We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget travellers”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good for budget travellers”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Checking in was easy, not a luxurious hotel but good enough for us on a tight budget. Free wifi and easy access. McDonalds just a few minutes away and opposite is asmall supermarket. Indian restaurant nearby. The Hilton Hawaian Resort is across the street and it is a nice place with lots of shops and the beach too. We booked the Submarine & Polynesian Cultural Centre Tour with a nice Concierge. The bus pickup was at the carpark of the Hilton Hawaian Resort. The Submarine tour too was at the Hilton pier opposite the resort. We were out most of the day so going back to a comfortable bed was nice. The Ala Maona Shopping centre is quite a walk away. You can take the bus but it is cheaper to walk...only one stop. Lots of eateries nearby.I love the toiletries and fluffy white towels. Self service laudry is available at P3 level. Free tea at the lobby. There is an ATM machine too but capped at $200 per withdrawal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha szmeow:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear that your check-in went smooth and that you enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    783
    354
    101
    52
See reviews for
401
798
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location, close to Ala Moana and within walking distance to the main part of Waikiki. We stayed for 2 nights, having spent 6 nights at the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the road earlier in the trip. We got a great rate for the Aqua Palms but you get what you pay for. The room was too small for two adults and two teenagers and the bathroom was ridiculously small - even the towels were too small. We had a major leak in our bathroom basin which seeped through to the bedroom carpet and although maintenance were informed, nothing was done about the leak and we were not offered another room. There was also pink bubblegum stuck to the top of the bedhead on our arrival. It was still there when we checked out so the cleaners missed it twice which is completely unacceptable. The staff were pleasant enough, but not overly friendly or helpful. If it wasn't for the location, I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Hilton Hawaiian Village - although there is traffic noise, we had a partia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha Catriona, C.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Yes our location is excellent! On the outskirts of Waikiki, close to shops and restaurants and still within walking distance of the heart of Waikiki.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered with the sink overflow. It is very unusual that you were not offered a room move. I have shared your comments with our staff to ensure that this never happens again.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I stayed at Aqua Palms for one week and we loved it! It is not a luxury hotel but for the price, location, and great staff... you can't get any better. It was walking distance to many stores and bus stops. It was also walking distance to a few small beaches. You have to either drive or hop on a trolly to get to Waikiki beach but it's only a 6-7 minute drive. (I recommend taking a trolly there because parking is hard to find around Waikiki beach.) Staff was so friendly, inviting and helpful. They not only verbally told us directions to places but also willingly printed out directions as well as a map.
Our room was small but the beds were comfortable. There was a mini fridge, microwave, iron and blow dryer that were included into our room.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Aloha rashi p:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback!

I'm delighted to hear that our staff treated you with the true "Aloha Spirit" for which we are known.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed two nights at this hotel. Loved the location and the room was very comfortable. The staff was very professional and helpful. They pleasantly answered any questions we would ask as we stopped by the front desk. You get a 10% discount at the diner on the corner where we found to be quite affordable compared with other restaurants in the area. We enjoyed staying across from the Hilton Village and spent some time on the beach and in the shops over there. We were on the 2nd floor and while there was some street noise it did not really bother us. The beds were so comfortable and when the staff realized there were three of us in the room they gave us a room with a fold out sofa. Our only complaint was that the lighting in the room didn't seem very good. We found it to be a very good value. We enjoyed some of the extra touches in the lobby such as ice cold water with lemon and coffee available in the lobby and a basket of flowers and apples at the front desk. Definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha Marmoto:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Great value, seems to be the theme of all our recent comments.

The lighting concerns in the room are being addressed in our upcoming renovations.

Location of the property is a big selling point for us. Not right in the center of Waikiki but close enough to get to the action within a short walking distance.

I'm pleased to hear that you, your husband and daughter enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our time here. It is a great location if you like to stay in the Hilton area. The Hilton Village is right across the street. It is a short walk to an absolutely fantastic beach. It is a 15 minute walk to the "Waikiki Strip" which we went to for fabulous shopping and dining.
The beds were very comfortable. We had a view of Diamond Head and the ocean from our balcony. Lovely. The street below is busy, but our room was on the 9th floor and the noise was not an issue for us. The IHOP voucher was very useful and fantastic value. Carpets were dated, but rest of room decently modern. Staff was great.
This is not a luxury hotel, but if we got a good rate again on the room, we would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to lessen street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coreena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha Coreena W:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were at the Aqua Palms for 8 nights. We booked a partial ocean and requested a high floor. We were given the 9th floor which has a fantastic view of diamond head and the ocean. With the balcony door open the street noise is moderate however with the door closed it is very quiet. The location is great, 15 min walk to the heart of waikiki and 8 min to Ala Moana shops.
Breakfast at IHOP is fine. It is so cheap you could always order something else.
Service is great, exceptionally clean and i believe that end of the strip is ideal. Just far enough away from the main strip to avoid the hustle and bustle or the main tourist strip yet close enough to be a part of the fun.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Posimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha Christopher D:

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us.

Your description of the property and its surrounding areas are right on.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to book the aqua palms for our honeymoon, and based on the reviews we read here about the noise from the street we sent an email with plenty of time requesting a partial ocean view with a balcony in one the highest floors. When we arrived the receptionist didn't seem to be aware of our request as first thing we were asked was if we wanted a room with two beds...( I must clarify we are a gay couple, and everywhere we go we get the same question, no matter what requests we make at booking time). We told him that we wanted one bed, on a night floor and with a balcony...we got one bed, on the 8th floor...but no balcony but as we were tired from a long flight from the UK we decided to stay in that room and ask for a balcony later. Later that day I asked if it was possible to have a room with a balcony for the rest of our stay, and we were told that it was ok, however we had to bacate our room by 12 as if it were a normal check out and go back at 3 to check in the new room...it was a bit of an inconvenience but it was worth it to have a balcony.
We had vouchers for breakfast in the ihop, and everyday there was a big waiting list to get in for breakfast. Breakfast in the ihop was ok, just ok, edible.
It is true that the hotel is a bit dated, but it's clean, good price and good location. You can hear some traffic noise at night but that comes with the location, it not the hotel's fault.
On our last day we had and evening flight and a taxi arranged to pick us up at the hotel at 6:30pm. The day before we asked for a late check aou and we were told that we can stay till 1pm if there is availability, or we could pay 79 dollars and stay till 6pm but they told us to ask the day after. On the day we were leaving we asked for the late checkout, we were willing to pay the 79 dollars but the receptionist wasn't very friendly and said that the hotel was full ( vacancy light was on) and that we had to leave by 12, but when he realised we were asking for a paid late check out he changed his mind and he said that it was ok if we were paying...so, the hotel is full if you want to check out one hour late, but if you pay to check out 6 hours late is not full...we thought that we shouldn't pay for the late check out die to the lack of consistency from the hotel.
But all in all, we still had a great stay, we know that you get what you pay for and you can't expect a five stars hotel at this price. The place is clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly and to have a laundry room it's very handy if you are there for a long stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabierferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Aloha Xabrieferm:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm sorry to hear that your requests were not noted on your reservation and for the challenges you encountered with switching to a room with a balcony and the late check out.

I'm not sure how your reservations were made but sometimes when reservations are made through a third party all requests are not always communicated correctly. It is great to see that you were given a queen/king bed and able to switch to a room with a balcony for the balance of your stay.

Congratulations on your honeymoon! I hope you were able to bring home fond memories of your stay in Hawaii.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing