We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We needed a room in a pinch after we had a cancelled flight. Called here after trying a few other places that wanted too much money.
We were just hoping for not a dirty hotel for the price we got ($109). We were extremely surprised when we got here. Lobby was nice. Staff was very friendly. The room was nice, clean and bigger than we expected.
Location in relation to the beach is not great, but you're also not paying what you would pay for a place on the beach. So you shouldn't be disappointed with the location.
I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to anyone who isn't looking to be on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Aloha Naf1234:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you at an affordable rate for the one night due to your cancelled flight.

It's always to hear that people are pleasantly surprised when they come to stay with us and that they would return again.

We look forward to serving you on your return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    778
    346
    99
    51
See reviews for
390
793
206
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Aqua Palms is located closer to Ala Moana Shopping center, away from the Waikiki Beach. It is an easy walk to Ala Moana, or catch the Pink Trolley outside the front of the hotel. The rooms are generous, the coffee is very good and there are two decent restaurants just next door: The IHOP and a local favorite, Wailana Coffee House. You can get 10% off of your meal if you present your Aqua Palms key card. The only negative is their pillows. Very hard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha 128Safari:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm disappointed to hear that you did not like the pillows, had we known we would have gladly changed them out for you.

All of the staff and management hope you took home fond memories of your stay and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Most reviews gave a good description of what to expect. The location is between the Ala Moana mall and Waikiki. The bus line and shuttle make it easy to move around, as we didn't have a car. It was across from the Hilton Hawaiian village making it easy to get to some good restaurants.

We checked in late so we got stuck with a very small room on the second fl. It looked like a dumping ground for furniture on its way out. It was possibly the spare room they allow their own staff to rest in. We requested a move at the desk while checking in so we luckily were moved the next day. It was a hassle checking out and back in, but I'm so happy the staff made it convenient.

Pool was icky, but the deck looked to be a good place for lounging.

Overall, we did overpay, but it was Valentines weekend and most places were sold out. A good spot when you're in a pinch. I'd stay again if family insisted on a budget hotel off the strip.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank isletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha Isletripper:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us last month.

I'm disappointed to hear that the room you stayed in for your first night was not acceptable but pleased to know that we were able to move you to a room more suitable for your needs the next day.

All of the staff and management hope you took home fond memories of your stay in Hawaii and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel was perfect, friendly staff, "up to date" and clean rooms! Easy access to a lot of great things to do, will definitely stay there again! Forgot to mention the IHOP next to lobby! Which is also great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 722BradW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha 722BradW;

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us last October.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would come back to visit us!

All of the staff and management hope you took home fond memories and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

After much internet research I found this gem of a hotel which was just what we needed. I really hope to come back (and bring the rest of my family) so hope the proposed renovations do not mean a price hike! I loved all the thoughtful and practical amenities in the room. We stayed 10 nights in Feb in a twin bedded room on the 7th floor, with full lanai, the "Diamond Head View" which looks onto the Hilton Village across the road so you can see partial views of the ocean and Fri night fireworks, and Diamond Head. What we loved: Super location -The Bus stop right outside the front door so you can get to Pearl Harbor for $2.50, and the Tapa Towers Bus Depot (walk through path in gardens in Hilton complex)is just across the road for your pickup for Paradise Cove, Polynesian Cultural Centre and other day trips. Your airport shuttle will come right to this hotel and the lobby is one of its best features - friendly, tables, chairs & sofas, free apples, coffee and iced water and is the place for fun Manager's reception party every Thursday night - free cocktails and chips & dips and live band! More about location: right across the road for start of Waikiki beach. Easy walks to free Army museum; Ala Moana shops, lots of restaurants also the great Fabric Mart. The Palms has a fast easy checkout. The staff are super friendly and helpful and quick to respond if you need more coffee or clean towels. Everything was clean and nice, the sheets were beautifully crisp. More of what we loved: SUPER comfortable beds - must have invested in top quality mattresses. Also: full length mirror in main room (great for 3 gals in room); iron & ironing board;s proper coathangers; roomy bathroom with quite long vanity benchtop; microwave; filter coffee maker;( for breakfast in your room just buy some disposable plates etc). Table & chairs as well as desk; more chairs & table on lanai; beachtowels and beach chairs on loan for free, you get a special card for this; air conditioning works well. 3 elevators work well and fast. Used the pool a couple of times when we wanted a quick dip before going out. There is a BBQ too. From the pool you can see the fireworks - there were fireworks on Tues & Thurs as well - maybe another hotel in addition to the Hilton? Anyways be sure to get in quick by 7:00pm at the Hilton lagoon pool for the great show before the fireworks start at 7:45pm sharp Fridays. The beach gets packed! The rates at the Palms are reasonable because they do not have room service which I would never use anyway. Win! There are plenty of places to eat nearby and the ABC stores have great fresh sandwiches etc. if you want a quick snack to save time. The only issue I can think of was some inconsistent housekeeping - on our last night we came back to our room at 3:30pm and it hadn't been serviced yet which was disappointing as we wanted clean towels etc. before going out again. So we just organised clean towels and coffee refills. Another day we returned in the afternoon to find the bathroom light on, no bathmat and the pillows not yet arranged, and the sliding door to the lanai wide open as though the maid had been interrupted. I conclude that she had run out of bathmats and had gone to get some and forgot to come back to finish our room. No harm done, human error, we were 7 floors up thankfully. We just found the late cleaning of room inconvenient as we would often like to go out in the morning then come back to a cleaned room for a power nap before heading out again. Maybe the 12:00 checkout all makes the housekeeping timetable late all round. I'm just used to 10:00am checkout. We liked the cute palm them décor, I sincerely hope renovations do change anything too much. We're saving up to come back! Aussies this is a great value friendly hotel but bear in mind there are no more than 2 beds in each room. Mahalo, it was our first time to Hawaii and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squirrel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha Squirrel206:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm impressed with the length of the review and all the details you provided not only about the hotel but also the surrounding areas.

We are excited to hear that you are saving up and looking at returning with your family.

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on your return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were in Hawaii for a conference. So this was idea, as we were not in the hotel most of the day.

Pros
The room is a good size.
Free coffee and apple in the lobby
Walking distance to the beach and hotel provides free lounge chairs and beach towels.
Travel desk downstairs
room looked clean - however I did notice that there was broken glass behind my bedside table.

Cons
no help with luggage
$5 min to print a document
Average view - as most of the view is blocked off by the hilton in front.

Room Tip: Rooms are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yahooHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Aloha YahooHK:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us in July 2013.

I really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
WIth Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here our last night in Honolulu instead of our house rental in Kailua. We found traffic a nightmare and didn't want to miss our flight to Kona the next day. The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable. At check in there was a band playing and a management reception, it was relaxing after a busy few days in Honolulu traffic. The "free" breakfast at the IHOP was disappointing however I should have expected a breakfast at IHOP would not be fabulous. Parking was a bit confusing but once we figured that out is was fine. I would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Oahu.

Room Tip: This was a good location, not too far from the beach and malls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Aloha Diane W:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

You couldn't have picked a better time to check in. Every Thursday evening we hold a Manager's Reception in the lobby. We have a local Hawaiian Band providing legends and songs of the islands and we serve our signature cocktail "The Sway" and serve some light pupu's.

It is great to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to serving you on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing