We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had read several positive reviews about Aqua Palms on Trip Advisor prior booking to booking our vacation in Honolulu. I must say that our stay was a good choice. The hotel is located in an excellent location, close to the beach, plenty of shopping, and many good restaurants all within walking distance. Aside from the 25 dollapur a day parking fee (which I was unaware) and the incredibly tight parking garage, the hotel itself was a positive experience. The folks at the Front Desk were friendly and we were checked in quickly. The hotel room was clean and the Maid Service was very good. I had a problem with operating the safe in our room and notified the Front Desk. A Maintenance man was there within five minutes and remedied the problem. The staff at this hotel takes a lot of pride in the work they do. I've worked in the public sector for several years and I notice all the small details that contribute to a good customer experience. These people have it figured out and it shows from the tidy rooms, the clean pool, and the spotless Front windows that are done every single day. Sure, there are better places to stay, but you won't find a better place to stay in Honolulu than the Aqua Palms in my opinion. If we go back to Honolulu, I will look no further than this place.

Room Tip: If you want to request a certain floor, call ahead of time and request it. I would recommend not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stemar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha Stemar78:

It is nice to hear that people take the time to read reviews and make choices based on those reviews. I'm always asking our guests to give us feedback, good, bad or indifferent. We want to hear it all.

I appreciate your feedback and yes our staff does take pride in their jobs and want to make sure that they can please all of our guests.

All of the staff look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    778
    344
    98
    51
See reviews for
388
791
206
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If your looking for a hotel not far from the airport or the cruise port, this one is great. Located by lots of restaurants, walking distance to the largest mall...over 290 stores. The hotel is clean, the staff are wonderful, our room was fantastic. We had a city view booked and they upgraded us to a penthouse overlooking the city, and seeing some of the beach. Diamond head was visible. We used Speedi service for our transportation from the airport to the hotel, and they were right there. If you don't want right on the beach, this is the place to stay! I-Hop attached to the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha bluejaycrazy:

Mahalo for the great review!

You described the hotel and it's location perfectly.

I'm glad to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a penthouse unit for your stay!

We all look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We just completed our third 15 day stay at the Aqua Palms Hotel. We return to this hotel because of its location, value, and awesome staff. You are across the street from the Hilton and the beach, and only a 10 minute walk to Ala Moana Mall. I would highly recommend you try this hotel and you to will be returning again and again. Ryan at the front desk and Fran from housekeeping 9th floor, thank you for your kindness, to us and my daughter/granddaughters visit ( getting them on our floor ) midweek , Thank you, Mahalo. Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaligtelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha lindaligtelyn:

WOW, a three time returnee for 15 days at a time! How awesome!

It is great to hear that we were able to accommodate the family all on the same floor.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Ryan and Fran.

Look forward to seeing you again next year!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Me and my husbang had a great time there, good location, good value for money, extra friendly staff, big and confy room, in one word: we would really recommend it! There is a ABC store just around the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor: good views over Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha nina842014:

Mahalo for the nice compliments regarding the hotel and staff.

It is great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay!

Hope to see you again soon.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Checking in was easy, not a luxurious hotel but good enough for us on a tight budget. Free wifi and easy access. McDonalds just a few minutes away and opposite is asmall supermarket. Indian restaurant nearby. The Hilton Hawaian Resort is across the street and it is a nice place with lots of shops and the beach too. We booked the Submarine & Polynesian Cultural Centre Tour with a nice Concierge. The bus pickup was at the carpark of the Hilton Hawaian Resort. The Submarine tour too was at the Hilton pier opposite the resort. We were out most of the day so going back to a comfortable bed was nice. The Ala Maona Shopping centre is quite a walk away. You can take the bus but it is cheaper to walk...only one stop. Lots of eateries nearby.I love the toiletries and fluffy white towels. Self service laudry is available at P3 level. Free tea at the lobby. There is an ATM machine too but capped at $200 per withdrawal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha szmeow:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is great to hear that your check-in went smooth and that you enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location, close to Ala Moana and within walking distance to the main part of Waikiki. We stayed for 2 nights, having spent 6 nights at the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the road earlier in the trip. We got a great rate for the Aqua Palms but you get what you pay for. The room was too small for two adults and two teenagers and the bathroom was ridiculously small - even the towels were too small. We had a major leak in our bathroom basin which seeped through to the bedroom carpet and although maintenance were informed, nothing was done about the leak and we were not offered another room. There was also pink bubblegum stuck to the top of the bedhead on our arrival. It was still there when we checked out so the cleaners missed it twice which is completely unacceptable. The staff were pleasant enough, but not overly friendly or helpful. If it wasn't for the location, I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Hilton Hawaiian Village - although there is traffic noise, we had a partia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Aloha Catriona, C.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Yes our location is excellent! On the outskirts of Waikiki, close to shops and restaurants and still within walking distance of the heart of Waikiki.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered with the sink overflow. It is very unusual that you were not offered a room move. I have shared your comments with our staff to ensure that this never happens again.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family and I stayed at Aqua Palms for one week and we loved it! It is not a luxury hotel but for the price, location, and great staff... you can't get any better. It was walking distance to many stores and bus stops. It was also walking distance to a few small beaches. You have to either drive or hop on a trolly to get to Waikiki beach but it's only a 6-7 minute drive. (I recommend taking a trolly there because parking is hard to find around Waikiki beach.) Staff was so friendly, inviting and helpful. They not only verbally told us directions to places but also willingly printed out directions as well as a map.
Our room was small but the beds were comfortable. There was a mini fridge, microwave, iron and blow dryer that were included into our room.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Aloha rashi p:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a pleasure to get positive feedback!

I'm delighted to hear that our staff treated you with the true "Aloha Spirit" for which we are known.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
526 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
1,433 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing