We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price with excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good price with excellent staff”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Aqua Palms and were quite satisfied. Our party had two rooms on the 5th floor -- one with two queen beds and one with a king bed + sofa bed. Both rooms had microwaves and mini-fridges. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel facing a construction site. Construction began at 7am each weekday; we could hear the noise through our balcony door, but it was not terribly disruptive.

As noted by other reviewers, the hotel's location makes it a great choice for anyone interested in the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We walked to the beach at Fort DeRussy Beach Park and went to the military museum there. We also took advantage of the dining options at the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street.

I was really impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the Aqua Palms. Everyone, from the housekeeping staff to the bell man to the front desk staff, greeted us daily and offered advice when asked. A front desk employee pointed us to the Shore Bird at one of the Outrigger properties for breakfast... It was perfect! A different front desk employee directed us to the beach at Fort DeRussy. The kindness and politeness of every employee we encountered made us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay.

I agree with other reviewers that the parking lot is very tight and a little dangerous (parking was $25/night). However, there are so many buses and trolleys to take you to some of the main attractions that you may not need a car.

I also agree with other reviewers that this is not really a boutique hotel. It is a middle-tier property with a great location. That said, we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and would stay at the Aqua Palms again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha elilip:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki with your family.

It is always enjoyable to read reviews that compliment our location and most importantly our staff. All of our staff try to make our guests feel as if they are part of the ohana (family)!

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager

P.S. I bet with all the cold weather you are getting in Chicago right now that you wish you were back in Hawaii! Stay warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    778
    344
    98
    51
See reviews for
388
791
206
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff are very friendly and everything from check in to check out is quick and painless. The hotel is a little dated but the good location makes up for that. Its a 10 minute walk to either Ala Moana mall one way or the Main shopping street at Waikiki beach the other direction. The beach can be accessed thru the Hilton (which is directly in front of the Aqua palms) or a road running right next to the Hilton. It only takes a few minutes walk. The HIltons beach is great with a cove to swim in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha Rainy0:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki with your family.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the staff!

We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked this hotel for 13 nights at a recommendation from a friend - I'm really glad, it was a great place to stay.

We booked the special Australia rate from the website that got us a discount, so decided to book the partial ocean view room (with booking this room, it also gets you breakfast included at the IHOP next door each day - their options were bacon eggs and pancakes or french toast or porridge)

Checked in at 7am after arriving into Honolulu, our room was ready - yay. Hotel staff were fantastic, giving us tips on where is good to go, providing directions and always able to change larger US $$ for smaller ones.

Room was great, bed was so comfortable, view was lovely. Was so nice sitting out on the balcony each day. Was also good that the room had a fridge and a microwave in it (we went and stocked up on drinks each day at the ABC store, and used the microwave for some snacks that we picked up at Walmart)

Hotel was in a good location, about in the middle from Kalakaua Avenue and Ala Moana Center - we spent lots of time at both so it worked well for us being there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha lozstar:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last November.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed our property and staff.

We all wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to serving you again!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel in a great area. Great staff - friendly and willing to help. Within easy walking distance of the beach and many restaurants and shopping. Loved the lanai and the views of the ocean and Diamond Head.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captjrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Aloha Captjrk:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you not only like our location but our staff as well. I believe that our staff is our greatest asset!

All of us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope you took home fond memories of your stay with us and will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Happy New Year!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great place to stay in Waikiki. Its walking distance to the beach. right across from the Hilton. Also walking distance to the mall and lots of food. Love that it had a microwave and a mini fridge. We picked up breakfast food and ate in our room. Pool was great but didn't spend much time there because we would rather spend our time at the gorgeous Waikiki :) Room was clean and the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha Megan B:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is almost a year since your last visit in February 2013. It sounds like it might be time for a return trip!

Wishing you all the best in 2014!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
WIth Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My finace and I stayed here back this September. We were trying to balance distance from waikiki beach and budget for a nice place to stay - We nailed it with the Aqua Palms Waikiki. The room was nice, staff very accomodating, and the location was great. Lots of places to eat nearby, a great local breakfast spot (IHOP way over priced) and even a local grocery store right nearby with better prices than in the thick of the more expensive/touristy areas. There was even a surf shop around the corner where I was able to rent a board cheaper than anywhere else (day price was same as an hour price from off the beach)...

Cant go wrong with the location and price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybarbaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha Cybarbaro:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki in September.

It sounds like we were the perfect location for you with reasonable restaurants and shops all within walking distance.

All of the staff and management wish you all the best for your upcoming nuptials and hope that you will come and stay with us for your honeymoon!

Happy New Year!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were very happy with our stay and would stay here again. It is a short walk to Waikiki Beach from the hotel, just cross the street and walk through Hilton Hawaiian village and you're there. Our room was clean and the staff was attentive. The bed was very comfortable. We had a Diamond Head view, but we could also see the ocean from our room. The parking garage was tight - we had upgraded to a larger call at the rental agency, and it would have been easier to navigate the garage if we had been driving a smaller car.

Room Tip: The Diamond Head view and Ocean View rooms are on higher floors and are quieter, but in general this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha RachelRake:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again on a return trip!

All of the staff and management look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Happy New Year!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing