We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great stay- literally down the street from Waikiki Beach great location, free movies, bar tender was great KC best Mai Tai in town - staff was very helpful, offers great pineapple juice upon arrival - towels and beach mats complimentary - reasonably priced

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhrn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha Dhrn2,

Thank you for your sparkling review of your stay with us! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location, Club Renew package, and amicable staff. I will make sure to share your kind words with KC. We're thrilled that felt welcomed and comfortable. Should your travels ever bring you back to Oahu, it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hotel Renew was booked for us by Omega World Travel that was suggested we call by the military at Pearl Harbor. They recommended Hotel Renew and made our reservation for 7/25 thru 8/2/14. We were returning to Hawaii for our 55th Wedding Anniversary. We were married there in 7/29/59 before it ever became a state. We were there 18 months and did not return until 1987 (27 years after we left) and the changes were amazing but still beautiful. This time, again 27 years the changes were again unbelievable and not for the better. Waikiki Beach was dirty and the whole area disgusting. The only pleasant experience was at the hotel and the lovely dinner at the Marriott. I would like to recognize and praise the following..Front Desk, Rena, Anne, Grace,, Paula, Angie and Kelii and the bellmen, Warren, Jo, John and Rey and also our WONDERFUL maid Rozanne who presented us with 5 beautiful Leis when we checked out. The staff and the management sent up a lovely bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates on our anniversary .. they truly made us feel like celebraties. Having worked in the hotel industry for 30 years in Nebraska and then in Sacramento I know how hard they work to please and they need to know how much we appreciate their efforts. I'm not sure we will ever be able to return to Hawaii, however, if we do trust me we will return to our home away from home the HOTEL RENEW. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to share this with you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Thank LaVonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha LaVonne M,

We so appreciate your excellent review of your recent stay with us! Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary at Hotel Renew. It's our greatest pleasure to host terrific guests like you, and we are humbled to receive such high praise about your visit. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, as we strive to make all of our valued guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the champagne, chocolates, and leis. Thank you for calling us your "home away from home," as we always seek to provide an island oasis for our guests. Should your travels ever bring you back to Hawaii, we look forward to hosing you again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator


Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed there for just over a week we paid extra to get an ocean view room we looked out the window and there was a giant palm tree blocking most of the view... We also paid quite a bit to stay there for the time period and come to find out when you check in the have you sign the hotel agreement just like everywhere else but what the don't tell you is that it's vale parking only and the charge you $25 pr night we stayed for 9 days it adds up quick.... Plus because you get breakfast (which was fruit and some small pastries) and a play station in your room they charge you another $25 fee pr night so I paid about $2000 if not more for the room and the throw on another 4 to 500 on top of it with out telling me if I knew that I would have told them to keep the play station and I'll park on the street... And the rooms we're small and the bathrooms only had a stand up shower, it would have been nice to have a tub to "relax" in... The only good thing was tiki's bar in the hotel right next door to us!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_bryant3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha Mr_Bryant3,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us here at Hotel Renew by Aston. We truly appreciate any and all feedback, as we continually strive to improve upon the experience that we offer.

In addressing your concerns, it’s regrettable that the valet parking and Club Renew programs were not adequately communicated to you. Parking in Waikiki is extremely limited, and a hassle that no one should have to deal with while on vacation. To remedy this issue, we offer valet parking to our guests. To enhance the value of this service, we are mindful in keeping the price below the average of the surrounding hotels. I would also like to confirm that we do in fact offer a comprehensive amenity package that is advertised on our website. This includes use of two resort pools, fitness center, Jacuzzi, wifi, in-room Keurig coffee machine and laptop safe, unlimited access to PS3 games and DVDs, Aroma concierge service and mobile concierge app, and continental breakfast each morning, among other items. We offer this as a way to enhance the Renew Experience while simultaneously giving tremendous value to our guests. Some of our rooms do have bath tubs, I do wish we would have been notified of your preference and we would have been happy to issue you a room move to accommodate your preference. It’s great that you enjoyed Tiki’s, though we wish that more of your experience with us were as enjoyable.

Thank you again for your open and honest assessment. Please feel free to contact me anytime at res.new@astonhotels.com with additional feedback. We wish you the best in your future travels and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Angeli F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at a couple other resorts in Waikiki, for the price, this hotel is GREAT! Service is impeccable. They had chocolates and champagne delivered to the room for our anniversary (bonus). It's less than 100 ft from the beach. I'd definitely stay here again; Loved it!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank bel674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Aloha Bel674,

Thank you for your fantastic review! It's our pleasure to host wonderful guests like you, and it was our privilege to help you celebrate your anniversary. We're elated to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location and excellent service! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very disappointed with my stay at Hotel Renew. We had to complain three times about a bad odour coming from the airconditioning in the room, which was giving us a headache, before they took a look and eventually addressed the problem. While they did give us a bottle of champagne and small box of chocolates to apologise, things only got worse. Don't expect functional wifi throughout much of your stay - it is either slow, drops out or non existent, which makes it hard to book and plan your holiday while there. We complained about it and they made us speak to the internet provider, who came out to look at the problem. The hotel never bothered to tell us the outcome of the visit from the provider - we had to ask and they said the whole system needs an upgrade. To add to that breakfast was a poor offering. We often got there towards the end and on the first day the fruit salad basically consisted of honey dew, while the next day no fruit salad was left - so we gave up going. The hotel did wave our amenity fee though which was only fair. I was disappointed as I had stayed at the hotel last October and had a great experience. The hotel has gone downhill dramatically.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank FrankieMaggieAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Aloha FrankieMaggieAUS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Renew by Aston. We always welcome guest feedback, as is it primarily by this means that we are able to continually improve our services.

We greatly value our returning guests, and are sorry that we are not able to provide you with the same fantastic service you experienced last October. In response to the challenges faced during your stay, I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. But rest assured that we have discussed your comments extensively amongst our management team, and are working diligently to improve in all areas of operation.

Thank you again for your open and honest assessment. Please feel free to contact me anytime at res.new@astonhotels.com with additional feedback. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for a long weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities but disappointed in the hidden fees. The amenities include: a cold scented towel and fresh juice upon check in, a continental breakfast of fresh fruit/juice/pastries, use of the neighboring Marriot's nice gym and pool, free beach chairs and towels for day use, and two comp drink tickets. The price of the room was $215 after an airline discount plus amenities fees of $25/per day and $30 more dollars in "taxes and fees". We were told at the front desk the usual price was $300 pn. The nice hotels right on Waikiki (Westin, Outrigger, even the Royal Hawaiian) are centrally located and much more upscale and were the same price after all the fees were added in! Although we enjoyed our stay, we left feeling tricked out of a lot of cash. Hotel Renew was a nice experience with a very friendly and helpful staff, but for the price, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha Kaitlin E,

I would like to offer a sincere “mahalo” for you taking the time to review our property, Hotel Renew by Aston. We are thrilled to receive your praise, and humbly welcome the constructive suggestions that you have offered. Everything we do here does indeed lend itself to the creation of a serene oasis nestled amidst the active tourist landscape that lies just outside the doors of our intimate, boutique property.

We regret to hear that you did not find excellent value in our property. Summer season in Waikiki is considered peak season however we do offer different specials and promotions that most find to be appealing. The comfort and relaxation of our guests is our priority, and we are sorry that the fees were not better clarified for you upon booking. We are pleased that you and your fiancé had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our Club Renew amenity program.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Hotel Renew by Aston. We hope to welcome you back in the future so that we can provide you with a most fulfilling experience.

Mahalo nui loa,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel mostly for the availability, location and price matching my last minute need. I was very pleasantly surprised at what a cute hotel it is. It's smaller than some, which makes for great customer service & easy valet experiences. I was greeted with fresh pineapple juice and a bottle of champagne, as well as my choice of scents for my room. Very calming and relaxing. The room was a decent size and very nicely decorated. Staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Happy hour in the lounge has some pretty yummy cocktails. The location is so close to the beach & restaurants. A lovely experience, I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Aloha Kara w,

Thank you for your incredible review! We are thrilled to hear that our friendly staff provided you with an excellent experience! It's great that you enjoyed the aloha welcome of pineapple juice, and aroma concierge. We are happy that you found our location to be convenient, and that you had a lovely stay. It will be our privelege to host you again!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,612 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,725 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £129 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing