We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike through the rain forest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoa Falls

Manoa Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Manoa Waterfalls Run and Hike Tour
Ranked #17 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Israel, Jerusalem
Level Contributor
271 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Hike through the rain forest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The trail is an easy 30 minutes walk. A little bit muddy, but it's nothing that some good shoes won't deal with. You need to park where the main building is and buy your tickets there. It looks like you're the only one around, so don't leave any valuables in the car. Once you enter the trail it feels like you're walking through a genuine rain forest, with the climate, nature and bears chirping around.
The walk to the falls takes about 20 minutes. Once you're there, there's nothing much to do than just see the falls, rest a bit and walk back, but they're nice and the way worths it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank amiroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    932
    230
    35
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great photo op to put in your office/home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

as you approach the park, you can either pay $5 parking or park further down the hill (about 10 minute walk) in a residential area. your hike takes you about 25 min. before you reach the falls. along the way, it becomes a rainforest, then a bamboo forest, followed by rainforest again. the hike itself is relatively easy with gentle climb upwards till you get to the top. you should be wearing running shoes or hiking shoes, but flip flop may be pretty hard to walk as the trail is full of uneven rocks. wear very light shirt as it is extremely humid as you get closer to the top. I was completely sweating by the time I got to the top. once your there, you will see a magnificent waterfall that is 100 ft tall falling down into a small pond where lots of people gather for a swim and beautiful photos. enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mountainman1154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Oahu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I am surprised that it's free to hike this beautiful trail. It's pretty easy hike and you'll get rewarded when you reach at the bottom of the falls. Make sure to spray whole body with insect repellent. If you want to swim on the water, make sure to reapply as my boys learned the hard way

Helpful?
Thank Eul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great fun. The trail is muddy and slippery, but dont let that deter. It is well worth the hike to the top to see the natural falls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was my first time visiting Manoa Falls, and I enjoyed it a lot! I took the advise of others and parked down the hill a little ways in the neighborhood and avoided the parking fee. The hike itself was wonderful. Beautiful rain forest with surrounding mountains (when they could be seen through the trees). The falls themselves were great! Hard to get real good pictures because I was too close to fit it completely in the frame. Standing back further the view was partially obscured by the 20 or so people who were there, and the rocks at the bottom. If I did the hike again, I would head out earlier in the morning and I assume would avoid some of the crowds. It was the popularity (and the crowds) that made the experience a little less than I would have liked, but I can understand why so many visit. It's easy to get to. The hike is relatively easy and not too long. The trail is well-maintained. All and all, Manoa Falls is a winner in my book!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank taq61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manoa Falls also viewed

 

Been to Manoa Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing