We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to save on hotel? ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Want to save on hotel? ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

There are good and bad things about this hotel...
The good:
The price is very reasonable, it won't kill your budget.
You get vouchers for breakfast at IHOP so you get nice breakfast.
The concierge desk staff will help you book any excursions.
The rooms are a nice descent size, you get microwave and fridge.
The hotel is 5 min away from a hip nightclub Addiction at Modern Honolulu hotel.

The bad:
While the hotel is in Waikiki it's not in the center of "action". If you want to go to Dukes or International Market it's a good 25 min walk. There is a trolley that goes there from Hilton but nobody could give us accurate information whether it was free or what time it goes. We later found out it was every 30 min.

We booked a partial ocean view room with 2 queen beds but when we arrived we got a room with one king bed and one pullout sofa. When we asked for a room we actually booked they couldn't give us another one and stated the rooms they provide are guaranteed in the category requested(partial ocean view) not in the amount of beds requested. I was very displeased about it and asked for another room once more- they showed us to a room on a lower floor which didn't have any view so we decided to stay in original room. We were not offered any discount or anything for the inconvenience.

The bathrooms were a little outdated, the tub and shower faucet should be replaced with newer items as they looked "used up".

I personally like to be close to city center so I'd not stay in this hotel again. It's just too far out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Be_Melodyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Be_Melody:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm disappointed to hear that we were not able to honor your bedding request but hope that you enjoyed the view from your room.

Our location is on the outskirts of Waikiki but does allow easy access to many of the sites in the heart of Waikiki. It is disappointing to hear that our location did not suite your needs.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki.

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    777
    341
    97
    51
See reviews for
385
789
206
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our second stay at Aqua Palms, (Nov 2013), previously Christmas 2011. We're coming back Feb 2014. Can't beat the affordable price and value for money - unless you want to be right on the sand - that's a different price bracket.

We like the partial ocean view rooms. The combination of the water view, city view, balcony and IHop breakfast included is worth the price for us. Love watching the world go by from our balcony with a cold beer or g&t, (bar fridge is quite big and actually keeps the beer cold - some hotels the bar fridge is useless).

Agree with other reviewers, all staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Proximity, (walking distance), to both Ala Moana Shopping complex and the beach are a big plus plus for us. We don't love shopping so only go once or twice during a stay...so being reasonably close is good. We walk for the exercise but of course you can catch the bus for $2 right outside the hotel door.
We love the beach but don't spend hours there to get burnt...so we enjoy our pre-breakfast walk to the beach through the Hilton - and up to 3 times a day.
Breakfast at Ihop is very convenient and we like it as a treat...not our normal breakfast, (pancakes, eggs and sausage), so it's a bit of fun.

Free wifi in the room is great.

Room Tip: We had room 821 and 1021 both were good - furtherest from the lift and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha BarbGrae:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a delight to hear from our repeat guests. We are looking forward to your return visit in February!

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha.

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I just returned home from a 6 night stay at this hotel with my family, and I must say that the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and we loved having the microwave and refrigerator in our room. With that said, there were some not so favorable things....such as that the bathroom was pretty small and it was hard to maneuver in there being that the swing of the door was so close to the toilet so it was difficult to close the door when entering/exiting (hope that makes sense). Also there's no light in the shower/tub area and the room itself was dark and needed more lighting.....also there was construction going on across the street and it was quite loud at times, commencing early in the mornings and ending in the evenings. Oh and, motorcycle noise in the parking garage was super loud and resonated into the rooms....sounded like thunder with the engines revving, and they (a group of motorcyclists) seemed to come and go early in the mornings and late at night....really rude. I did, however, love that IHOP is connected to the hotel and the 10% discount for guests of Aqua Palms was nice. We ate breakfast there at least 4 or 5 days in a row. Overall, we had a nice stay and would consider staying here again in the future because of the great value and perfect location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marley_carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha marley_carol:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is very convenient to have the IHOP restaurant in our lobby which does offer the 10% discount to our guests. There is also the Wailana Restaurant on the corner which offers the same discount to our guests.

Unfortunately, the size of the bathrooms can not be changed but during our upcoming renovations we will be adding a light in the bathroom area.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay with us and will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our second stay at the Palms. We booked a garden view, but, asked and received an upgrade to partial ocean view. While some of the furniture needed to be refreshed, the room was clean, and the bed comfortable. Yes, the room rates and location of this hotel are great, but, what really makes this hotel a gem is the staff. From the front desk to the bell service and housekeeping everyone is so friendly and helpful. It hasn't changed in the 3 years since we were last there, and because of that we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha gsd2:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always delightful to hear from repeat guests especially when they continue to want to return!

I'm pleased to say that we are currently working on two model units to refresh our rooms and hope to have all rooms renovated in late 2014.

Our staff is our pride and joy! They all work toward making our guests feel welcome and part of our ohana!

We look forward to the opportunity to serving you again in the future.

Happy Holidays!

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Aqua Palms doesn't get a 5 star rating but it should, Our room was a good size, the beds were comfortable and even though we were right on Ala Moana Blvd there was very little noise at night so sleeping was peaceful. The outdoor, rooftop pool was actually warm, but not too warm. We ate breakfast at the IHOP restaurant in the hotel most mornings, very convenient. The hotel is right across the street from the Hilton Hawaiian Village and we went to the beach there a couple of times.
We have stayed in a couple of Aqua hotels while staying on the Islands and we have found them clean, friendly, convenient and priced just right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha Lorraine G:

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a pleasure to get a 5 star rating from our guests!

It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed several Aqua Properties.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed there as part of a business trip. Although I've reserved the partial ocean view room, I didn't know that the room was really so big! We got a room on the last floor, the so call Penthouse. Room had a living room and a fully equipped kitchen (microwave oven, big fridge, washing machine). We were so impressed by the room that we asked the reception if they gave us this room by mistake. Location is also good, walking distance to Waikiki beach and Kalakaua Ave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanougakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Aloha Spanougakis:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a One Bedroom Suite during your stay.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I can't say enough about the friendly staff. They go out of there way to make sure the guests are happy. We were in Hawaii last spring and decided to come back for the surfing competitions in December on the north shore. We have visited Waikiki many times in the past and recommend the Palms as the best for location and value.

Room Tip: We choose the city/mountain side when we stay. It is the shady and more quiet side. Also less expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackdoggerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha jackdoggerdog:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is exciting to hear that you loved us so much that you are returning next week!

All of the staff and management look forward to your return visit and the opportunity to serve you again!

Happy Holidays!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing