We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel close to Waikiki Beach !”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We can recommend this small hotel very close to Waikiki Beach. Service is very good and very friendly, e.g. Adam at the front desk. Nice complimentary breakfast, beach equipment can be rent for free.
The new rooms are very nice, big and clean !

Room Tip: Seaview is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel Renew recently. I booked this hotel as it said it was boutique and looking at the pictures seemed to resemble a four star hotel which is what we wanted. I think however in Honolulu boutique just means small.
Its location was good, not on the main street but not a big walk at all to the beach. Why you would stay 7 nights is beyond me in any Honolulu hotel... there are much nicer parts of Hawaii. It was ok for a night or two but the rooms are rather small. We had two double beds, one for our son and there was not much room for anything else. The tv is large if you like to watch tv in bed. The bathroom was pretty average really for boutique, tub was so small and shallow. The air con was right near the bed and the room smelt musty. We just had a view of another building and a palm tree as we were level two.
Also there was no fridge in the room, it looked like one but apparently it was just to store drinks in without chilling them.
Breakfast was interesting. We called to ask where it was as there was no rooms for it? It was basically in the foyer, there was a very small area with a few tables to accomodate nine levels of guests so of course not everyone could get a table which was very awkward. There was just cereal, toast, yoghurt - a continental breakfast i guess. It was ok if there had of been anywhere to sit.
I think its quite poor value for what it is, there are other hotels half the price with larger rooms.

Room Tip: You will pay more for a view and i think all rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear UKCathy,

Thank you for the candid review regarding your brief stay with us here at Hotel Renew. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our premier Waikiki location, as well as other perks such as the complimentary continental breakfast (located in Lounge Renew) and 50" plasma TV display. Indeed we are one the few boutique properties in Honolulu, offering intimate accommodations (72 rooms) in a modern and sophisticated setting. Admittedly, this style is not for everyone. However, for those travelers seeking a quiet oasis in the midst of the excitement that is Waikiki, the majority of our previous guests agree that Hotel Renew offers just that.

I do apologize however and wish we were notified regarding the smell you mentioned. We would have gladly serviced the room and rectified this had we be made aware of the issue during your stay. We pride ourselves on doing whatever is required to cater to our guests' needs and make their Renew Experience one to remember. Value and excellent service is what we are known for. So while it's true that there may be other hotels in the area for half the price, discerning travelers to Hotel Renew are usually seeking out more than just a mediocre room at a very cheap rate.

Again, we thank you for your honest opinion regarding your experience. We hope to welcome you back in future so that we can share with you all of what Renew has to offer.

Warmest Aloha,
K. White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for a one night staycation in one of their standard rooms. For $195 you get a double bed in a tiny room. The decor is nice but they don't go 100%. The bathroom has old jalousies and the balcony is pretty sorry. The old air conditioner is right next to the bed (right next to your legs actually) and is a little inconvenient. The bed is very plush and takes nearly half of the room. For $150 I would say it is a pretty good value but for $195 I would say it's slightly below average. I would recommend redoing the exterior of the hotel because it looks like an old apartment complex.

The service is good and the lobby is nice. Valet is $25 but they charge that everywhere so I could not gripe about that. Overall the hotel is ok but I think I had too much expectations since it was tripadvisor's #4 hotel at the time. Just wish the rooms were a little bigger to stretch out.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spacenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear spacenuts,

Thank you for the honest and balanced comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Hotel Renew. Feedback such as this is what propels us to continually strive for improvement in the experience that we offer our valued guests. I'm thrilled to hear that our personalized service was to your liking, as well as our chic and modern public areas. In addressing your concerns, our rates do tend to fluctuate due to availability and other industry influences. To ensure that our guests receive the best value possible in such a dynamic marketplace, we offer many discounts and special packages through our website. Many times however, these specials are dependent upon the length of stay, especially in the case that the reservation is made for the very near future. We recommend making reservations in advance in order to take advantage of special rate offerings.

Finally, the majority of our rooms are a bit more spacious. Size is dependent upon the room category guests specify during the reservation process. Of course you always have the option to upgrade at a later date, pending availability.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Renew for your staycation. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest Aloha,
K. White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I enjoyed 7 nights hospitality at the Hotel Renew in June. We'd visited Honolulu with our youngest child a few years before (although we stayed at another hotel) so were aware how beautiful the island is. The hotel has less than 100 rooms so you have the advantage of the receiption staff getting to know you. The ground floor receiption is welcoming, as were the doormen and receiption staff throughout our stay. Booking in was hassle free, and whilst the various forms etc were completed, we were offered complimentary soft drinks and towels to refresh hands and face. Most welcomed after the flight and taxi ride (which took about 30 minutes and wasn't overly expensive - although I can't remember how much it cost - sorry). We had booked a Premier Ocean View room (which turned out to a a corner room, so we overlooked the sea and from the room balcony, also had views of the rear of the hotel and a neighbouring hotel car park). The room was of a reasonable size and comfortable for two people. Everything worked - lights, hairdryer, small fridge, wifi, tv. The bed was very large - almost California size at a guess, and fairly soft. Being used to sleeping on a memory foam bed, I was concerned about how well I'd sleep, but had no problems at all. The room air conditioning wasn't particularly quiet, but didn't interefere with sleeping. Plenty of fresh towels were provided daily and the room was kept clean and tidy by the maid. Blinds at the patio door and across the room windows were excellent at cutting out the light - almost to blackout standard. One complaint - small, but as everything else was so good, it became a bit of a bugbear to me - there was no blind across the bathroom window. There is no danger of anyone 'peeping' as the glass is frosted, but as the rest of the room was so dark because of the blinds, when the sun came up in the morning the room became illuminated from the light shining through the bathroom window. A blind would have solved this and allowed for a few more minutes sleep each morning.
Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast arrangements, and there isn't a great deal more about that to be said. It was plentiful with a good selection of fruits and cereals. Unfortunately some of the guests could have done with some courtesy lessons. There are a limited number of tables and chairs available at breakfast time and some guests, once finished breakfast, sat at the tables and read the complimentary newspapers, even though others were standing around waiting to be seated. Be warned, it can be a frustrating start to the day!!

Located only a couple of hundred yards away from the beach and sea and a few minutes stroll to the main area of Waikiki the Renew is a good hotel. Whilst unlikely to visit Oahu again, if I did, then I'd have no hesitation in returning. For the money (and the hotel's website does appear to offer the best deals) it would be very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Do ask for an ocean view. The other views are of concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fens_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

WOW, where to start? We arrived from Australia at 9 in the morning and couldn't believe the wonderful people at Renew allowed us to check in. The room was perfect, great views of the beach. We didn't want to leave each day but the wonderful sights of Waikiki were waiting. The icing on the cake was when we had to check out, our flight was in the evening. The staff at Renew offered us a courtesy room for and hour to freshen up before the flight. We reccommend Renew to everybody, the best service and rooms in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zupatron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a small boutique hotel without all the bells and whistles (no pool, gym, business centre etc) BUT one that offers EXCELLENT brand new rooms with all the amenities at a great location.

The rooms are modern, clean with lots of nice touches (LOVE the auto light switches on the wall next to the bed!). The bed itself is also superb, up there with some of the best 5 * hotels I've stayed at. There is in room WIFI that is actually fast for once thanks to EVERY room having its own wireless router under the TV rather than shared between many rooms. For the money, these rooms are excellent value.

The location is great only 5-10m away from the street of Waikiki beach. You don't get any view from the hotel but for the price can't complain.

The two things that could be improved is the range and area for breakfast. There is a very limited selection of food and the area is small and often full. Still, for the money, just getting breakfast is great! The other thing is, like others have mentioned, the noisy AC in the rooms which mar the otherwise excellent room. I had to sleep with ear plugs as I'm a light sleeper and it is LOUD.

If you don't need a pool/gym etc but want an excellent room with free breakfast and wifi at a great location for a very low price you can't go wrong at Renew!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Interior of room was very contemporary with low lighting. Room was small, but bed was great from bedding to comfort. Location was close to Waikiki beach. They had valet parking for $25 or you could drive a block up on the left and park in a local ramp for $10/day. Continental breakfast was tasty with nice variety. Great customer service...we called the front desk one evening to ask direcgions and they offered to slip them under our door...in the am there was a map, driving directions, and handwritten advice regarding parking...above and beyond!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeandangelafargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,652 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,750 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,745 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,233 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £146 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing