We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a good stay at renew, the place is fair located although a bit at the end of everything on Waikiki but fine if you want a bit more peace and quiet. Overall the place is good but the amenity fee seems stupid...if you do not have a choice, then make the fee part of the overall price which, including the fee, is more than fair. Breakfast is nice but not enough to feed a hungry man (unless on a diet:)).

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapsiFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Chaifa,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed our premier location at the quieter end of the world famous Waikiki Beach. Thank you for your honest feedback regarding the amenity fee. We have shared this suggestion with our management team.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at Hotel Renew by Aston on your next Oahu vacation.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Renew
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect close to town and beach. Comes with access to a pool the staff are super friendly and helpful and the free internet is super fast!!!!! Our room is on the 5th floor and is on a side street so it isn't noisy. Our air con is a bit noisy but it's so hot that I don't care. Free DVD rental also it's really good. Highly reccomend

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Kate S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience here at Hotel Renew by Aston. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location which is only a short block off of Waikiki Beach. We are honored to receive your compliments about our amenities such as access to pools, wireless internet and unlimited DVD rentals as well as our friendly staff.

We are disappointed to learn of the challenge with your AC and I would like to extend my personal apology. Please rest assured that we have relayed this information to our maintenance team for their immediate follow up. Thank you for taking the time to advise us of this situation.

We look forward to you welcoming you back in the near future.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed with a friend for a week in early March and had absolutely nothing to criticize about the hotel. The staff were amazing, always friendly and attentive, the room was quiet and immaculately clean, and I did not find the resort fee exorbitant as it allows you free wifi, free beach equipment, free DVD rentals in the lobby, Playstation in the room and access to the Marriott across the street.
The hotel is half a block from the beach on the Kapiolani Park end of Waikiki and the relative peace and quiet that half-block provided was surprising. No beach view from the room.... but if you want to see that go outside!
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and fresh and was a great way to start your day on the beach with the towels and chairs provided by the hotel.
Planning another trip to Honolulu in the fall and will very very likely stay at the Renew a second time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanacaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Ianacaine,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the Trip Advisor Community. It’s truly an honor to receive such a glowing endorsement. It’s great to hear you enjoyed all of the many small things that make Renew such a unique experience. Such as our fabulous location on the quieter end of Waikiki, assortment of beach amenities, fresh daily continental breakfast, clean, modern styling and our attentive staff. Every touch is designed with our guests in mind.

We are delighted to hear that you may be able to return to Hotel Renew by Aston in the fall. Please feel free to contact us at res.new@astonreservations.com . We would be happy to help you arrange your future stay.

We look forward to your next stay and wish you the best, until we meet again.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As others have reviewed, this hotel is in a great location and the staff are excellent. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The view however was depressing to say the least and we spent very little time looking out of the window! We were only booked for one night so it was not a big problem, but how much better it could have been!

Room Tip: Ask about the view from your window!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz-Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Aloha Oz Two,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us here at Hotel Renew by Aston. We are glad that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and premier location. Most of all, we are delighted to hear that our team members provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for our time and consideration. If your future travels include returning to Waikiki, we would be honored to host you once again.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went to Hawaii for 3 nights and 4 days. We normally stay at the Trump hotel but this some we stayed at Hotel Renew and it was not bad at all, it was actually pleasant surprisingly. We got greeted by a wet fowel and free glass of pineapple juice. I think that over all this hotel is very modern and despite of it being all the way at the end of the waikiki strip i think that you get what you pay for, the rooms are pretty small also a little on the dusty side but since we were there short we decided to stay here and again it wasn't bad at all.

Room Tip: No pool or gym facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdwildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Aloha Mdwildcats,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Hotel Renew by Aston. We are glad that you enjoyed the cold, refreshing island welcome upon arrival, as well as the simplistic and modern style personality that our property possesses. We do in fact boast a rather enviable location at the quieter end of world-famous Waikiki Beach, while still maintaining close proximity to a myriad of shops and restaurants.

Although we do not have pool or gym facilities on property, the Club Renew gives you access to the nearby pools, Jacuzzi and fitness center as part of our extensive amenity package. This also includes in-room wireless internet, aroma concierge, unlimited DVD rentals, daily continental breakfast and Keurig coffee makers.

Thanks again for your wonderful praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Renew by Aston in the near future.

Mahalo,

R. Razon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Renew flying in Hawaii and trying to decompress before boarding our cruise ship. Hotel is very well located, a couple of minutes away from the ocean, on a street that was quiet during our stay. From the moment we walked up the steps, the welcome was pleasant, warm and sincere. Nice lobby, small but tastefully decorated. Our room which was the most economical was very pleasant, two comfortable beds, nice bathroom, good ac, when you use a room to sleep, the view is less important. continental breakfast is included, again a pleasant experience, wifi included and works. what more do you want for a short stay ?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageurbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Aloha Voyageurbear,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at Hotel Renew by Aston. It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location, as well as our friendly staff, daily continental breakfast and our wireless internet connection. I’m thrilled that the Renew Experience lived up to your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to creating more memories with you in the future.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I love this hotel!!!! Intimate,modern, friendly staff, great rooms, and great drinks, and happy hour! I absolutely loved our bartender Kasi! So sweet and really knows how to make a drink! My experience here was perfect! I would definitely recommend staying here! I will be coming back for my next stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bohoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Aloha Bohoprincess,

Thank you for the glowing endorsement and kind words about Kasi, one of Waikiki’s finest bartenders. We are truly humbled to receive such high praise about our team members and property. Your kind comments will be shared with Kasi, as well as the entire management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Renew by Aston in the near future.

Mahalo,

G. Razon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,430 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,451 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £148 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing