way for returning visitors.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    784
    355
    101
    52
See reviews for
401
800
209
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Nebraska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed on the 9th floor, we had a balcony and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even had a bottle opener for us to borrow so we could open a couple Kona Beers to enjoy on our balcony. The traffic is crazy on the street by the hotel, but it didn't bother us. It was a reasonable place to stay, only a 10 minute walk to the beach. Would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: High up, with a balcony is best. It's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Aloha Mel E.

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I find this hotel and chain to be the best in Hawaii. The location, the Staff, and the cleanliness are among the finest that I have experienced. I would not consider staying elsewhere. You are within walking distance of Waikiki as well as the Ala Moana Shopping center. Public transportation is right at the front door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Aloha dbloss:

Mahalo for your kind review.

I'm delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the Aqua Palms at Waikiki but that you endorsed the Aqua Hospitality Brand!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I never know if I should rate a hotel based on its star rating or in comparison to a hotel with a higher star rating. Somehow it seems rather unfair to compare an apple to an orange, so note that I am rating this hotel in comparison to what I would expect from a 21/2-3 star hotel. That being said, there were definitely some issues that you will want to consider while you are looking for a place to stay.
These are the cons:
1) Firstly, my room had a "city" view and the street noise was rather loud. One morning there was some sort of race going down Ala Moana Blvd starting at 5 am so there was a lot of loud cheering. There seems to be no noise insulation at all. Luckily, I was already awake because I was still on California time. I am personally not sensitive to noise, but in reading many hotel reviews over the years I recognize that some people are very sensitive and will want to consider this.
2) Also, my room did not have a balcony, more of a 1 foot ledge. Although I noticed the room next door to me did. If this is important to you, make sure you book a room with this option.
3) The pool is small and shallow (3-4ft), so if you like a nice pool, you may want to look elsewhere. However, why would you want a nice pool when there are beautiful beaches all around you?
4) The hotel restaurant is an IHOP. I am not a huge fan of IHOP food, so this was a con for me, but do note the location is great and there are plenty of other places to eat.
5) Finally, the rooms are somewhat outdated, but not horribly so.

Now to the pros… I will honestly say there were definitely more pros than cons.
1) Price -Although this hotel may not be cheap compared to other locations in the US, for Waikiki it is very affordable. I was here for work and since I work for a non-profit the budget was tight. This was the only hotel within this price range in Waikiki that did not have horrible reviews with multiple complaints.
2) The staff was very kind and helpful and everyone always had a smile and was willing to help in any way they could.
3) The rooms were clean and well kept.
4) The hotel has beach towels and beach chairs for guest use.
5) There is parking available (con is that parking cost $20/night).
6) The location is terrific. You can walk to Ala Moana and to the main strip in Waikiki. The Beach is close by as well. The location for this price is an outstanding value.
7) There was a refrigerator, microwave and safe in the room.
8) There is an affordable restaurant on site (but as stated above it is IHOP).
9) Rooms are good size.

You can see, the pros outweigh the cons. Most of the cons were not even cons for me personally. For a 21/2-3 star hotel this is a good buy in my opinion. If I had reason to stay in Honolulu in the future, I would definitely stay here. This is my third visit to HI, but my first time staying in Honolulu because I was here for work (for vacation we've stayed in Lanikai). But if you are looking for a place to stay where you can be part of the action in the heart of Waikiki I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pay for Ocean View if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumla0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Aloha Sumla0509:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms.

I'm delighted to hear that the pro's outweighed the cons!

Room renovations will be started by the end of the year. Corridor carpeting will be replaced and lobby will be redone as well.

It is great to hear that you were treated with the True Aloha Spirit for which we are known.

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

we booked the room for double occupancy, instead of two beds,there was one bed and one musty old sofa bed. they said basicilly too bad.so here is a warning for ohers.
otherwise tbe bathroom was clean and location was pretty good.










.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susankb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Aloha Susankb:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms.

I'm disappointed to hear that you were uncomfortable on the sofabed. Bedding is on request and we do all possible to honor everyone's request and I apologize we were not able to accommodate your durig your stay.

All of the staff and managerment hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked two nights and wished we had booked three. Traveling from eastern US to Honolulu is quite taxing so another night would've given us more time to tour the city. We did hop a city bus to go to Hanauma Bay. The hotel was very conveniently located. It was a short walk to Waikiki beach. Having the IHOP right next door with the 10% discount was very handy, too.

This is not a luxury hotel but very nice for the price. We also enjoyed the Manager's Welcome Reception that included live music, a hula dancer, complimentary snacks and beverages. As a place to stay before our cruise, the Aqua Palms was a good choice.

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony room. We could see Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti_Bessette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Aloha Patti_Bessette:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, in July 2012, even after such a long time.

We hope you ejoyed your cruise around the islands and your stay at the Aqua Palms.

We look forward to the opportunity to serving you again on a future stay!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Average hotel in a good location. Near to the beach and has good restaurants nearby. Front desk, service staff were really welcoming and nice. Amenities were OK for the rate we paid. Rooms were average size for a family of 3.Overall good budget hotel and they could add some more amenities for the rate they charge.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the lower floors because of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saran78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Aloha Saron78:

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear that you were treated with the true aloha spirit for which we are known from our guest service agents.

While the property is starting to show its age, we are in process of working with our owners to upgrade the property. New lobby, new hallway carpet and room upgrades as well.

As mentioned the location of the property is excellent. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants and public transit right in front of the hotel.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to serve you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing