We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new, clean, very good value for money in Waikiki”
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Wetzlar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“new, clean, very good value for money in Waikiki”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

+ great value for money: exactly what you can expect in Waikiki for 120 USD per night (cheapest room - view towards backyard)

+ clean, new furniture

+ spacious room and bathroom

+ friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n23mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Aloha n23mj:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki in June of this year.

It is a delight to hear that the front desk was helpful and treated you with the aloha spirit for which we are known.

We all look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    780
    348
    100
    51
See reviews for
392
793
207
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel has very nice front desk staff, good location that you can walk to the beach from a quiet area in front of Hilton,rooms are both accommodating and good size, very nice breakfast facilities and breakfast, very comfortable car parking that you can use the hotel elevator.

Room Tip: You don't need a partial ocean view room because of the location not much of a ocean view anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErenErkli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Aloha ErenErkli:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the liked the surrounding areas.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Well this was a very good stay here too my second hotel in the great state of Hawaii an was a real find for me. Price wast to steep stayed for about 13 days bringing in the new year an my birthday. Nice location plenty to get into an on the local bus route.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Aloha Teena W:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your stay with us in December of last year!

I hope you enjoyed your birthday and will make us an annual trip to celebrate.

We look forward to serving you on a return trip!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have used the Aqua Palms for myself and relatives since it opened. The hotel quality has been superb, staff excellent, maintenance good. It has been a great place to stay and a good value. BUT as Aqua has grown and gobbled up several Waikiki hotels, the mercenary factor has crept in and now, Aqua has become just another greedy hotel chain. The imposition of a daily "activities" fee is a cheap, low-life way of charging more. What activities?? A pool? A workout room? Aqua's management should have the guts and the class to just raise room rates. But instead, they try to sleaze the issue and hide this rate increase as an "activities" fee. Poor showing. Looks like I'll be taking my business elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mauka (mountain) side are quieter. You don't see the ocean but you don't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Aloha L B;

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in July.

I appreciate your comments regarding our Hospitality Fee and I believe we spoke on the phone earlier this week. We have added amenities which include a complimentary shuttle throughout Waikiki and DVDNOW which includes unlimited rentals of all the latest movies and playstation 3 games.

I hope you will reconsider and continue to be one of our valued customers.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is probably one of Waikiki's hidden gems. Value and Location can't be beat. I've stayed here 3 times now. It is not fancy but it is clean and safe! Food and beaches are all walking distance. Shopping is nearby also.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Aloha Eugene C:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Aqua Palms last month.

It is always a pleasure to have repeat guests and love to stay at the property.

The next time you stay with us please be sure to ask for me, I would love to meet you in person.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days. This hotel is in a great location. The staff is fantastic.

Our first room was very smelly. The hotel was full so we made the best of it for a couple nights. The straw that broke the camels back was when my husband spilled water in our room. We sopped it up with a towel. The towel was filthy when we finished. I took a picture and showed it to the manager. We were quickly moved to another room that was much better. The beds are great. The pillows ok. The rooms are a little dated and worn in spots.

I would stay here again if it was just my husband and I. It's in a great location that encourages exploration.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha Janet S:

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Please accept my apologies for the challenges encountered during your stay. I am pleased to see that we were able to move you to another room more to your liking. It is always a pleasure to here great comments about the staff.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at the Aqua Palms, since our first hotel of choice was unavailable. The most important asset a hotel can have is a great staff, and this hotel would get five circles in that department. Everyone was friendly and helpful - a special shout-out to Mike the bell man for helping us with heavy items throughout our stay, always with a great smile and a little time to talk story. Also thanks to Venus and Gennifer at the front desk for excellent service. Cecilia, our housekeeper, cheerfully provided everything we needed, and Tino in maintenance quickly fixed our in-room safe when I couldn't get it to open. All of you are much appreciated.
The building is older but reasonably well maintained. There was an odd smell in the lobby that I couldn't identify, although the lobby itself looked clean.
Our room was clean but tiny, better suited for one person than two. The king bed was fairly comfortable except for the huge overstuffed pillows. There was a decent selection of TV channels, and WiFi worked well. Unfortunately our room overlooked a construction site, so we were awakened by crashing and banging at 7:30 each morning. The air conditioning system took a long time to cool down the room but maintained the temperature once it got there. The shower stall was sized appropriately for a 10-year-old child; an average sized adult will find it cramped.
Since this was a working trip for us, we did not have time to visit the pool so I am unable to comment on that facility.
If you plan to park a car at the Aqua Palms, I recommend a smaller vehicle. The parking levels have tight corners, and it takes a bit of maneuvering to get a large SUV into a stall.
My biggest complaint with this hotel is that it was overpriced for the lack of space. Overall, our stay was a good if not great experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaBlueWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha KonaBlueWahine:

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a lengthy review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms.

It's exciting to hear such wonder comments about the staff and I will be sure to let Mike, Venus, Gennifer, Cecila and Tino know that you appreciated their assistance.

There are several sizes of rooms here at the Palms and unfortunately it sounds like you received one of our smaller rooms.

Your next stay, please contact us directly and we can assist in ensuring you have a larger room during your stay.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing