We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Pond - Hotel Renew by Aston Waikiki”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“John Pond - Hotel Renew by Aston Waikiki”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This boutique style hotel was originally I believe a Holiday Inn but has been taken over by Aston and renovated to such a point that it looks like a new property.

The rooms appeared brand new and were decorated more in a style one would expect from a European hotel. There were no balconies in most of the rooms but a large picture window overlooked Waikiki Beach, less than half a block away. This is a moderately priced hotel offering excellent value and is a real favourite amongst Australians.

We were warmly greeted on arrival and offered an ice cold pineapple drink. This is basically a no frills hotel but very comfortable and staff were most willing to please.

Complimentary daily newspapers were available in the foyer as was cold lemon water.

Each morning a complimentary continental style breakfast was available in the foyer with a limited number of tables and chairs, with most guests taking their coffee, fresh cut fruit and Danish up to their rooms.

Bathrooms were a good size with a selection of toiletries.

Literally two minutes walk to the sands of Waikiki and many restaurants, this hotel was well positioned. Next door to its big brother, the Aston Waikiki Beach Tower.

A big plus was a key card giving access to the poolside and gym facilities of the large Marriott Hotel opposite.

A trolley stop is virtually right outside, taking one to the shopping haven of the Ala Moana Shopping Centre, a twenty minute trolley ride away.

The hotel is situated at the end of the Waikiki strip, towards the Diamond Head end.

There was very little to find wrong with this property except their lack of reading lamps by the bed. The rooms were not large but more than adequate for a short stay, or for those just wanting to enjoy the delights of the Waikiki area. The bar fridge was a welcome addition as was the pod coffee maker.

All Hawaiian hotels seem to have added a new tax, called an Amenity Tax, around $15 per night. This usually includes free internet, which somehow does not seem free when you are paying an Amenity Tax.

For those that have not been to Waikiki before, there are a plethora of convenience stores called ABC selling everything one could possibly want from beach wear to beverages, both alcoholic and soft and every kind of high quality snack food from sandwiches to fresh fruit. One of these stores is situated virtually next door and most people pop in every day.

One room item that impressed me greatly was perhaps the biggest wide screen TV I have ever encountered in a hotel. The picture quality was exceptional and it brought back memories of sitting in the front row of the drive-in movies (for those readers old enough to remember same). 1 minute walk to Waikiki and great value.129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu - Phone: 808 687 7700

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    698
    152
    48
    27
See reviews for
284
1,332
147
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have spent just one night here and I'm somewhat hesitant. Location is perfect, just few meters to Waikiki with all it offers. We had a little bit problem finding it, it's adjacent to Aston beach hotel and when you drive it's easy to miss. Just stop after the sign Hotel renew valet parking AT the corner and you will be just at the entrance. Hotel staff was superb, nice and very helpful. We had Urban View King room, second floor. Room was nice and tidy. We had some minor issues with AC remote control, but was able to solve it with little help from front desk. I really liked the bed, but there were so many noises at night from traffic and supply cars we did not sleep well. Overall it's a good tip, try it.

Room Tip: Better ask for room facing front street, not noisy yard for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

No need to book ocean view premium here. We booked a no view low floor. Great value.

Quiet, air con, DVDs for free hire, great cable tv and play stations in the room! Small room but there's a king bed, loads of storage space and a bathtub. And everything is super clean. Free beach gear to borrow too. Can use pool n gym across road!

Room for improvement- breakfast needs more variety in food choices (eggs n toast please) and could go until 1030am. 930am finish is too early. Also a discount for ppl who don't want to use gym pool internet etc - resort fee $25 is a bit steep for ppl who don't use those facilities. We paid a lower resort fee in Las Vegas (and that included way more)!

Apart from that we loved this place and shall return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AeroDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

What this hotel has is location. It's close to shops, restaurants and the beach. The room was spacious. The staff was hit or miss, and that's where the pros end.

The room we stayed in was on the third floor which was just close enough to the street to allow us to be serenaded by car alarms and dump trucks every morning. We also had a rouge air conditioner that insisted on firing up like a jet engine every 20 min all night long. The thermostat was broken so we were at the mercy of this beast. Needless to say we more or less got a series of naps as opposed to a full nights rest.
On our arrival, the housekeeper did more of a touch up than a full cleaning. There were greasy hand prints on the headboard reminding us that others had been here preforming adult acrobatics all over the bed. They were even kind enough to leave some nice hairs in the bathroom. The coup de grace came when my wife went to fix the sheets which were poorly tucked in- low and behold we got a nice blood stain surprise on our mattress. Looks like the people here before us really used the room well. When she called the front desk to see if we could be moved, we were told to suck it up.

To top it off we were greeted by an extra $25 per night in random fees upon departure. They also charge $25 a night for valet (the only option) Knowing what I know, I'd pick another hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to Oahu for the first time and stayed at Hotel Renew. The staff provided amazing service and were extremely friendly. We asked them many questions throughout our stay and they were always there to give us information. The location is amazing! Just 1 block down from Waikiki beach. Not noisy at all. The hotel allows you to borrow beach supplies from them (i.e. beach mat/towels) which we really appreciated. Breakfast is great! Close to bus stops if you plan on taking the Bus. Overall I was very happy with our stay at Hotel Renew and I would definitely recommend this place to other travelers! Excellent :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved this place. Unlike a lot of other places that label itself as a boutique hotel and end up being a circus and long queues and crowds a the lobby and elevator, this place was really indeed a boutique. As such, it was quite relaxing even though we were there during the peak of holidays during New years and Christmas. The lobby was quite busy during the complimentary breakfast near the end of the service, but besides that you could easily ask a question or get help from the front desk without waiting. Additionally, the valet parking was awesome. It was SO fast cause the guy is always out there and it's just up the ramp for him to pick up. At other hotels, you'd be waiting for at least 10-15 minutes. Elevators were fast, internet was included and had no problems either.

The rooms were very clean and modern and very quiet; no problems with hearing traffic or drunk people outside and slept well. The only bad thing is I don't think there is much of an option for a view. We had an ocean view the first night, and it was just not worth it. Don't even bother and save by getting the city view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peachtreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 1PM on a Sunday and our room was immediately ready. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff who gave us a brief tour of the lobby (very small) and then we were directed to our room (309). This particular room had a partial view of the ocean, but when we first arrived it had a very weird smell to it, I can't even describe it! When we let the front desk know about this, they immediately sent up some essential oils which corrected the smell within minutes. The room overall was very modern with nice finishes. Breakfast was limitet with some pastries, tea, coffee and juice. Valet is $25 per day and no self park options are offered (as expected in Waikiki). My only complaint is the noise level from that particular room. Since we were on the 3rd floor, we could hear all the delivery trucks and the bikes and all the party people making their way back at night. We had to use earplugs the entire stay. We never addressed the issue since moving rooms while on vacation sucks, but I am confident that the staff definetely would have fixed the problem.
The room ended up costing us about $260 per night (booked directly with the hotel website) and thats including the resort fee and parking. Trust me, this is cheap for Waikiki. Also a nice benefit was that we were able to use the pools at the Marriot across the street.
Overall, my only advise would be to request a room on a higher floor (if possible). I absolutely loved this hotel and will most definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: my only advise would be to request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMaria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,273 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,402 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing