We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I enjoyed 7 nights hospitality at the Hotel Renew in June. We'd visited Honolulu with our youngest child a few years before (although we stayed at another hotel) so were aware how beautiful the island is. The hotel has less than 100 rooms so you have the advantage of the receiption staff getting to know you. The ground floor receiption is welcoming, as were the doormen and receiption staff throughout our stay. Booking in was hassle free, and whilst the various forms etc were completed, we were offered complimentary soft drinks and towels to refresh hands and face. Most welcomed after the flight and taxi ride (which took about 30 minutes and wasn't overly expensive - although I can't remember how much it cost - sorry). We had booked a Premier Ocean View room (which turned out to a a corner room, so we overlooked the sea and from the room balcony, also had views of the rear of the hotel and a neighbouring hotel car park). The room was of a reasonable size and comfortable for two people. Everything worked - lights, hairdryer, small fridge, wifi, tv. The bed was very large - almost California size at a guess, and fairly soft. Being used to sleeping on a memory foam bed, I was concerned about how well I'd sleep, but had no problems at all. The room air conditioning wasn't particularly quiet, but didn't interefere with sleeping. Plenty of fresh towels were provided daily and the room was kept clean and tidy by the maid. Blinds at the patio door and across the room windows were excellent at cutting out the light - almost to blackout standard. One complaint - small, but as everything else was so good, it became a bit of a bugbear to me - there was no blind across the bathroom window. There is no danger of anyone 'peeping' as the glass is frosted, but as the rest of the room was so dark because of the blinds, when the sun came up in the morning the room became illuminated from the light shining through the bathroom window. A blind would have solved this and allowed for a few more minutes sleep each morning.
Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast arrangements, and there isn't a great deal more about that to be said. It was plentiful with a good selection of fruits and cereals. Unfortunately some of the guests could have done with some courtesy lessons. There are a limited number of tables and chairs available at breakfast time and some guests, once finished breakfast, sat at the tables and read the complimentary newspapers, even though others were standing around waiting to be seated. Be warned, it can be a frustrating start to the day!!

Located only a couple of hundred yards away from the beach and sea and a few minutes stroll to the main area of Waikiki the Renew is a good hotel. Whilst unlikely to visit Oahu again, if I did, then I'd have no hesitation in returning. For the money (and the hotel's website does appear to offer the best deals) it would be very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Do ask for an ocean view. The other views are of concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fens_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    692
    152
    47
    27
See reviews for
283
1,321
146
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

WOW, where to start? We arrived from Australia at 9 in the morning and couldn't believe the wonderful people at Renew allowed us to check in. The room was perfect, great views of the beach. We didn't want to leave each day but the wonderful sights of Waikiki were waiting. The icing on the cake was when we had to check out, our flight was in the evening. The staff at Renew offered us a courtesy room for and hour to freshen up before the flight. We reccommend Renew to everybody, the best service and rooms in Hawaii.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zupatron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a small boutique hotel without all the bells and whistles (no pool, gym, business centre etc) BUT one that offers EXCELLENT brand new rooms with all the amenities at a great location.

The rooms are modern, clean with lots of nice touches (LOVE the auto light switches on the wall next to the bed!). The bed itself is also superb, up there with some of the best 5 * hotels I've stayed at. There is in room WIFI that is actually fast for once thanks to EVERY room having its own wireless router under the TV rather than shared between many rooms. For the money, these rooms are excellent value.

The location is great only 5-10m away from the street of Waikiki beach. You don't get any view from the hotel but for the price can't complain.

The two things that could be improved is the range and area for breakfast. There is a very limited selection of food and the area is small and often full. Still, for the money, just getting breakfast is great! The other thing is, like others have mentioned, the noisy AC in the rooms which mar the otherwise excellent room. I had to sleep with ear plugs as I'm a light sleeper and it is LOUD.

If you don't need a pool/gym etc but want an excellent room with free breakfast and wifi at a great location for a very low price you can't go wrong at Renew!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Interior of room was very contemporary with low lighting. Room was small, but bed was great from bedding to comfort. Location was close to Waikiki beach. They had valet parking for $25 or you could drive a block up on the left and park in a local ramp for $10/day. Continental breakfast was tasty with nice variety. Great customer service...we called the front desk one evening to ask direcgions and they offered to slip them under our door...in the am there was a map, driving directions, and handwritten advice regarding parking...above and beyond!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeandangelafargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel Renew is a wonderful place to stay. I was on my honeymoon and stopped off for 5 nights at this hotel in Hawaii.
The hotel staff were top notch, they were very welcoming and couldnt ask for such nicer people. When we arrived at the hotel in the evening they kindly met us outside and took our luggage straight to our rooms as we checked in.
The room was perfect, all white and black trim rooms with big tv (not that we watched tv!), lovely shower/toilet and mini bar. The room is very very tidy and presentable with fancy towels.
The Hotel is not very big, holds i think around 60-80 rooms with 9 floors?,. i could be wrong but regardless this is a good thing, the staff will know you well and will be more than happy to help. When we checked in to our room, they had a chilled bottle of champagne, glasses and a handwritten note which we thought was brilliant for them to do for us.
The breakfast is the cererals, croissants, fruit, hot drinks..the breakfast lounge is small and not always easy to get a seat but we often took the brekkie back to our room. We had a balcony, maybe not with the best view but did have lovely great weather and see the volcanos/hills in the distance.
The location is 15 mins from the airport. 30 second walk to the beach, you are literally on the beach walk, great bars and restaurants and fancy shops and Diamond Head all there.
I am sure other hotels are also good my i know for sure when we go back to hawaii, me and my wife would stay only at the Renew..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PSJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Close to everything, staff friendly and super helpful, porter carried bags from our taxi.
Room was great we had a city view the view was terrible but who cares the location was perfect do you what to sitninnyour hotel in Hawaii????

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I were getting married in January, and it was to be our first time in Hawaii. We were really unsure of what to expect, so we headed to tripadvisor to get a recommendation.
We chose Hotel Renew based on the reviews, the value, and the proximity to Waikiki Beach.

All things considered, this is an amazing hotel. The beach is one block down, and if you have been to Waikiki before, you know that everything is accessible by walking. Unfortunately, with all of our wedding plans (Hotel Renew had nothing to do with our wedding arrangements - we were married at Haiku Gardens in Kaneohe), we chose to rent a car.
Valet Parking costs $20 per day and you may come and go as many times as you want within that day, but if you park, you pay. This is not uncommon in Waikiki. You will undoubtedly always be paying per night to park if you have a car, so please keep this in mind. Valet is the only option at Hotel Renew, but with general parking at other hotels costing around the same price, this is actually not a bad option if you must have a vehicle for your trip.

Check in:
We were somewhat disappointed that they were not able to give us any kind of upgrade as we were there for our wedding. However, they were definitely not under the obligation of doing so. We got the room we paid for, and it was a very nice room. I only mention this, because people often think that upgrades happen for special occasions, but it didn't happen for us. HOWEVER, they did send us up a bottle of champagne on our wedding day, along with a card and also one for my mom who celebrated her birthday in the same week. Very thoughtful!

**One thing I will also say, because I was caught a bit off guard by this, is the deposit upon check in. I have never experienced this before, and perhaps that is naive, but this happened to us at both hotels we stayed at in Hawaii. Hotel Renew placed a $200 hold on our card at check in and the other hotel held $500. Please be aware of this when budgeting! The charge is reversed at check out, but can take a couple of days to return the funds to your account.

The staff at this hotel is wonderful. Every person I encountered was friendly and helpful. I am so glad we chose this hotel. It may not be a resort, but this place has a quiet kind of luxury that you cannot experience in a big resort hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinxywinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Dear Jinxywinx,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here at Hotel Renew. It's always an honor to be a part of such a special time in the lives of our guests, and we truly appreciate the opportunity to celebrate with you. I'd also like to express our gratitude for the glowing endorsement you have provided us with. What you say is true; guests of Renew enjoy a fantastic Waikiki location, speedy valet service, and warm-hearted personal attention, all at an amazing value. These are just a few of the things that make the Renew Experience truly unique.

If I may elaborate further on your check in experience, it is important for fellow travelers to note that all hotels in Hawaii will authorize a credit card upon arrival in an amount slightly in excess of the total cost of the stay (at Renew it is $100). This is not a charge, merely just an authorization to insure that any incidental charges accrued such as bar beverages, adapters, etc.. can be covered by the guest. This is an industry-wide practice, and as mentioned the authorization is released immediately upon departure. Indeed, it is very important budgeting information!

Once again, on behalf of the entire team here at Renew we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and praise with us. Best of luck in your future travels, and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon. How about we celebrate the 1 year anniversary together?

Warmest Aloha,
K. White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing