We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hike and falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manoa Falls

Manoa Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Manoa Waterfalls Run and Hike Tour
Ranked #18 of 321 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hike and falls!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This hike was not too hard but a little muddy so dress accordingly. Also much more humid than any other spot I visited on Oahu. We were very glad to include this hike on our first trip to the island. The vegetation was lush and beautiful, a lot more of a "rainforest" feel. The falls at the end are great but the pool is a lot smaller than I expected and I wouldn't go in the water ( it is roped off and the brochure warns you that there may be bacteria present that you don't want touching your skin)

Helpful?
Thank ana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    952
    235
    36
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fairly easy hike with a nice ending”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was one of my first hikes after moving to the island. It was a little rough for me because of the mud and sometimes the trail goes along a little cliff, which is scary to me. It didn't take to long and the waterfall made it worth it. If you go, bring bug spray if the mosquitos love you. And please don't wear white unless you want to ruin your shoes/clothes in the mud.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank msu_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Easy hike even for young children- beautiful!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a party of 8, including 3 children, the youngest was 21 months old. The youngest child was in a baby carrier, but the others walked and did just fine. It was a beautiful hike and great to see the interesting trees and foliage. It was mostly shady. Even though it hadn't rained recently prior to the hike, the footing was a little slippery and we had a couple of falls, but no big deal. If you are careful, there won't be any problem. There were others on the trail so from time to time you had to move aside to let others pass- but it didn't feel terribly crowded. The waterfall was very pretty and we were all glad we went. However, even though there were signs posted and an area roped off that said something like, DO NOT ENTER, DANGER OF ROCKS FALLING- people still went around the ropes to get closer, which, by the way, put them right in our view finders when we were trying to take pictures! Overall though, we really enjoyed this hike and recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CARG930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls and scenery!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We hiked up to Manoa Falls right after our Diamond Head hike. It was easy to get to using our gps. No one was manning the parking lot when we arrived, but someone was there upon our return to collect the $5 parking fee. Quite a difference from the beach views we first saw in Hawaii...this was stepping into a rainforest. We covered ourselves with bug spray, just in case. A little muddy in spots, but we were prepared for that. Didn't have time to stop at the Arboretum next door...maybe next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AllesonWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looks like a tropical rainforest”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hike was among my favorite on Oahu because of the lush vegetation compared to some other parts of the island. It was relatively easy and family friendly. Be prepared to run into a lot of people from young children to the elderly. We went in the morning to avoid the heat of the day and the route was mostly shaded. There were a few muddy spots but overall it was not too bad. Park in the residential neighborhood near the bus stop and save $5 on parking. The walk up the street to the trailhead is mostly shaded and beautiful too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gclaghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manoa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Manoa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing