We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Mhhh now I know what we paid the price we did. The room was on a slant!!! Being pregnant and constantly off balance was very interesting every morning. This made the sleeping uncomfortable so we improvised and added a couple of pillows under the mattress. We read other reviews and others also commented on similar situations, so we decided it was too hard to move rooms being pregnant and all. Every day housekeeping would add new toiletries to our room, but it was never consistent. Its convenient to Hilton and Ala Moana if you like and need that.
The gym was interesting as well, the carpet could at least do with a change, it was all discoloured and looked dirty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgui3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha lgui3:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to work toward meeting and/or exceeding all of our guests expectations.

Since your stay we have replaced the carpet in the fitness room.

Hope your pregnancy is going well.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
WIth Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    777
    339
    97
    51
See reviews for
385
789
205
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have stayed at the Aqua Palms for a week in April of last year and for another week in Sept of the year before. Love this hotel and its staff. The beds are very comfortable. Location is great for walking to the beach, Fort deRussey Park ( just across the street) or the mall with the bus stop just outside the door or across the street if you want to venture further and don't like to walk a bit of distance (I didn't find walking a problem). If you plan a bus tour you can catch the bus just across the street at the Hilton. Many restaurants are close at hand. I wouldn't hesitate to book again at this hotel. Koodos to the staff for making my visit to Hawaii so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Aloha Doreen L:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us in April 2013 and September 2012.

It must be very cold at home right now so you are probably dreaming of a nice hawaiian vacation. Hopefully you will come back and visit us real soon!

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms hope you are doing well and staying warm!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor comments and am happy I did. We stayed here for a couple days before sailing on a cruise. This is a very nice hotel. Yes, it is a little older, but don't let that stop you from taking advantage of a great value. The hotel and our room was very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We arrived just in time for the weekly Manager's Reception (Thursday evening) which was delightful (drinks, snacks and a 3-piece music group). The lobby is small, so get there early. There is an iHOP next door, but just a few doors down is another restaurant that offers good food at an affordable price (we were given this advice from another guest we met at the reception). In the lobby was a gentleman who sold tours. We made arrangements with him to visit Pearl Harbor. This was so nice, because the service picked us up and dropped us off at the front door. The hotel is also on a bus/trolley line, so getting around anywhere you want to go is as easy as walking outside. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOJO_Leawood_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Aloha JOJO_Leawood_Kansas:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki last month.

It sounds like you picked the right time to check-in, during our weekly Manager's Reception that is held every Thursday evening.

Your description of the hotel and its surroundings was right on!

All of the staff and management are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a fabulous time on your cruise.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

En-route to Sydney, I spent one night here. As usual, I was greeted by the excellent front desk staff. I love the amenities at the Aqua - daily newspapers, lemon ice water, apples, microwave and small refrigerator. It is at the outer edge of Waikiki (which I think is a good thing,) but so close to numerous bus stops that will take you wherever you want to go. I ate an early dinner at the Ala Moana Food Court, which has many inexpensive choices. After dinner, it's a short walk from the hotel over to the beach to watch the sun set. If you want value for your dollar, this is a great place to stay. The beds are great and the rooms are clean. There is a grocery store right around the corner, and the Wailana Coffee Shop has excellent pancakes, all you can eat for an absurdly low price. I think you get 10% off if you show your Aqua key.
BTW, the Speedi Shuttle to the airport arrived right on the dot to take me to the international terminal.
We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLightOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Aloha TravelLightOften:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

From your review it appears that you are a repeat visitor, that is great to see.

We look forward to serving you again on a return visit and hopefully you will still a little longer next time.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Small hotel just across the street from the massive (Really, it's huuuge) Hilton. Diamond Head view rooms (it's far off, but yes it's there) have nice clear open views with no buildings really blocking. The manager reception once/week was lovely. The tiny lobby hosted a Hawaiian trio and there were a few snacks and a homemade pineapple cocktail. We never used the pool, but we saw a few others there. Small, but could be OK. The workout room is very small with a machine or two. The room was a nice size, with a large balcony, and we didn't have trouble with noise or anything else really. The biggest con for us is location. You've got to walk several long long blocks to the beach (about 15 min) or into the heart of Waikiki. Nt really near places we wanted to eat (Outback, Red Lobster) either. It's not a dealbreaker, and, of course, that's why it's cheaper. Depends on what you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha mosthecat:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay but unfortunately did not like the location.

Many guests find our location ideal. Close to the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Hawaii Convention Center and Ala Moana Shopping Center. These are all within walking distance and our property is right on the main bus line which takes you to almost anywhere you want to go.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope you took home fond memories of your stay in the islands and will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed 17 days starting january 9th 2014.
Decent rooms. Comfortable beds, good size TV, Internet included with good signal strength. Location excellent 5 minute walk to the mall. some of the nice restaurants and food pantry is in that mall
Negatives - Construction next door so noisy after 7am. Bath tub very small. I have never seen one this small.We had no water views
I would stay there again

Room Tip: Try and get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masakazimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Aloha Masakazinny:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last month.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've got no complaints about this hotel at all. Clean room, very comfortable bed, shower worked well and was hot (only small sized bath). We booked one of the cheaper rooms and you can not actually go out onto the balcony, but since we stayed one night only and we interested in a cheaper room rate, that posed no problem to us. Pool was small but nice. Helpful staff and held bags for us till later and allowed us use of wifi after check in. No complaints. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniStubbs-Thrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Aloha Joni Stubbs-Thrush:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Comments of "perfect" and "5 stars" who could ask for anything better than that!

All of the staff and management are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit. Hopefully for a longer stay.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing